PDA

View Full Version : portraits?


darth vandar
06-28-2004, 03:57 PM
how do i make new portraits if anyoneknow plz relpy:)

Darth333
06-28-2004, 04:11 PM
Could you be more specific about what you want to do?

1. simply change the appearance and/or head of an npc for that of another npc that exits in the game

2. Retexturing

3. Making a new portrait for the party selection table

4. None of the above :D

darth vandar
06-28-2004, 04:16 PM
number 3

Darth333
06-28-2004, 05:34 PM
Take a screenshot of your new npc, make a 64 or 256 pixels square, per example and save at 32 bits. Check this thread for a state of the art explanation: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=128548&highlight=sv%F6sh.

Save your image as po_blahblah.tga

Then, go to the portrait.2da file and add a new row:
In the baseref column, type the name of your .tga file (po_blahblah) without the extension. Then, in the "appearance number", "appearance_f" and "appearance_s" colums, enter the row number of the appearance.2da file corresponding to the appearance of your npc. Race, normally it's 6 but check the "Race" field in your npc's .utc file just in case.
Save and close (before saving, just click on another row you'll loose your new row). Check the portrait.2da file in one of my recruitable mods to see how it's done.

Finally, open the utc file with GFF editor and in the field entitled portraitID, add the number of the row you just added to the portrait.2da file (per example 41).

Hope this helps :)

Mono_Giganto
06-29-2004, 08:33 PM
Hey will that just replace one of the existing ones? Or does it add a new one? o.O That would be pretty neat.

Darth333
06-29-2004, 10:05 PM
You can add as many portraits as you wish to the portraits.2da file but you cannot have more than 9 party members in total: the number of available slots is hardcoded. In order to add a new party member, you have to remove one.