PDA

View Full Version : So you want to buy Amiga....


Mr Flibble
03-29-2004, 05:52 PM
I want to buy an Amiga!
Amig -ga-ga-ga-gaa!
(Its like Ulrika-ka-ka but not)

So which do I buy? It'll have to be either Cash Converters, a scuzzy 'not stolen' goods shop, or eBay.

What number do I get?
I've seen A 1200,
A 500,
1200...

I just want to play games like
Theme Park,
Space Quest I-IV,
The two action versions of the Indy games,
TSOMI ( I can't get any sound on PC)
and Zak McKraken.

Any help would be appreciated.

Or if you were giving one away, I could haul it away for you maybe....

MrManager
03-29-2004, 05:57 PM
If you just want to play games an A1200 should be fine. You probably want to get it with a HD and some extra memory too.

Ray Jones
03-29-2004, 08:16 PM
A500, yo.

there are also emulators available, but you need a legal hold of an amiga (for the kick-ROM) to err... be legally. but there is everything you like, harddisk-access, cdrom support, actionreplay, 4 disk drives, if you use winuae for instance.


but remember.. PIRACY SUCKS!

:D

err..

pass me yer booty or me cut yer throat, HARRR!

Joshi
03-29-2004, 09:08 PM
I have an A1200 with HD and extra floppy drive. I've also got a whole load of games to go with it (minus the ones you want, but they're fun anyway) like superfrog! The games crap! But the first screen you see asks if you want unlimited lives/money/health/everything in which case nothing can hurt you and you just run around the place racking up the high score until you get to the end at which point you end up fighting and evil witch and rescuing a princess. The most fun you can possibly have with your pants on.

*cough*

there are also other games.

only one problem i can see really, and that's the fact that i'm not selling. sorry to get your hopes up, only to shoot them down like a political Texan (not really, it was fun).

Mr Flibble
03-29-2004, 09:18 PM
A1200. Check.
Now, tell me more of this HD , and why I might need extra floppy drives/ memory.

Sorry, I don't have a clue about Amigas. Or old computers in general.

EDIT
*Kills self*
HD= Hard Drive.
How did I forget that?

If I buy an Amiga, what exactly should I expect to get, component wise, ie.
1x HD
1x Mouse
1x Keyboard
etc, only more complicated+relevant.

Joshi
03-30-2004, 10:56 AM
If you buy an amiga, you can have a HD (although they're not compulsary, we got our later and just ran everything off disks) a mouse, the keyboard (the most important thing, it basically runs the computer, it ahs the chip and floppy drive and everything) a second disk drive if you want, but again, they're not compulsary. oh, and aload of amiga disk crap to go with it.

Just so you know, you can actually buy amiga emulators for the pc without actually owning an amiga, they're commercial if you can find them and usually retail at about 12. they come wit a load of games and you can run your own games off them as well.

MrManager
03-30-2004, 03:22 PM
You can easily download the emulator for free. WinUAE and Amiga In A Box or whatever do wonders.

Sivy
03-30-2004, 03:40 PM
my amiga died in 1994, it went pop and started to smoke after i split a cup of tea over it :(
my atari st didn't last much longer, although it died peacefully of natural causes.

Mr Flibble
03-30-2004, 05:02 PM
My floppy drive is dead, so I can't emulate.

I should really get a new one.

Huz
04-05-2004, 08:03 PM
Originally posted by Mr Flibble
My floppy drive is dead, so I can't emulate.

I should really get a new one. You can't use an Amiga emulator with floppy disks in the way you seem to be thinking, anyway - the PC disk drive is incapable of reading Amiga disks. If you do run an Amiga emulator, you run everything from 'disk images' which you would acquire off the internet. Another source is one of the "Classic Amiga" collections, which are available on CD from places like HMV - they probably have the advantage of being all easy-to-use and stuff.

There is a way to copy real Amiga disks onto the PC, apparently, but it involves having two floppy drives for some techy reason.

Anyway, what everyone else said. An A1200 with a HD of at least 80MB would be ideal. You should look out for the following being bundled with the Amiga, which you NEED:
* Mouse - these are not standard PC mice, so you need an Amiga one. I don't expect them to be easy to buy in shops nowadays.
* Power supply - a fairly chunky white box, without which you won't be able to plug the Amiga in.
* Workbench operating system (on floppy disks) and possibly other stuff that was bundled with it, like Deluxe Paint.

That's all I can think of - anything else included is a bonus! If you're looking for a decent game controller, any old-style 9-pin joystick or joypad works. I use a Mega Drive controller.

hellomoto
04-07-2004, 01:23 AM
I got that amiga in a box a while back, but for some reason, it just wont work (I think it was something to do with there being no kickrom or something, I cant remember off hand)

Anyway, is there any way to sort this out or anything. If you need a better description, I'll try and run it again and see exactly what it said.

Also, I saw an A1200 on E-bay the other day, going seriously, very cheap (I mean like 5 or something) I'll try and find a link to it, or you could just find it yourself, its kinda late now and my internets playing up.

MrManager
04-07-2004, 03:21 AM
You just need kick.rom which is easy to find online. Same goes for Workbench, though one can argue that it's not quite legal. ;

Joshi
04-07-2004, 07:17 PM
Originally posted by Huz
* Workbench operating system (on floppy disks) and possibly other stuff that was bundled with it, like Deluxe Paint.


Ahh... Deluxe Paint, now that's brought back happy memories of my time as a novice when it came to art. Much improved these days thank you (it was fun as hell though, some of the stuff you could do because it was crap that you simply can't do these days, now that's real art)

Ray Jones
04-07-2004, 09:06 PM
you took the words right out of my mouth.

i still use dpaint, though. winuae allows embedding of directorys as amiga hd. at viola.

vive la ye olde tymes ..

RoyTordesLegend
04-09-2004, 08:10 PM
I bought my first Amiga back in 1990 - an A500 'Flight of Fantasty' pack with Rainbow Islands, Escape from the Planet of the Robot Monsters, F(something) Retaliator (Ray help me out here!), and Deluxe Paint II.....

....ahh the days. I first played Monkey Island shortly after then....what disk swapping fun!!

First A1200 with 80mb(or might have been 120mb) Hard Disk came in, I think 1994.......those were the days!!!

Simon the Sorcerer....where are you now!!!?!

Ray Jones
04-09-2004, 10:00 PM
F29-Retaliator. that is nearly correct, o'neillroy.


and if monkey1 allready was disk swapping fun, what was then monkey2 or indy4? disk swapping paradise? everytime you swap a naked chearleader pops up and slaps you with a wet pantee?

wait.. that is correct, macgyverray.

first amiga game i played: f-16 fighting falcon

first game on my very own amiga: indiana jones and the last crusade

i actually play on my emulator: indiana jones and the fate of atlantis (besides all the other ones from time to time.)

a memories..

alien breed
turrican
gunship 2000
tomahawk
f-15 strike eagle
birds of prey
midwinter 2
lemmings
stunt car racer
formula one grand prix
north and south
syndicate
fighter bomber
hostages
sim city
"demos" (anarchy 3d demo)
testdrive
action replay mk III
imagine
deluxe paint
power packer
x copy
burst nibbler
fast tracker
disk optimizer

err and so on?

seriously. listen to remi.

RoyTordesLegend
04-09-2004, 11:05 PM
Aahhhaa Stunt Car Racer!!!

Did you ever play it with another Amiga linked with a null modem cable???

Nitro (a top down racing game) was better however.....when I linked my 1200 to my mates 500, I always got a head start for some reason!!!

The joys of X-Copy!

Huz
04-09-2004, 11:13 PM
The one game I really wanted to play linked-up was Lotus Turbo Challenge 2, but it would only ever work on one of my Amigas. Four-player Lotus battles would have been great, though. :~

In the end I settled for Stunt Car Racer (I was the BEST) and Super Skidmarks (sadly only with four players cars - if I'd had two Amiga 1200s, I could have had a whole EIGHT! Whoa.)

Ray Jones
04-09-2004, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by RoyTordesLegend
Aahhhaa Stunt Car Racer!!!

Did you ever play it with another Amiga linked with a null modem cable???


of. course. i. did. :D:D

and that one sunny day we went crazy and constructed some radio-null-modem thingy, since my friend only lived 100m down the block. i never thought it would work, but it did. i still have it.. somewhere.. teh birth of wireless .. :) yeah.


we also enjoyed tons of air battles with falcon.

great times, man, great times.