PDA

View Full Version : Realistically, when will the model be cracked?


Dr. Jekyll
06-27-2004, 03:56 PM
I know several people ore working hard on this, and I'm not trying to insult anybody here, but how close are they really, and when do they think they will be done? Once the model is completely cracked, what limitations will there still be for modders?

StormTrooper789
06-27-2004, 06:18 PM
Who knows? We'll just have to wait. :(

Darth_ToMeR
06-27-2004, 06:41 PM
For now we can just make models without animation.

cchargin
06-27-2004, 07:05 PM
Hello all,

I know several people ore working hard on this
Well, for extract and import, it is just me. I get lots of excellent feedback from Holowan users who are using my scripts, and great input from other coders (Fred Tetra and tk102), but as far as I know I am the only one working on the model format. If you know someone else who is working on it hook us up! Any help would be greatly appreciated! I really need someone who understands the inner workings of max/gmax or an expert in 3D modelling theory.

but how close are they really
You can see my progress at:
http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/index.html

and when do they think they will be done?
The more help I get, the sooner it will be completed.

Once the model is completely cracked, what limitations will there still be for modders?
Short answer: tools. With the exception of kotor tool and tk102 utilities all the other tools in use are NWN tools hacked to work with kotor. NWMax does not appear to support all of the "node types" that I see in kotor. But if I get help and we figure out what the nodes type are maybe we can get them added to NWMax (I am talking with the creator of NWMax on other issues)

*Atris*
06-29-2004, 02:50 PM
hi when you create a model how do you save it so that you can import it?

cchargin
06-29-2004, 10:05 PM
Hello all,
hi when you create a model how do you save it so that you can import it?
Check this thread:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=129555

Post #14 has all the things you will need to mess with models. Oh, the import script comes with a tutorial "model tutorial.txt" please read it.

I should also mention that anyone who hasn't updated NWMax in a while should grab the latest version. It can import models with skin mesh really fast now!

Weiser_Cain
06-30-2004, 02:22 AM
Problem. I don't use Gmax. So I get stuck at model step 17. Help me. Sleepy.

Orsan
06-30-2004, 11:51 AM
Originally posted by Weiser_Cain
Problem. I don't use Gmax. So I get stuck at model step 17. Help me. Sleepy.
The nwmax script for gmax is suit for 3DS Max too. (if you use 3DS Max.) If you use another programm, i don't know

Weiser_Cain
06-30-2004, 11:35 PM
I use max 6.
nwsnoop is apparently the program I'm missing. I have the NWmax script but it doesn't seem to even export for me.
I'd prefer a export script that worked from within max, actually I'd love it if cchargin made a script that exported directly to KOTOR mdl from within max.

svösh
07-01-2004, 12:36 AM
Weiser_Cain Nwsnoop does not run in the system tray with 3dsmax. The nwnwmax v07 plugin is integrated in 3ds max 6 but it works I can’t get model out of gamx but 3ds max worked for me. You have to check the compile model check box and you have to click the aurora base to get the option to export everything has to be specificly named as the imported model or it will never export right. Then convert with import 00 to get it game ready :) and rename the mdl-b and mdx -b to mdl and mdx cross your fingers and fire up the game and hope it doesn't crash ;)

svösh

Orsan
07-01-2004, 12:38 AM
I use max 6. nwsnoop is apparently the program I'm missing. I have the NWmax script but it doesn't seem to even export for me. I'd prefer a export script that worked from within max, actually I'd love it if cchargin made a script that exported directly to KOTOR mdl from within max.
You don't understand me:)
1. Go on this (http://nwmax.dladventures.com/) site.
2. Download there a NWmax 0.7 GMAX Installer file.
3. Istall it into your 3dsmax directory.
4. Go on 3dsmax/scripts/NWmax directory.
5. Run nwmax.exe
6. After that you should see a nwmax icon in your system tray.

cchargin
07-01-2004, 12:50 AM
Hello all,

I use max 6.

There are 2 versions of NWMax. 1 for gmax and 1 for max 6. I don't have max 6 (I wish I could afford that), so I can't help much with it. If I recall though, max 6 does not require nwsnoop. Gmax is designed to not let you export, and nwsnoop is a hack for that. In max 6 you should just be able to use File->export.

I'd love it if cchargin made a script that exported directly to KOTOR mdl from within max.
You want me to learn ANOTHER language!?!?!? Geez, I just started learning Perl a couple of months before I started this model cracking stuff! Too... Many... Programming... Languages... In... My... Head... <BOOM>

But seriously, I do not know max script. As long as NWMax is around and is maintained (which it is) it will have to do. NWMax with gmax and max 6 can import and export NWN ascii MDL files, I am just not sure where the export option is located in max 6. If you figure it out, let me know and I will add your info to the tutorial and give you credit in the readme.