View Full Version : OJP Enhanced Models

03-05-2004, 06:02 AM

My to do list as far as adding holster tags for OJP.

Human male CPC
Human female CPC

Any help would be appreciated. Please list here what you will be tackling code and model wise as well as suggestions.

03-05-2004, 09:57 AM
I guess I'll finish up the code side of things. I assume all the tags on the last model you sent are the tags you want, right?

03-05-2004, 10:06 AM
saber:first saber

saber2:dual saber

staff:any big saber, do it by wether or not their categorized as two handed.

Blaster:blaster, blaster_r, briar, demp2

launcher:concussion, disruptor, heavy repeater, merr_son, bowcaster

Golan:needs its own tag because the thing is so damn big.

Then organizing them to show by damage would be best.

So the sabers will always be seen when holstered overriding everything but the jetpack.

03-05-2004, 11:03 AM
My bad I forgot the way I'm organizing these.

saber resides on right side of hip by its lonesome

saber2/blaster reside on left side of hip

golan/staff/launcher all reside by/on the back. Which is where the jetpack is.

I don't have an extra tag for a double blaster should I incorporate one?

Can we make these rag? (Doesn't a broken arm rag?)

Can we have them effected by push/pull and being hit?

looked it up, broken limbs don't rag. Too bad.

*double edit since no ones around*
Think i found what I'm looking for...


Variant on CG_Trace. Doesn't trace for ents because ragdoll engine trace code has no entity
trace access. Maybe correct this sometime, so bmodel col. at least works with ragdoll.
But I don't want to slow it down..

void CG_Rag_Trace( trace_t *result, const vec3_t start, const vec3_t mins, const vec3_t maxs, const vec3_t end,
int skipNumber, int mask ) {
trap_CM_BoxTrace ( result, start, end, mins, maxs, 0, mask);
result->entityNum = result->fraction != 1.0 ? ENTITYNUM_WORLD : ENTITYNUM_NONE;


void CG_TempTestFunction(centity_t *cent, vec3_t forcedAngles)
mdxaBone_t boltMatrix;
vec3_t tAngles;
vec3_t bOrg;
vec3_t bDir;
vec3_t uOrg;

VectorSet(tAngles, 0, cent->lerpAngles[YAW], 0);

trap_G2API_GetBoltMatrix(cent->ghoul2, 1, 0, &boltMatrix, tAngles, cent->lerpOrigin,
cg.time, cgs.gameModels, cent->modelScale);
BG_GiveMeVectorFromMatrix(&boltMatrix, ORIGIN, bOrg);
BG_GiveMeVectorFromMatrix(&boltMatrix, NEGATIVE_Y, bDir);

VectorMA(bOrg, 40, bDir, uOrg);

CG_TestLine(bOrg, uOrg, 50, 0x0000ff, 1);

cent->turAngles[YAW] = forcedAngles[YAW];

//list of valid ragdoll effectors
static const char *cg_effectorStringTable[] =
{ //commented out the ones I don't want dragging to affect
// "thoracic",
// "rhand",
// "rradiusX",
// "ceyebrow",
NULL //always terminate

03-05-2004, 07:45 PM
saber2 and blaster are on the same tag?

03-05-2004, 08:12 PM
How many weapons are you planning on displaying at a time? Or are you planning on displaying only the most recently holstered weaon? Since, after all, you've got the rocket launcher and the staff saber holstered in the same spot, and so forth.

03-06-2004, 03:19 AM
Only one weapon of each type would be displayed. Holster weapon display will be solely based on which weapon you're currently using and which weapons you already have.

03-06-2004, 03:32 AM
nope saber2 and blaster are at the same spot but not on the same tag. Otherwise the gun would be pointed forward instead of down. I have to rotate the tags so that they correspond with that weapons particular origin.

Also a new saber flag would be nice, so as to prevent them from being holstered. If your time is limited too much I can look into it.

03-06-2004, 06:00 AM
I agree a new saber flag would be best. I'll see if I can add that when I'm doing the rest of the system.

As for the blaster/saber holster bolts, I suggest that you seperate or only use one or the other. Having them both in the same area will result in both the models overlapping each other.

03-06-2004, 10:59 AM
MMM, next model...Perfectly weighted. Luckily I learned some tricks from an old artist friend who got me into Multimedia. The fingers aren't done and I may need to tweak the tags. But here are the pics.


03-07-2004, 07:12 AM
ok, got the saber staff and saber2 stuff coded.

How should I handle the two blaster slots? Should it just store the two highest level guns you have?

03-07-2004, 12:22 PM
where must each tag be weighted to what bone?

03-07-2004, 12:45 PM
and linked

03-07-2004, 08:22 PM
You can put the bolts anywhere you can as long as they are tag surfaces with the correct names.

03-09-2004, 03:48 AM
As well as weight them to any bone you'd like.

I went for the thorasic and femurXY's for the weights.

03-09-2004, 08:05 AM

I have the Max4.2 file, xsi, and model zipped up for any that want it to help with their own models.

I also gave it too Razor Ace to up to the OJP repository.

Uses: bolt_holster
blaster2 (for dual blaster mods)
Golan (because its so big and would clip if attached to the launcher tag)

03-10-2004, 08:33 AM

Chewie with Launcher and Blaster tag only.

03-10-2004, 07:11 PM
Will this make it so that if you use two sabers but select to use a single saber style, one remains at your side instead of being deactivated in your left hand?

I see some have multiple weapons on, like saber or guns in hand and others holstered in the examples, will that be incorporated ingame? If so can we control what is visible, I dont want to walk around with the flechette ill never use on my back, but dont mind carrying the disintergrator rifle or pistol?

03-10-2004, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by Azrael666
Will this make it so that if you use two sabers but select to use a single saber style, one remains at your side instead of being deactivated in your left hand?

I see some have multiple weapons on, like saber or guns in hand and others holstered in the examples, will that be incorporated ingame? If so can we control what is visible, I dont want to walk around with the flechette ill never use on my back, but dont mind carrying the disintergrator rifle or pistol?

Right now, neither. However, both ideas might be something we can impliment in the future.

03-11-2004, 01:26 PM
Mmmh, i've added saber and saber2 to the rockettrooper model i converted to playable, but how i try them, with a mod?:confused:

03-11-2004, 06:04 PM
You're going to have to either compile the lastest version of the Basic Code or wait for us to release a beta of it for you.

03-12-2004, 01:33 PM
or send it to kesire?

03-12-2004, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by LightNinja
or send it to kesire?

eh? What do you mean?

03-13-2004, 03:34 AM
Send it to me to work on? No thank you, I've got enough on my plate as it is.

03-13-2004, 08:01 AM
Originally posted by keshire
Send it to me to work on? No thank you, I've got enough on my plate as it is.


03-13-2004, 10:01 AM
eh? What do you mean?
Send it to me to work on? No thank you, I've got enough on my plate as it is.
Mmmh, i think you misunderstood me, i meant send him the model , the glm to try it ingame because he have the mod/code; not to finish it or to work more, just for try it and see if the new tags work good and all. But if you have to do more work than put the .pk3 in base i won't send it to you, sure.

Also, to make the new tags invisible in normal mp i have to surf them off?

03-13-2004, 10:27 AM
Mmmh, i think you misunderstood me, i meant send him the model , the glm to try it ingame because he have the mod/code; not to finish it or to work more, just for try it and see if the new tags work good and all. But if you have to do more work than put the .pk3 in base i won't send it to you, sure.

k, here's the way to check how they'll move and look in-game.

open your model in modview
under tags
find the holster tags
right-click, bolt model
search for a suitable weapon model

wala, that is how it'll look in-game.

Also tags never show up in-game no matter how many you add. So no you won't have to mess with the skin file or surfaces.

03-13-2004, 10:46 AM
better ill wait you to release your .xsi example :p

03-13-2004, 11:18 AM
Post an email, I have it for whoever wants it. MAX 4.2, XSI, and GLM choose your poison.

It'll have to wait till monday though because I'm on my way out of work.

03-13-2004, 12:35 PM
If 3dsmax 5 sp 1 can open 4.2.maxes send me the max. but if not the xsi

03-18-2004, 08:49 PM
Originally posted by keshire
It'll have to wait till monday though because I'm on my way out of work.
Did you send it? well anyway im still waiting

03-20-2004, 07:01 AM
ok i have 3ds max 6, milkshape 3d, and gmax. i ATTEMPTED to add 1 tag for the saber holster called *saber1 and its ALL screwed up. can i email some one my .glm file, and they just put a saber staff on the back (diagonal) and a saber tag on each side, then put it at least into a .md3? it would be SO kool of you to do so. i tried doing it myself, but like i said, i wasn't pretty.

if you can tell me, step by step, how to do it, that would be even better (im a hands on type person) so please help me any way possible.

btw my e-mail is jack1989@earthlink.net

03-23-2004, 10:22 PM
Keshire you said you were reweighting the models to add the tags.

This mod here seems to have somehow adjusted something so that the weapons appear on the back without any reweighting.

Ninja Mod (http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=24214)

Maybe the same thing could be applied to the existing models so that you won't have to reweight all of them.

I'm not really familiar with the code or anything, so these ideas might not work, but I thought I'd give these suggestion incase they are feasible.

Maybe it could be set up so that the weapons display in a manner similar to this mod by default. The first saber and second saber could default to their respective places on the hips as well as the saber staff on the back.

What weapons are enabled to display by default would need to be decided. You wouldn't want all possible models displaying at the same time similar to the models you've already set up.

Then have the code possibly check the models for the new tags you've created. So basically it will put the sabers on the hips and staff on the back by default, but if someone making their model wants to have the sabers (and other weapons) positioned somewhere specific, they would apply the new tags and they would override the default positions. (That's kind of the part that I don't know whether it's possible or not.)

This way old models wouldn't neccesarily have to be reweighted unless you wanted to do some specific tag placement with them (i.e. the Chewbacca you reweighted having the bowcaster on his back rather than the saber staff.)

Also, you've mentioned the problems with having swords and other weapons showing up on the hips because of clipping issues.
Since that's pretty much only a problem that you would have with weapons that are large and most likely bounce off of surfaces, would it be possible to have the code scan the ".sab" file for the weapon for the line that determines whether or not the weapon bounces off of surfaces. Then set it up so that if it's a pass through weapon (lightsabers) it appears on the hips and if it will bounce off surfaces it will appear on the back.

Again, I'm not familiar with the code or anything so I don't know if that's even possible or if that would require access to the engine code.:(

I think that was the basics of my idea. I'm interested to see whether or not any part of that would be applicable. It seems that it would definately lighten the work load, as well as enable the visible weapons on older custom models where the authors may not go back to add the proper tags.

03-24-2004, 03:28 AM
Yeah, we already had that idea, it's just that it would take a lot more coding work (with a bunch of yucky vector math) on my part and I am a bit sick of messing with it after doing the sections that I already did.

I already talked to the coder for ninja mod about his code and he said that he lost his. I beleive him.

So, basically, you're stuck with the current system unless you find another coder to do it or wait for me to finish it when I feel like it.

Sorry, it's just that if I spent all my time doing what other people requested, I'd never have any time to work on anything that I want to work on....or sleep/eat/etc.

03-24-2004, 05:27 AM
Yeah, I understand where you're coming from. :)

It would be nice to see it someday, but it's just a cosmetic detail anyways so I can understand wanting to focus in on some more important issues and features.

Like I said, I am not very familiar with the code at all so I had/have no real idea how much work it really would be to get something like that up and running.

Maybe someone will be able to pick it up sometime.

Thanks for your response.:)

03-26-2004, 01:48 PM
hehe, nice, just forget the knees, it is fixed
edit:doh, image code is off

03-26-2004, 10:33 PM
alright, i give up!!!!!! I've looked at like 20 different tutorials, and NONE HELPED! no matter what, carcass gives me an error, whether weighting, Heirharchy, or animations:swear:!!!!!! :freakout:

Chesire, can you send me the Max and the .glm? i could really use them right now. :compcry:

03-27-2004, 02:36 AM
I beleive Keshire sent me a xsi example that I'm suppose to put on the repository. I'll double check with him and see if I can get that up for you guys to check out.

03-27-2004, 03:49 AM
ya load that sucker up. The xsi is the important part. It keeps the tag names and is compatible with anything that can import xsi. The glm is just an in-game example. viewable with modview.

Also I'd recommend not using the JKA carcass. Its givin me nothing but problems. Use the older version from the JKO tools. I also never use assimilate, prefering command line myself.

03-27-2004, 05:23 AM
:( 3ds Max 6 doesnt have a compatible .xsi importer :( so the only real usefull thing is the .max file, so i can import my model, scale it, then export it to an xsi then run carcass on it. so if you could put the .max file up Razor, that would be awesome. as i said, i tried doing this myself, but to no avail

(it doesn't exactly help being only 15)

03-27-2004, 05:33 AM
Well I guess I can do some trouble shooting.

First your not actually naming it "*whatever" correct?

all tags should be "bolt_whatever". the "bolt_" part gets stripped when anything gets converted to glm.

Otherwise what errors are you having exactly?

03-27-2004, 06:18 PM
heh, i wasn't naming it "bolt_saber" or "bolt_staff" i was naming them "*staff" or "*holster_staff" heh.

but it keeps saying that a part is not weighted, but when i go into 3Dmax it shows it is when i go to the "edit Envelope" its weighting set to 1 for all verts.

and im basically a skinner but im trying my hand at modeling. i figured adding a few tags would be simple, but i found that modelling is all BUT simple

it makes me rate things just a little higher.

04-02-2004, 06:27 AM
I gave up on the Player Model thing. not 4 me. but i am a (not very good) saber modeler.

ok so can you guys add a saber style (like SABER_SINGLE or SABER_STAFF) called SABER_CLAW? because I made some awesome Claws and on that Malak model they go through the leg. I would like to be able to use them properly in that way (putting them away).

04-02-2004, 06:33 AM
There already is a SABER_CLAW. But I don't think it works. Other than that, you'll have to wait until the code is expanded upon to prevent that.

04-02-2004, 06:25 PM
Yeah, the code isn't completed for the SABER_CLAW stuff.

04-12-2004, 07:14 AM
I was trying the new tags on my model to see how everything looks and it's great.:) It's fun running around with extra weapons holstered everywhere.

One thing I noticed that looks kind of odd is having the EMP gun using the blaster tag. That gun is so much bigger than the blaster that it makes it really hard to place the tag. If I put the tag close enough to the body for the blaster to look natural, when I pick up the EMP it clips into the body.

Perhaps it should either have its own tag or join the group of the other guns.

I also had an occurance where the EMP appeared on both the blaster rifle tag and the blaster pistol tag. I don't know how it happened though, so I can't give any symptoms.:( Sorry.

Other than that though, it looks great.:D

04-12-2004, 06:00 PM
hmmm, well, we can probably fix that.

04-12-2004, 06:15 PM
i hope you dont fix that because look at the screenshot i put before, i think that weapon is simple to place than the other.

04-12-2004, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by LightNinja
i hope you dont fix that because look at the screenshot i put before, i think that weapon is simple to place than the other.

Are you talking about this picture?

Maybe ultimately it would be best to have separate tags for all the weapons so the modelers have full control over which weapons are displayed and they can leave weapons out that they don't want to display or that wouldn't display well.

I was just saying that on the model I was trying it on, I got the Blastech to display so that it looks like it's on the belt, but if it gets swapped with the EMP then it clips into the torso.

How did you have it positioned LightNinja? Where is the EMP in that picture anyways? I think I know where it is but I want to know for sure. :)

04-14-2004, 04:08 PM
:fett: Will These be in the next OJp enhanced release?:bdroid2: :confused: :trooper: :mob: :speeder: :newbie:

04-14-2004, 04:27 PM
:uzi2: :blast9: :blast10: :tank1: :attack2: :blueblas1 ?how do you select an avatar?

04-14-2004, 05:16 PM
This isn't a chat program, answers aren't in real time. Plus, please use the appropiate threads for questions or create a new one.

1. I don't know. I think there's a lot of stuff we'd like to finished before we release anything "official". As always, you can d/l try the open beta releases in the beta tester thread.

2. From your USER CP. That's accessed from a button at the very top of the screen.

04-14-2004, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by The_G.I.
?how do you select an avatar?
?why dont you go to F.A.Q.?

04-15-2004, 08:39 AM
flamthro thanks for the tips lightninja. flamthro

10-30-2005, 11:28 PM
Did this ever get released?

10-31-2005, 03:24 AM
I think it did. I beleive the Kyle model is in the OJP Model Pack.

10-31-2005, 10:08 AM
Was Kyle the only one set up like this? Also where do I download it? I only see a skin pack on the site, is that what you meant? Also, a little off topic is there a way to have the enhanced version installed but only use certain features or to turn off the advanced, gameplay changing stuff?

10-31-2005, 12:51 PM
Right, the skin pack.

If you don't want the gameplay changes of OJP Enhanced, just use OJP Basic, which is the distro with only the changes that don't affect the gameplay.

11-01-2005, 07:22 PM
See sometimes I do want the changes, it'd be nice if I could pick and choose features but even just being able to pick wich version of the mod to load would be nice.
Also could you set up say, the customizeable sp models as you did kyle? He's not my ideal jedi.

11-01-2005, 08:24 PM
Well, I'm not a fan of pick-and-choose gaming, there's a point where you just gotta trust the developer on stuff. If you have any suggestions to improve the features that bother you, I'm open to suggestions.

As for the weapon holster code, I just haven't gotten around to refining the code to make it work without the big hassle with the models. I'll probably get to it eventually.

11-02-2005, 01:21 AM
Choice is kind of why people seek out mods in the first place. But I can't make you do anything.
Improvements? Ability to turn on/off the alterations to saber combat. Set up the default models to support all those weapon hooks. A menu to customize bots weapons and powers would be really cool. right now I'm having shader problems (sabers and lights show up as boxes), a compatability check would be nice.

11-02-2005, 02:14 PM
If you're not happy with the saber combat, you're always welcome to make suggestions or to simply use OJP Basic, which intentionally doesn't alter the gameplay for the JKA Purists.

I understand the desire for having the holster weapons for all the models but I haven't had the time to work on it yet.

As for the customizable bot weapons/powers menu, I don't think that's a good idea. The bots are designed to be on the same footing as the players. If that even footing is altered, then the bots would be more like the NPCs than the bots should be. If you're interested in altering that sort of thing, that really should be done with the NPC files.

Finally, I'm working on correcting the conflicting shader issues for the next release.