PDA

View Full Version : Help in dreamweaver


RpTheHotrod
06-28-2004, 08:30 AM
I have an index page and a lil spot to type stuff in. However, I want to make a frame in that spot, so I can type stuff in main.htm and it show up in the middle spot of index.htm

I know how in frontpage.....click the spot....insert frame, then drag the frame where you want....then set the page you want the frame to show.....but how do you do this in dreamweaver???

Pad
06-28-2004, 11:36 AM
You want my advice on dreamweaver? Ditch it! Use notepad with some php <php include file>

MennoniteHobbit
06-28-2004, 12:21 PM
Notepad is for men! Dreamweaver's for snobs!

PHP goes like this:

<?php

[insert code here]

?>

Otherwise I advise you try XHTML- HTML fixed up to be cross-browser compatible, most of the time. www.w3schools.com is a good place to start.

Anyways, you can do a framed index in Notepad; here's the code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

<html>
<head>
<title> insert title here</title>
</head>
<frameset cols=" 20%, 80%">
<frame src=" navbar.html" name=" navbar">
<frame src=" main.html" name =" main">
</frameset>
<noframes>
<p> Sorry, but the page you are trying to view contains frames. Please get a new Internet browser. Apparently the one you are currently using does not work. Thank you, but sorry for this inconvenience.</p>

<p>Though, you can view the non-frames site <a href="http://www.yoursite.com/noframes.html">here.</a></p>
</noframes>

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

function SymError()
{
return true;
}

window.onerror = SymError;

var SymRealWinOpen = window.open;

function SymWinOpen(url, name, attributes)
{
return (new Object());
}

window.open = SymWinOpen;

//-->
</script>

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

window.open = SymRealWinOpen;

//-->
</script>


<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

window.open = SymRealWinOpen;

//-->
</script>

</body>

</html>

And of course you can adjust the percentage values of each frame. Note that this code is not XHTML compliant, but you can make it by substituting the name attributes into "id".

Hope this helps. :)

RoxStar
06-28-2004, 12:27 PM
PHP is so awesome. Its also fairly easy to learn.

coupes.
06-28-2004, 12:36 PM
I didn't quite catch what you were saying there Rp, you simply want a frame in the middle of your index page ?

In any case... to visually create frames in dreamweaver, go to the 'view' menu, then select 'visual aids' and 'frame borders'. Then you can drag the borders of your frame where you want. then press Shift+f2 so you open the frames palette... and make sure the properties palette is open (Shift+f3). Select the frame in the frames palette and change their properties in the properties palette. You can also modify the size of the frames by clicking the borders and checking the properties palette once more. Or you could simply go in the code mode and chamge it manually.

To you can add a frame by going to 'insert' > 'frames' > whatever you want. Then to select a page for your frames, go to 'file' > 'open in frame (Ctrl+Shift+O)' and select you page.

Still, I personally prefer not to use frames because ther's usually a better solution. If I didn't have a choice, I would do it manually, you could still do it in dreamweaver (in code mode) and see the result instantly (in the visual mode). Hope this helps.

Rad Blackrose
06-28-2004, 12:38 PM
I think he might be asking for a floating frame...

coupes.
06-28-2004, 12:44 PM
in that case it's pretty simple :

<iframe>...</iframe>
src (url of frame content)
name (name of frame)
longdesc (link to long description)
width (frame width)
height (frame height)
align [ top | middle | bottom | left | right ] (frame alignment)
frameborder [ 1 | 0 ] (frame border)
marginwidth (margin width)
marginheight (margin height)
scrolling [ yes | no | auto ] (ability to scroll)

this is not compatible with all browsers.

Troopr-Undr-Fir
06-28-2004, 12:52 PM
Well if you have dream weaver in the first place, I don't think you should need help. Because that is like a $500 program.

But who needs that when you can do it easily from notepad. *thug rap music plays in background* yeah I know, noice ;)

Anyways, I'm not familiar with dreamweaver so I wouldn't know how to make them "float", hell I would have to figure out how to make them "float" in notepad first :rolleyes:

MennoniteHobbit
06-28-2004, 01:14 PM
Originally posted by .:CoupeS:.
in that case it's pretty simple :

...
src (url of frame content)
name (name of frame)
longdesc (link to long description)
width (frame width)
height (frame height)
align [ top | middle | bottom | left | right ] (frame alignment)
frameborder [ 1 | 0 ] (frame border)
marginwidth (margin width)
marginheight (margin height)
scrolling [ yes | no | auto ] (ability to scroll)

this is not compatible with all browsers.

Err I think iframes are compatible in FireFox, then again I'm not so sure. But the frame cols source I used works all the time IIRC.

--ZeeMan--
06-28-2004, 01:32 PM
lol my honest opinion don't use frames cus some browsers dont' pick them up very well and sometimes they aren't seen exactly how you want them. and as you're noticing, they are hard to put into place. i'd suggest a table that's centered.

Jed
06-28-2004, 05:05 PM
Anyone else think you should give the man the advice he's seeking instead of forcefeeding him PHP?

Sorry Rp, I've got Dreamweaver, but I never use frames :\

RpTheHotrod
06-28-2004, 06:55 PM
Lemme re-phrase then



I know NOTHING of PHP


On my page...there is a cell in the middle of the page. However, if I type in it, the cell just gets longer. I want it to be scrollable so it stays in it's size in the middle of the page. How?

coupes.
06-28-2004, 07:23 PM
I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but here it is anyways :


<iframe src="main.html" width="400" height="300>
this appears if iframes are not supported
</iframe>

put this in your index page and make sure the link to your page main.html is correct. Put the dimensions you want and slap the iframe anywhere you want in your page. Then again, iframes are not compatible with older browsers so if that's an issue for you, you should go for another solution. Refer to my previous post for other iframes attributes.

RpTheHotrod
06-28-2004, 07:34 PM
Can someone just contact me in AIM and make my cell scrollable? :/

RpTheHotrod

coupes.
06-28-2004, 07:39 PM
you can't make a cell scrollable. Only a frame can have a scroll.

RpTheHotrod
06-28-2004, 08:02 PM
Next question then.

Can you make an embed src="blah.mp3" file AUTO-repeat?

ie...the song ends and it just stops.....can I make it autorepeat?

Pad
06-29-2004, 06:11 AM
<bgsound src="..." loop="-1">
Where the -1 stands for repeating it over and over again.

MennoniteHobbit
06-29-2004, 12:54 PM
Oh sorry, I had Dreamweaver 3 one-two years ago. It was a competent HTML editor, but it was a 30-day trial version. So I couldn't answer your question.

I think what Pad said was right, but then again, wouldn't it be 1? Oh well, I'll have to brush up on DHTML and embedded stuff code.

Rad Blackrose
06-29-2004, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by Pad
<bgsound src="..." loop="-1">
Where the -1 stands for repeating it over and over again.

Actually, the code also recognizes loop="infinite", but I don't see a difference.