PDA

View Full Version : MI1 Floppy, but no floppy drive!


Joshi
04-13-2004, 09:20 PM
Okay, so i'm rooting around my attic and what do I find? My original Monkey island 1, the floppy version! Wheeee! (ala clown in MI1 when stylish confetti is given to him)

Only one problem. I want to play it on my laptop but my laptop doesn't have a floppy disk drive which annoys me considerably. Now I was wondering, could anyone tell me if it work work just the same if I copied the files onto my portable USB drive and then put that on my laptop (via my dad's desktop w/floppy drive)? Or will I actually have to install it to my portable drive (or hd and then move the files onto my P/drive). Or what?

I leave the question to you. Cheers guys.

Scummbuddy
04-14-2004, 12:27 AM
I think LucasArts will replace it with Monkey Madness if you send it to them, but write them and ask them first.

Skinkie
04-14-2004, 03:06 AM
Dude, he wants to play off the discs, for the retro effect. It's more classic that way.

Joshi
04-14-2004, 05:18 PM
Yeah, dude, I already have the bounty pack with mi1, 2&3 all on CD, but dude, it's the original one, i'm not gonna give them up!

Mr Flibble
04-16-2004, 06:50 PM
You could put each disc into a friend/ relation's computer and copy all the files to the HD.
Zip them up and send them to yourself.
No fuss, No muss.

*waits for someone to point out fault*

Joshi
04-17-2004, 03:33 PM
Or I could just copy all files onto my HD, move them onto my portable USB drive (this is a 128mb drive by the way) and then put it on my laptop forgetting about sending it through the internet. and By the way, the only way i cang get internet access on my laptop would be to unplug by parents computer from the DSL line and plug in my laptop to it. If I were to do that, i might was well find a way to network my laptop to my parents computer and considering I really can't be bothered to do that, I'll just do it my way.

Um, that wasn't me being rude by the way, or at least not intentionally. anyway, all i really wanted to know is that when installing from the floppy disks, is that simply the files on the disk being copied to my HD, or is anything else happening, because if so, i get the feeling I could simply play this game off of my poratbe HD (allowing me to play it wherever)

Skinkie
04-18-2004, 05:54 AM
Try it, if it works, then that's all you need to do, if not, then ask questions.

JawaJoey
05-28-2004, 01:37 AM
Floppies? How nastalgic.
You'll get to experience what I never have.

The stump joke.

Udvarnoky
06-11-2004, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by JawaJoey
Floppies? How nastalgic.
You'll get to experience what I never have.

The stump joke.

Not to mention the text-based inventory and MIDI music.

Joshi
06-12-2004, 04:30 PM
Originally posted by Udvarnoky
Not to mention the text-based inventory and MIDI music.

this may sound stupid, but I last played the floppy version on my old Pc which for some reason wouldn't play any of the Midi music, so I was stuck with the computers bleepings of the internal speakers.

Weirdly enough, they came up with the same tune, just crappier. it was fun as hell.