PDA

View Full Version : More Hilt problems.


jon_hill987
02-23-2004, 08:29 PM
I've started making a hilt for JA using gmax, the basic shape is there but is untextured. the tutorial I'm using tells me to add tags now, the picture is of their saber with some triangle things on, but dosen't tell me how to do it or what the tags need to be called. are there any better tutorials around? none of the ones on this forum seem to be any help.

epikon
02-23-2004, 09:25 PM
yea i would like to know how to do that aswell ty pls

Lil Killa
02-23-2004, 10:03 PM
This tells you what they are called but I don't remember seeing how to add them...

http://psynex-land.com/saber%20tutorial/Custom%20JA%20Sabers.html

jon_hill987
02-24-2004, 04:17 PM
Thanx, thats some help anyway, the tutorial I had just told me to put them in, at least I know what to call them now, if I work out how to put them in!

jon_hill987
02-24-2004, 04:42 PM
I have just imported a lightsaber MD3 file and used the tags from that, Havent tested it yet, I need to make a skin, should work though. thanx for the help, I'll say how i did it in full if it works an anyone still wants to know.

jon_hill987
02-25-2004, 10:50 AM
AAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!

making a skin in gmax is very very hard. if anyone knows an easy way to do this please, please, please, PLEASE, let me know, thanx.

keshire
02-25-2004, 11:02 AM
Skinning.

Question 1)
Is your model mostly cylinder in shape?

then add a cylinder uvw map.
then uvw unwrap
Adjust to suit.

(hint...click a point and then the plus button several times to highlight individual pieces of the mesh)

take a screenshot and crop it.

If your model is not cylinder, map it with a plane. But this doesn't give you as much control over the texture because it gets mirrored onto the opposite side.

Also. Your model does not have to be one piece. It can be several seperate meshes.

jon_hill987
02-25-2004, 12:47 PM
thanx, I sort of got to the unwrap bit before, though I was not using a cylinder map. I still don't get how to make it into a net, I just mess it up. do you know of any scrips/plugins for gmax that can do it automaticly? any more hints will be gr8fully recived aswell.

jon_hill987
03-13-2004, 12:07 PM
Just so you know what I am trying to do here is a screen shot of my model,

http://www.angelfire.com/theforce/jonsgames/saber.bmp

I just dont have a clue how to make the skinmap, its the bit that most of the tutorials seem to skip, or not give any detail on.

for now I only want to put a basic metal texture on it, and have the button red.

Lil Killa
03-13-2004, 02:48 PM
save your picture as a .jpg so we can see it :)

nm I just right clicked and did a save as....

jon_hill987
03-15-2004, 05:24 PM
Sorry I didn't know .bmp did not work

http://www.angelfire.com/theforce/jonsgames/saber.JPG

jon_hill987
03-15-2004, 05:26 PM
hang on its still just a link. Well i cant work out how to post pics, you will have to follow the link instead sorry.

jon_hill987
03-16-2004, 06:24 PM
Well I tryed to get my saber into the game without a texture but I got this error when I used the saber comand to load it

ERROR: R_LoadMDXM:models/weapons2/saber_dark/dark_saber.glm has more than 1000 verts on a suface (1341)

I'm guessing that means i have used 341 verts I shouldn't have. but don't know how to solve the problem.

please help!

keshire
03-17-2004, 06:50 AM
Too many poly's. There's a limit of 1000 per mesh.

Add a uvw map modifier.
Add a uvw unwrap modifier.

That is your skin map.

jon_hill987
03-17-2004, 04:50 PM
Thanx, I simplifyed it a bit and got it in game, however when I came to adding the uvwmap things and puting it into the game with the texture, it gave me the error again. dunno whats going on. are there any good tutorials for uvwmapping? (if that is the right word)

And to think I thought the biggest problem would be geting the blade in the right place!

jon_hill987
03-19-2004, 06:47 PM
Originally posted by keshire
Add a uvw map modifier.
Add a uvw unwrap modifier.

That is your skin map.

Is it really that simple? just adding the modifiers dosn't seem to do anything and I still don't know how to get the textures in game. could someone who has done it please write a detailed tutorial on the UVmapping and geting the texture in game.

Its starting to drive me mental! so please help, could you live with yourself if it made me do something stupid?:hang1:

Ziechel
03-20-2004, 07:08 PM
ok, I will follow this from here on.
Whew, Jon that looks very good the only thing I did was changing the saber from Kyle

jon_hill987
03-21-2004, 10:52 AM
I folowed the tutorial by psynex (see above) but I got this error in md3veiw when I tryed to import the skin, does anyone know where I went wrong?

http://www.angelfire.com/theforce/jonsgames/Help.JPG

Ziechel
03-21-2004, 11:41 AM
hm now I dont get my saber into the game, it is with the ext_data and the model itself, but in game I cant use it??

jon_hill987
03-21-2004, 01:19 PM
The phynex tutorial explains it quite well, you might have not done your .sab file corectly, and in SP it wont be in the menu anyway, you have to type "saber SaberName" into the console to use it where sabername is the name of your saber

jon_hill987
03-21-2004, 01:21 PM
dam, my new sig pic didn't work.

Yay, Got it.

Ziechel
03-21-2004, 01:29 PM
nice pic ;)

I thought it is enough when I copy the saber_readme from Raven and change the things I need. Nah I test it again now

jon_hill987
03-21-2004, 02:40 PM
Yay, I finaly got my saber to work. thanx to all of you for your help!

Ziechel
03-21-2004, 05:23 PM
Maybe you could help me then with the texture?
The saber i made works, but the texture doesnt work
((and give a link to download your saber and sent it to jk3files))

Profcorron
03-21-2004, 09:13 PM
I get the same error as jonhill_987 in md3view how'd you fix that?

jon_hill987
03-22-2004, 10:14 PM
it turns out the .Skin file has to be called the same as the .md3, in my case X_saber.skin to go with X_saber.md3. took me a while to figure that one out.