PDA

View Full Version : Did MI4 suck or what???

Mally
05-04-2004, 02:21 AM
I have been playing the MI games for like 10 years now and i'm pretty sorry to say that MI4 totally sucked balls, i know its a game joke that guybrush gets no respect but they took it too far and if they couldnt get a decent 3d engine DON'T MAKE THE GAME 3D!!!! If they do make a new MI i sure hope they do a way better job then they did in the last installment. What do you guys reckon?

Thrik
05-04-2004, 06:35 AM
Yep, I agree, although this really is a dead horse and EMI's mediocrity has been brought up many times. You're correct, they tried to emphasise the aspects of the game which made the previous games so popular, and went too far.

An example being the use of modern technology and electronic lighting and such in the previous games. It was subtle, which made it funny. In EMI we've got a horrible tourist island full of the stuff, which was just ... Jambalaya Island gives me nightmares.

The humour was also very bad for the most part, failing to raise even a smirk from me. The characters, locations and puzzles were totally unmemorable, totally not fun (especially such ones as the swamp and monkey combat) and in general a chore to play.

It's pretty much the only adventure game I cannot bear to replay. It's too painful.

Now that's the last time I go for a full-on EMI bash, I swear. I've done it too many times now.

Demonic Skull
05-04-2004, 07:46 AM
No, it did not. Granted, it wasn't the best of the 4 games, but saying it "sucks" is just stupid when you're probably wanting a fifth game.

Thrik
05-04-2004, 08:38 AM
Wanna bet?

Joshi
05-04-2004, 12:24 PM
Come on, the only place we actually saw vast amounts of electricity being used in the first game was at Stans, and for some reason, that just fitted so well. Jambalaya island, now that's just creepy. Sorry, but I can't let that monkey swing on that nose in the first game without thinking about emi now and that's not a good thing.