PDA

View Full Version : Bots with no sabers and no powers


Mine'saGuinness
02-22-2004, 06:00 PM
I once modified the .jkb and .bot files to create bots that didn't use sabers or force powers, so I could practice playing jediVmerc games in JO. That worked out fine, but now I tried doing the same for JA and I can't get it right!

I packaged new .jkb and .bot files in a pk3 folder as I did with JO, but they didn't appear in the game bot selection. So I modified the files directly in the botfiles folder - I've tried setting saberspecialist to 0, force powers to 0, weapon preference for saber to 0, but the bots still come out swinging a blade and letting fly with lightning bolts.

Any ideas what I have forgotten to do?

jon_hill987
02-23-2004, 08:06 PM
I think I've got that to work, they will use sabers in saber only though, I can email you the pk3 if you like.

they can still jump about though as force jump has to be on one,

you could just try spawning the NPC's into MP, I think you can do that.

AJL
02-24-2004, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by jon_hill987
I think I've got that to work, they will use sabers in saber only though, I can email you the pk3 if you like.

they can still jump about though as force jump has to be on one,

you could just try spawning the NPC's into MP, I think you can do that.

If i remember right some bot force levels have been overiden
in the code so removing force powers completely is not possible
and because of that bots are always jedis in JA JediVMerc...
(no way around that i quess...)

jon_hill987
02-24-2004, 03:01 PM
I think ure right, I tested it again and they can push out of force grip. they only use guns though.

Mine'saGuinness
02-25-2004, 05:25 PM
Cheers jon_hill987, I'd appreciate that pk3 file anyway - it's a shame such a classic 'no jedis' element has been removed from the game - who wants to see Han and Chewie running around with sabers?!

(2 b honest, its really that I am awful at sabering in MP ... :o )

Thanks guys for the help! I'm off to edit some SWKOTOR characters for MotS (now there was a game ...)

jon_hill987
02-25-2004, 08:42 PM
Ok go to

http://www.angelfire.com/theforce/jonsgames/nosaber.pk3

I had to remake it so its untested, sorry.

If It wont work send me an email so I can send you the fixed Pk3 to you.