PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Modders


arabaristocrat
06-17-2004, 04:01 AM
Hi my name is Bryan, I go by A-Rab. I have been wanting to make mods for Kotor like new weapons and such, but I cannot model all I can do is make skins. Anyway basically I guess I am asking for people with ideas as far as models go post them here so I can skin them cuz I like skinning and would like to join a project, preferably an ambitious one where I can lend my services to the greater good of the Kotor 1 and soon Kotor 2 community.

T7nowhere
06-17-2004, 05:35 AM
Well so far the only models we can get in the game a simple ones (thanks to cchargin) (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=129555) like blasters, masks, vibro swords, Basicaly anything small and without animations.

A good way to start would be to take one of KotOR's exsisting weapons or items and reskin it and make it a unique item. There is more than enough info to help you get started.

Also you should get Kotor tool and read this Intro to modding KotOR with kotor tool. (http://www.map-review.com/index.php?page=tutorial_view&id=28)

After that you should read
Guide for the newbie: how to install mods. /What tools do I need to start modding? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=129789) and for more secifics check out this on modding KotOR check out this thread Do you Want to mod SW-KotOR? Then Start here. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=124284)

arabaristocrat
06-17-2004, 01:49 PM
I have a quick question, I started using GFF editor and was trying to edit 2 uti files that orsan made. The one for his Boba Fett Helmet and his Boba Fett Armor. All I want to do is change their description and name but have no clue how. I saw where it says Boba Fetts Armour in Kotor tool so I changed it to say Boba Fett's Armor but ingame its still Boba Fetts Armour. I also tried to change Boba Fett's Helmet which was named with some wierd letters like a bund of capital A's with wierd dots over them. But to no avail in game its still named with the A's. If someone could explain it would be appreciated.

deathdisco
06-17-2004, 05:13 PM
The description is in Russian. Thats why it displays with the alt characters. You need to have Russian fonts installed to display them properly.
As far as changing the description, in the GFF editor you'll want to to edit DescIdentified(for item description) and LocalizedName(item name).