PDA

View Full Version : simple model imported


cchargin
06-08-2004, 12:13 AM
Hello all,

Hey, is that Mission holding a G11? Why, I do believe it is!

http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/mission-g11.jpg

Ok, folks, I have written a script that will import SIMPLE models into kotor. What are simple models? They are models with no animations, dangly mesh, or skin mesh. For example:
- blasters (pistols, rifles, carbines, etc..)
- swords (normal and vibro)
- grenades
- masks

No, light sabers are NOT supported (yet).

Please note that the release number for import is 0.0! This means there is a chance that a model can CRASH kotor. Yes, anyone using this script is an alpha tester. If you run into any problems please let me know so I can fix them.

Also PLEASE read the tutorial included with import or you will go nuts trying to figure out what's wrong.

On a side note I wanted to mention that when you import models with animations into gmax you can remove some of the glitches by pressing the "reset controllers" button on the utils rollout.

OK, here are the files:

extract0-5:
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/extract0-5.zip

import0.0:
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/import0-0.zip

Have fun!

Mav
06-08-2004, 12:51 AM
Astonishing Progress cchargin, we are one step closer to that Count Dooku curved lightsaber hilt.....*drools*

Excellent Progress

beel2112
06-08-2004, 01:07 AM
Hey, is that Mission holding a G11?

Oh, that is sweet!

RedHawke
06-08-2004, 02:30 AM
All I have to say is... WOW!!!:D :D :D :D :D

cchargin you are the KOTOR Model Master!:cool:

svösh
06-08-2004, 04:33 AM
:thumbsup: Thank you cchargin this is fantastic news I can't wait to give it a test run and see how it goes.

svösh

buhallin
06-08-2004, 06:39 AM
This sounds great :)




The downside is, now i must learn how GMAX is used too damn :(

Doom_Dealer
06-08-2004, 07:55 AM
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES WAAAAAAAAAAAAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO YEYEYEYYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYEYE

sorry im happy, so does this reconvert the .mdl-out file back into the original mdl?

Doom_Dealer
06-08-2004, 08:27 AM
ok im stuck, i cant find some things in gmax


in the model tutorial file you mention alot of things like we should have them, and i dont :(, so where can i get:

nwmax: you keep saying to use it but i cant see it anywhere.
nwsnoop

Darth333
06-08-2004, 09:43 AM
These are very good news! Great work cchargin!!!
:clap2::band1 :clap2: :sheepdanc

Prime
06-08-2004, 10:51 AM
Wow, this is fantastic to hear. This will open a lot of doors to modders. Keep up the good work, cchargin! :)

Amezaroth
06-08-2004, 10:59 AM
ah yes...

it is finally possible, you really can make a "mask" that looks lika boba fett's or darth vader's helmet...

i can't wait to see what the real pro modelers could do...

Boba Rhett
06-08-2004, 11:04 AM
Excellent!

override367
06-08-2004, 12:57 PM
I shall now start the paperwork to make you a god :D

cchargin
06-08-2004, 02:03 PM
Hello all,

Yes, I should have mentioned the tools you will need. Here is the list:

You need 5 things to mess with kotor models:

1) Kotor tool to extract the .mdl, .mdx and textures
2) extract0-5 to turn the binary .mdl and .mdx into an ascii .mdl file
3) gmax or 3d studio max (gmax is free)
4) nwmax to import the ascii .mdl into gmax or 3d studio max
5) import0-0 to import simple models back into kotor

kotor tool:
http://kotortool.home.comcast.net/index.html

extract0-5:
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/extract0-5.zip

gmax:
http://www.discreet.com/products/gmax/

nwmax:
http://nwmax.dladventures.com/

import0-0:
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/import0-0.zip

Nwmax is an add in for gmax. It has a program called nwmax.exe that lets you export models from gmax into neverwinter nights format. Normally you can't export from gmax. When you install nwmax and run nwmax.exe you can export. Find the nwmax.exe in gmax\scripts\nwmax\

override367
06-08-2004, 03:58 PM
Now I can make a throwable banana that makes enemies fall over, victory shall be mine! :D

Shimaon
06-08-2004, 08:27 PM
Suh-WEET!!!

You've done it again cchargin, I can't wait to try a lil' something now... *grins*

Shimaon

shosey
06-09-2004, 12:08 AM
excellent my friend - keep fighting the good fight :)

svösh
06-11-2004, 03:44 PM
second model in game :) Thanks for all your hard work and

dedication cchargin :emodanc:



http://svoshsphotos.fotopic.net/p5084287.html


svösh

Doom_Dealer
06-11-2004, 03:47 PM
oh my, its so amazingly lovely i think i might cry,
thank you svosh, i'd kiss your foot but i dont know where you live.

and if i did know where you lived you probably wouldnt be living there anymore.

Darth333
06-11-2004, 03:55 PM
great work svösh! ;)
:cowdance :band1 :guitar2 :sheepdanc

Poggle
06-11-2004, 04:06 PM
very nice, great work :)

DarkLord Re\/an
06-18-2004, 03:57 AM
i cant import the .mdl file into gmax

i set the environ thing then i went

file>import>desktop>my icons>model tests>w_hvyblstr_001>w_hvyblstr_001-out.mdl and it said
no appropriate import module found
then
improper file format



*edit* what do you meen by ascii .mdl

Lorden Darkblade
06-18-2004, 12:01 PM
YAHOOOOOOOO!!!!
I cant wait to see what will be able to do next!!
Congratz cchargin!
Keep up with the VERY VERY VERY VERY NICE WORK!!

Colma Adawin
06-18-2004, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by ReLoaD2K
YAHOOOOOOOO!!!!
I cant wait to see what will be able to do next!!
Congratz cchargin!
Keep up with the VERY VERY VERY VERY NICE WORK!!

i second that ReLoaD2K!!

well done bud!

MattCole

DarkLord Re\/an
06-18-2004, 10:17 PM
i found out my prob and fixed it... it seemed that i was importing it thru gmax not the plug in

kampher
06-19-2004, 12:58 AM
Do you guys think you can make full helmets now? or do we need something more?

RedHawke
06-19-2004, 01:33 AM
Originally posted by kampher
Do you guys think you can make full helmets now? or do we need something more?

Orsan has made a Boba-Fett helmet check out this thread;

Boba Fett Helmet (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=129998)

Or Download Here (http://kotormods.t-k.ru/mods/boba_helmet.htm)

It is a little big, most noticeable on a female PC, but it still is pretty cool! :D

I hope this helps!

TLM
06-19-2004, 10:55 AM
This thread ought to be stickied.

Darth_ToMeR
06-19-2004, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by TLM
This thread ought to be stickied. I don't think so... this is 0.0 version. When it will complete Admins should make that sticky

kampher
06-19-2004, 02:39 PM
I thought that helmet was just a re-skin of your pc head.

darth vandar
06-19-2004, 02:44 PM
i have a question is it possible tho make a helm that looks like darth mauls horns? cuz all the skins just has the horn painted
and it it cool on one way but a helm that give 3d horns would be greater :D

Lorden Darkblade
06-20-2004, 01:27 AM
Ok I dont want to be a pain I'm just curious about this, when do you think we will be completly able to import everything into the game?
Someone told me I dont remember who it is that another person is planning, when it is possible of course, to make Darth Revan's Cape animated. I dont know if it will be possible or no I'm just here curious on how this model importation is doing and if that animation thing willl be possible.

RedHawke
06-20-2004, 01:34 AM
Originally posted by ReLoaD2K
Ok I dont want to be a pain I'm just curious about this, when do you think we will be completly able to import everything into the game?
Someone told me I dont remember who it is that another person is planning, when it is possible of course, to make Darth Revan's Cape animated. I dont know if it will be possible or no I'm just here curious on how this model importation is doing and if that animation thing willl be possible.

Cchargin is working on it, these things take time.

And ReLoaD2K clean out your PM box will ya, or just PM me your email so I can send you the file you requested.

And Cchargin you gonna put the G-11 up for download, it just screams Heavy Repeating Blaster? :D

Nodakrattler
06-20-2004, 05:35 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
And Cchargin you gonna put the G-11 up for download, it just screams Heavy Repeating Blaster? :D

Yes it does! So pertty please with sugar on top will you put it up for download.

P.S. Not a very good idea to be surfing the net or forums after a night at the bar.

cchargin
06-20-2004, 07:16 PM
Hello all,

when do you think we will be completly able to import everything into the game?

Sadly, for "importing everything" I do not know if that will be possible.

Right now there are 2 main problems that are keeping me from coming out with the next version of import:
1) non quaternion animations
2) an unknown mesh type in light sabers

A while ago tk102 suggested that I try changing just the mesh of a model and leave the rest of it alone. I think I have enough information on the model structure to give this a try. This would allow for limited new light sabers and placeables. I am working on this idea now.

And Cchargin you gonna put the G-11 up for download
G11? What G11? I don't know what you are talking about.
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/G11.zip

Arlen Treesong
06-21-2004, 01:50 PM
Thanks for all your hard work bro. Time to bust out 3DMAX and get to work on what I'm good at lol. Texturing thoe, bleh thats the bane of me.