PDA

View Full Version : Assimilate Giving "_humanoid.gla" Error


Noxrepere
03-21-2004, 10:19 AM
I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I followed Psykosith's tutorial and I set up everything the way I believe it's supposed to be and when I take my newly exported .XSI and try to run Assimilate, I end up with a problem.

When I click on "Add Files" and choose the JA "_humanoid.gla" it gives back an error message saying that the .gla cannot be found.

I'm pretty much out of ideas since I've already tried doing it 15 times.

Please help if you have any ideas. It's probably something easy that I overlooked.:( :mad:

ksk h2o
03-21-2004, 01:24 PM
I'm not sure this is THE solution, but, make sure the path of the folder the gla is in does not have spaces.

d:/gamedata/base/models/players/humanoid/humanoid.gla
good

d:/program files/lucas arts/....
bad

I extracted most of the assets files in a shallow path much like the first path I gave you and I work out of there. Carcass does not seem to like really long path names either.

Noxrepere
03-21-2004, 08:04 PM
Okay, I took your advice and put the "_humanoid.gla" in a folder directory without spaces and then it loaded the gla.

Thank you very much!:)

Now, however, when I click on B and tell it to compile, I give it the name of "model.car" and then get this error:


Process returned error: 1

( c:\games\modelcompiling\carcass.exe -silent C:\Games\ModelCompiling\model.car")


Again if anyone knows what that means (I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere) I would appreciate the help.

First model is being a pain!:mad: :mad:

Noxrepere
03-22-2004, 06:22 AM
Nevermind. I finally figured it out! :bounce1:

I used this tutorial by MacD for anyone that is interested.
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=4708

It is an addendum to Spacemonkey's tutorial. It has a good section on using Assimilate. ;)

It's been around for a while, I just never knew about it. It seems out of place on the site, since it's not in the section with the rest of the tutorials.

It seems odd that there's so little documentation for this program seeing as it's so integral to getting models in game.:confused:


I also found PsykoSith's tutorials very, very helpful in giving more detail to integral parts of the process.

PyskoSith's Site (http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/)

Oh well.

Thanks for your advice ksk h2o, it really helped point me in the right direction. :)

ksk h2o
03-22-2004, 07:42 AM
Originally posted by 7th Jedi
Nevermind. I finally figured it out! :bounce1:

I used this tutorial by MacD for anyone that is interested.
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=4708

It is an addendum to Spacemonkey's tutorial. It has a good section on using Assimilate. ;)

...

Thanks for your advice ksk h2o, it really helped point me in the right direction. :)

Yeas those two are what got my first models into JO... but still leave you to figure some stuff out to yourself.

Np, you've given me some very helpful pointers yourself ;)

-]Holoman[-
03-26-2004, 05:07 PM
Hi,

I´ve got this problem :

Process returned error: 1

( c:\games\modelcompiling\carcass.exe -silent C:\Games\ModelCompiling\model.car")

too.
But I didn´t find anythig witch can help me.
Can someone from here help me ?

Thanks @ ksk h2o this was my first problem, too.

darthviper107
03-26-2004, 05:54 PM
All of the tags and caps have to be skinned, also you might not have some tags or some bones.

-]Holoman[-
03-27-2004, 06:17 AM
I didn´t understand what you mean.
...

-]Holoman[-
03-27-2004, 07:04 AM
*sry für post*

So far so good ... but now if comes such a Error :

XSI import failed, code = 4599 (file 'd:/lucasarts/starwarsjediknightjediacademy
/gamedata/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI')

O.o Hö ?

can someone help ?


After a few Houers of testing ...

The Error is now change to :


Carcass (GLA/GLM compiler) v2.1. (C) Raven Software 1998-2003.
Written by Gil Gribb, Ste Cork, James Monroe, Mike Crowns


-------- C:\Base\models\players\alo\wars --------
( Build trigger: "c:\base\models\players\alo\wars.glm" missing )
entering c:\base\models\players\alo\wars.car
(90 degree skewing OFF)
Loading GLA "humanoid/humanoid.gla"...21376 frames
Grabbed 1 files with 21376 frames
Processing 'c:/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI'
XSI import failed, code = 6210 (file 'c:/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI')

( Press any Key ... )

Psyk0Sith
03-27-2004, 05:34 PM
Wow, first time i've ever seen these error codes...:eek: Maybe if i see the max file i can tell you whats wrong.

By the way, you should build your GLM using the standard "model.glm" name.

-]Holoman[-
03-28-2004, 04:45 AM
:D Ok I´ll test it.
When it doesn´t work, I´ll be post the .max file... but then I must revise the file .. ... ...

Thx in advance for your help.

-]Holoman[-
03-28-2004, 09:38 AM
*again on me make attentive*

So I´ve test it .. nothing change...
Give me plz youre Mail, where I must send the .max file ...
Thx to you

way
03-28-2004, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by Psyk0Sith
Wow, first time i've ever seen these error codes...:eek: Maybe if i see the max file i can tell you whats wrong.
I've had the same error as I used his root.xsi

Strange... because when I export his *.max-file by myself, I just get the usual errors (like weight not found etc.):confused:

Psyk0Sith
03-28-2004, 05:23 PM
Maybe he's not using the export plugin v3.0 or somthin?.