View Full Version : GLM Error Message

04-11-2004, 02:33 AM
I get some error saying my model has more than 1000 verts on a surface (1016) . . . umm I guess I didn't really know this was a problem. Can someone tell me how to fix this?

04-11-2004, 05:26 PM
It means the mesh has too many verts...the geometry is a bit too high so get rid of unecessary faces (aka optimize).

04-11-2004, 10:29 PM
See My DE model isn't that complex though I mean check it out.


I know I've seen models with a more detail (more verts.) than this.

04-12-2004, 01:15 AM
Maybe detaching a piece will fix the problem (like detaching the handle) how many polys you have in total?

04-12-2004, 02:35 AM
Ok well I feel like a newb asking this but how do you display the number of polys in gmax?

04-12-2004, 05:08 AM
I use 3D max so i'm not sure...

There's a tool called polycounter...check the "hammer" tab and click more you should see it in the list, unless Gmax is different.

04-12-2004, 11:15 PM
Hey thanks man! Welp, it says 291 . . . and I'm pretty sure that's not over the limit. I CAN delete some stuff but I mean am I gonna have to reskin map and all that stuff?

04-13-2004, 12:45 PM

Ideally, a mesh is made of triangles, and each triangle should be sharing verts with other triangles (making them stuck together in a mesh-like structure) - if you have 291 triangles, the worst possible scenario is that you have 873 verts. It sounds like there is something wrong with your model, is there any possibility that there are verts that aren't attached to anything?

04-17-2004, 11:08 PM
Hmmm most likely. This is the first model I've ever made and intended to put in game. There isn't really a manual anywhere that tells you what kinds of things to do and not to do so I'm sure I just messed something up. Guess I can try to clean up the verts and re-skin map it