PDA

View Full Version : Texture problems


Alfrauk
03-19-2004, 01:30 PM
I'm having problems with some of my new textures. When I try to load a game with some of them, the game will crash. :confused: This is only for some of my textures. I've made reskins of the basic guns and of hk47 and the little astromech droid. All of these work except sometimes when I change the new texture and run the game, it doesnt work. Just a few minutes ago I made a new lightsaber hilt but it doesnt work.Can someone please help me.

pie_man101
03-19-2004, 03:45 PM
Sometimes the retextures interfere with the games programming, and thus, doesn't run and causes a lock-up

Kitty Kitty
03-19-2004, 04:57 PM
Err... No..

New textures should not lock up the game.


What specificially are you doing? The important things I can think of are:

1. Be sure you're not changing the dimensions of the image - only certain SQUARE sizes will work.
2. Don't change the color depth. Because we can't edit the model info, and we have little to no idea what all is contained in the mdx portion of them, I'd advise keeping the files the same bit depth (24, 32, etc)
3. Make sure you've saved the files with identical names, just changing the extention to .TGA by converting them, and that they are in the \override folder.


Any time I've stuck to the above, I've never had any texture cause a game crash. Maybe if you give me some info on just how you're going about making your changes I can spot the problem.

-Kitty

murder_han
03-19-2004, 06:30 PM
I have the same problem. If I change just a little thing on a texture, the game crashes.
I thought it might be the layers, Paint Shop creates??
I had no time to check that.

Bunk
03-19-2004, 06:34 PM
Could be the layers, just tell paint shop to merge all layers before you save the file.