PDA

View Full Version : Help: Attackable Yuka Laka


Darth333
03-21-2004, 11:48 PM
How do I go about making Yuka Laka, the merchant who sells HK-47 attackable at a precise moment?

I'd like to make him attackable when I play DS. I'd like it to happen when you speak to Yuka Laka after purchasing HK-47, when the droid asks if he can kill him?

dj_owen
03-22-2004, 12:01 AM
you'd have to make it so after you talk to hk-47, the dialog file calls a script that changes yuka laka's factionid.

someone please correct me if i'm wrong, but i think you'd need to change it from whatever it is to 1, which is hostile. then you'd be able to kill him.

it'd be cool to put some really good droid upgrades on his corpse, so you can loot it and make hk-47 sweet right off the bat.

Darth333
03-22-2004, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by dj_owen
it'd be cool to put some really good droid upgrades on his corpse, so you can loot it and make hk-47 sweet right off the bat.

Good idea!

Darth333
03-23-2004, 12:41 AM
Err... I must have missed something... Yuka Laka is indeed attackable but right from when I enter the store. Not exactly what I wanted to do... :confused:

tk102
03-23-2004, 12:52 AM
Did you create a script as suggested in this (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=123618) thread and then apply it to HK47's (or Yuka Laka's) dialog?

dj_owen
03-23-2004, 02:04 AM
yeah, you'll need to compile a script (something i'm having trouble doing) that changes the factionid.

then, in the .dlg file with hk-47, after his entry "can i kill him master?", have your response be something like "sure", and then call on the factionid script.

this will make yuka laka become attackable once you tell hk-47 to attack him.

Darth333
03-23-2004, 03:33 PM
I've seen the above thread referred to by TK102. But I'm not used to working with a GFF editor and I'm stuck. I understand the script content part but the problem is how to get there.

I used kotor tools to extract the dlg file I wanted from the Tatoine module. The dlg file is more or less entitled "yuk???.dlg" and its in the module m_tat17ac if i remember correctly (I' on coffe break and don't have kotor with me!). Then, I used the GFF editor to open the dlg file. Now this is where i'm completely lost:

I wnat to add a line where my pc says "sure" to Hk, as suggested by dj_owen and make Yuka Laka attackable. If I understand correctly (at this point i doubt it), the thread says that to add a new dialogue line i should:

add a new dialog branch that calls to a new script. Use your script above as this new script.

dj_owen says:
in the .dlg file with hk-47, after his entry "can i kill him master?", have your response be something like "sure", and then call on the factionid script

Query: am I supposed to actually see the dialogues with the GFF editor? I don't see any. If not, how do i find the dialoges and add new dialogue lines?

I see a big tree with many many branches in the left half of the GFF editor and the Reply list and Entry list fields but i don't see any field called active. Dunno what i'm supposed to do from there.

You may find that it's very basic and that i'm N00b but i would really like to get through this. Ok, making Yuka Laka attackable won't add much to the game but I'd like to do it just as an exercise before getting into more interesting projects.

dj_owen
03-23-2004, 03:57 PM
sorry, i should have been more clear, i was being lazy.

okay, this is not an easy task. you need to find the EXACT dialog you want to change. you'll need to look through the entries in dialog.tlk in your main folder until you find your player response that will be changed. what i do then is find the corresponding vo_resref (it's a word and a number, something like yuka_laka289).

then you need to fire up the .dlg file you're going to change, and search through all the entries in the replylist (i know, it'll take a long time!) until you find the vo_resref.

open it, and go down to script. here is where you reference the script you created to change yuka laka's factionid.

then go down to Text, and change the STRREF to -1, and the LanguageID to 0. then in the white box, type "sure".

save, and it should work.

Darth333
03-23-2004, 04:49 PM
Thanks dj_owen. That should help a lot. :)

tk102
03-23-2004, 07:14 PM
This looks like a good place to pimp my warez. :cool:

DLG Search Tools (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=125370) make it easier to accomplish the tasks described by dj_owen.

Darth333
03-23-2004, 07:32 PM
Originally posted by tk102
This looks like a good place to pimp my warez. :cool:

DLG Search Tools (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=125370) make it easier to accomplish the tasks described by dj_owen.

Haven't tried it yet but looks very interesting! Don't forget to update your links in Kitty's thread. I'm sure many other modders would find it useful!

tk102
03-23-2004, 07:51 PM
Kitty won't return my calls... I PM'd her about a week ago. Oh well.

Darth333
03-24-2004, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by dj_owen
then you need to fire up the .dlg file you're going to change, and search through all the entries in the replylist (i know, it'll take a long time!) until you find the vo_resref.


I found out that this can be a matter of seconds if, instead of double clicking on the dlg file when you are using the Kotor tool, you press Control-Double-click. It will open a syntax-colored version of the GFF file's contents that includes the dialogues. Then, just use the good old Edit menu and the Find function to bring you right where you want to go. (It was all in the Kotor readme - ). :)

Darth333
03-26-2004, 01:29 PM
I just finished the mod and it works fine. However, i have a few questions for next time:

1. When Yuka Laka turns hostile, my party can attack him but he wont attack my party contrary to other npcs in the game. It's not a real problem for Yuka Laka ( i think its even better since the poor Ihtorian is too scared to even defend himself) but it can be pretty anoying with other kinds of npcs.

here is the script i used to turn Yuka Laka hostile:

#include "k_inc_debug"

void main()
{
ChangeToStandardFaction(OBJECT_SELF, STANDARD_FACTION_HOSTILE_1);
}

2. I tried using the GFF editor to change a few dialog lines for my PC and HK as explained above by dj_owen but i gave up and ended using the NWN toolset. However the damn thing removed all the vo_resref when i saved the file and i had to reenter them manually with GFF editor afterwards for HK-47 to give him back his voice. HK-47 had only 4 or 5 lines so it wasn't a big deal. However, i'm planning to edit much bigger files and this could be very annoying. Here is what i don't get with the GFF editor:

dj-owen says:

then go down to Text, and change the STRREF to -1, and the LanguageID to 0. then in the white box, type "sure".

When i go down to "Text" i change the STRREF to -1. This is fine.

- But i don't see where I can set LanguageID to 0 (i understand that 0 is for English?).
- The third step that is to type the new dialogue in the white box. You mean the tiny white box under the place where i change the srtref? It doesn't work for me. I just get "bad StrRef" notice when i load the game. Can someone tell me what i am doing wrong?

If you wan't perhaps you could send me a srceenshot of what it's supposed to look like.

Thanks.

tk102
03-26-2004, 03:07 PM
For creating the "local" dialogs (those not referenced in dialog.tlk)
GFF Editor is weird -- after you set StrRef to -1, click in the LanguageID box and type 0. Then press enter. The dialog area won't become enabled unless you actually press enter, clicking your mouse won't do it.

After you're done typing the dialog, click to a different field, otherwise it won't take.

Hope that helps a little.

Darth333
03-26-2004, 03:19 PM
The problem is that i don't see any LanguageID box!

tk102
03-26-2004, 03:38 PM
Are you using GFF Editor or NWN Toolset?
In GFF Editor it's right below STRREF.

Edit: Screenshot removed

Darth333
03-26-2004, 04:19 PM
Wow! I'm using Bioware's GFF editor. The screen looks exactly the same but I don't have that LanguageID box under StrRef! Which GFF editor is that? Perhaps my version is corrupted. In any case, will try to redownload and see what happens.

I would send you a screenshot but i don't have the GFF editor on the computer i'm presently using .

tk102
03-26-2004, 05:57 PM
Version 1.3.4.7
Date: 4/23/03

Same GFF Editor as everyone else's I'm sure.

Downloaded from http://nwn.bioware.com/developers

Darth333
03-26-2004, 06:01 PM
This is what I have too.
It appears that my verion was corrupted. Just redownloaded on the computer i'm presently working on, loaded a dlg file found in one of the mods (i don't have kotor on this computer) and everything is there. Nightmare is over. That will save me a lot of time in the future. :)

Now that my small Yuka Laka mod is finally completed i can move on to something else. Here it is:http://mars.walagata.com/w/darth333/YukaLaka.zip

Thanks for your help!

pascalneder009
03-28-2004, 03:08 PM
Darth 333 Rulezzzzzzz

All hail Lord Darth 333
All hail Lord Darth 333
All hail Lord Darth 333

now the dustil mod !!

Darth333
03-28-2004, 08:52 PM
now the dustil mod !!

Started working on it yesterday (DS version). It's going to be more work than expected. I want to try to create new sound files to add to the mod.

pascalneder009
03-30-2004, 10:57 AM
hell no you can do that in the v2.0 version like the yuthura mod is doing 2

Darth333
03-30-2004, 01:32 PM
Perhaps but that is not the problem. Right now I'm more or less stuck due to a problem with my GFF editor as you can see in this thread http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=125930
I can't edit the dialogues unless I use NWN toolset. But the toolset removes all the voices. The dlg files I want to edit are huge and I would have to re-enter all the VO_ResRef files manually. :(