PDA

View Full Version : Erm. . .


TheMadDoofer
06-21-2004, 08:19 PM
Is there any legal way to buy Sam and Max anymore, besides through the adventure volume (72$! AAA!)? I even looked on ebay - only Mac versions and PC version dealers who only sell to the UK!

This is my first time here, please don't hurt me or get mad at me for supporting lucasarts adventure games.

Udvarnoky
06-21-2004, 09:00 PM
It's available at the company store as part of the adventure collection (http://lucasarts.com/companystore/adventure/), which is 30 bucks. If you don't have DOTT or FOA it's a great deal.

And I've seen the U.S. PC version on eBay many times. I just checked and saw a few.

TheMadDoofer
06-21-2004, 09:05 PM
I don't have any of those! (New Adventure Fan) Thanks!:)

Udvarnoky
06-24-2004, 01:56 PM
Just to save you some time when you realize these games don't work on your computer. You'll most certainly need SCUMMVM (http://www.scummvm.org/) to play these game on any relatively new system.

TheMadDoofer
06-24-2004, 06:06 PM
I have another computer running Windows 95. Will they work on it?

It's old - 266 mhz.

AndrewL
06-25-2004, 01:27 AM
yea it will. they used to work on my old computer, very much like that one.

Samnmax221
06-25-2004, 01:04 PM
are you using this old computer presently?
Because if you are thats got to be a bit of a pain.

toenail1
06-25-2004, 09:50 PM
you dont need scummvm for sam and amx

play it the way its meant to be played with the updated .exe :)

Udvarnoky
06-25-2004, 10:49 PM
Windows 95 will likely run these games fine, but if they don't or if you want to run it on a new computer, SCUMMVM is what you want. Also, as has been pointed out, the new EXE (available at this site) will play Sam & Max flawlessly, and you may end up having to use that since I've had trouble with Sam & Max even with 95. Good luck!

TheMadDoofer
06-25-2004, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by Samnmax221
are you using this old computer presently?
Because if you are thats got to be a bit of a pain.

Naw, I have two - it's just an old one I keep around for older games. But my current one is becoming outdated:

1.4ghz
80gig HD
Gforce 2 Ultra
512 Mb of Ram

Thanks again for the help Udvarnoky.

Samnmax221
06-26-2004, 04:06 PM
I got one but its not working right now so I have to just use scuimmvm which works great anyway.

Udvarnoky
07-02-2004, 02:55 AM
TheMadDoofer, were you able to order the compilation? LucasArts just took it down from the store and I'm curious as to whether or not you were able to get it.

campincarl
07-02-2004, 07:04 AM
the link for the bundle with dott just redirects me to their main store :(

TheMadDoofer
07-03-2004, 01:26 PM
I hadn't ordered it yet, but now I know no to. :mad:
Stupid Lucasarts - I have to try ebay.