PDA

View Full Version : portrait replacement not working


assassin74
06-07-2004, 08:51 PM
I am trying to replace the two PC-portraits but cannot make it work.

What I did:
The portraits in question were those of the bald asian guy and the one of the brush hair guy with the scar over the right eye. After I had found out that the asian guy uses the code PMHC01 and the brush guy is PMHA03 I created two 64x64 pixel TGA-Images in Photoshop. I saved them (using 32 bits per pixel) into the override folder, using the filenames PO_PMHC01.tga and PO_PMHA03.tga. Yet the game still uses the original portraits. What could be the reason?

Darth Khasei
06-07-2004, 09:09 PM
I would only say this to you in order to save you some serious frustration. Go to the top sticky regarding modding and check the links to the specific threads regarding what specific steps must be taken to perform the operations you would like to complete.

If after reading the tutorial and following the step exactly you have specific technical questions, the guys here can help. Cheers.

Achilles
06-07-2004, 09:33 PM
Originally posted by assassin74
I am trying to replace the two PC-portraits but cannot make it work.

What I did:
The portraits in question were those of the bald asian guy and the one of the brush hair guy with the scar over the right eye. After I had found out that the asian guy uses the code PMHC01 and the brush guy is PMHA03 I created two 64x64 pixel TGA-Images in Photoshop. I saved them (using 32 bits per pixel) into the override folder, using the filenames PO_PMHC01.tga and PO_PMHA03.tga. Yet the game still uses the original portraits. What could be the reason?

Your problem most likely resides in Appearance.2da. I'd recommend digging around to find out more about this file (from people who know more about it than I do) and take it from there.

I hope that helps!

Achilles

T7nowhere
06-07-2004, 10:59 PM
PO_PMHC01.tga and PO_PMHA03.tga

Try renaming the files to PO_pmhc1.tga and PO_pmha3.

assassin74
06-08-2004, 07:30 AM
Thank you for the replies. They enabled me to correct my first mistake, but I cannot quite get it to work yet.

(The problem of course was the filename. I used po_pmha03.tga when it should have been po_pmha3.tga)

Now, after having renamed the files, the game seemed to realize that I wanted to use custom portraits. But instead of showing the new images, it showed no portrait image at all for the player character, i.e. empty space where the portrait should have been.

This led me to the conclusion that the game was unable to read the tga-image files that I had created in Photoshop 5, so I donloaded the Carnival Mod (http://home.t-online.de/home/Talchia/english.html) and tested with a portrait file from there: I unzipped a portrait into the override folder, renamed to po_pmha3.tga and sadly received the same result as before - no portrait showing at all.

assassin74
06-08-2004, 03:42 PM
I managed to get it to work a few minutes ago. The problem was indeed the file format. Somehow Photoshop 5 saved the tga-files in a wrong way, so that the game could not read them.

The workaround I used was to use a tga-file I knew the game could read. I had found out that as soon as I would use the Photoshop - functions "Save as [tga]" or "Save a copy as [tga]" on it the file would become unreadable for Kotor.

So I took a jedi robes texture tga I had downloaded earlier, copied it in explorer, renamed the new file to PO_pmha3.tga, opened it in PS, resized it, pasted my modified portrait over that, merged all to one layer, and just saved the tga (Strg+s).