PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I join my own server?


seniorfrito
06-13-2004, 07:41 PM
Ok, I set up my server, fine. It displays on the internet. But I try and join it, and it won't work. It sits there saying awaiting game state or whatever forever. My server IP port is a negative. Which I don't think is right. Does it have to do with the port number? If so how do I change my server IP? Please help me out. I'm steps away from achieving my goal. Please help!

Amidala from Chop Shop
06-17-2004, 02:23 AM
Your client needs to use a different port. The server is using the default port (29070) so your client needs to use a different one. Make a shortcut to jamp.exe, then edit the target in properties to add

+set net_port 29071

to the command line after the closing quotation mark.

This is what I use for the target:

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe" +set net_port 29073 +set com_HunkMegs 128

seniorfrito
06-18-2004, 10:13 PM
Thank you. I will try that. I am actually at the moment running my server off one of my other computers, and I seem to be able to join the server. The port number is still really wierd, but I can live with it. What I can't live with is, I can't use any of the JA+ mod functions. I have JA+Mod v.2.0 and it doesn't work. If anyone has any advice on how I could do that, that would be great.

seniorfrito
06-19-2004, 12:07 AM
I don't know what I did, but I got it to work. I wasn't what you told me. All that you told me to do helped me to get my configuation settings to stay the same. Which was good. Everytime I joined JA I had to reset my controls and whatnot. Well I know that I can join and use all my powers as admin, but I don't know if anyone else can join yet. It was late at night when I got it working so no one was really on. I'll have to try again later to see if it works. Thanks though for getting my settings to work right though.