PDA

View Full Version : Jedi Robes


Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 02:28 PM
I'm trying to retexture some Jedi Robes but I'm having problems.
Actually I'm only having one problem, I dont know how to do the shadows they have. The black things that pass all over it u know what I mean?
Anyone know an effective way to make those?
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

Darth Khasei
07-01-2004, 03:41 PM
Check out the ones at the bottom page.Darth Khasei's retextures (http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com/kotor1)

Colma Adawin
07-01-2004, 03:51 PM
Originally posted by Darth Khasei
Darth Khasei's retextures (http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com/kotor1)

i know this has nowt to do wit the topic but i must congratulate him. Hey Darth Khasei, your force powers are sweet, i've just got the three new ones!! :D and about that spawn fighters mod, i'm really interested in this one, wheres the link to download, or hasnt it come out yet becoz you made it sound as if you had released it.

again SWEET STUFF. MattCole

Mav
07-01-2004, 04:04 PM
the spawn fighter mod comes with the Force Powers mod all the spawn fighters are in the friendly force power menu, the one at the bottom left of your screen

Colma Adawin
07-01-2004, 04:16 PM
thanx i got it working!!! they are amazing Darth Khasei. i see you managed to turn them into offencive force powers (used in the RED menu) not self powers. (BLUE menu) loved killing all the different races. to anyone this is a MUST!!

MattCole

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 04:39 PM
Originally posted by Darth Khasei
Check out the ones at the bottom page.Darth Khasei's retextures (http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com/kotor1)

Those ones dont have the shadows.
I mean when you get the original Jedi Robe of the game it has alot of those dark brown things. Shadows right?
Anyway, I wanna learn to do those.

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

Darth Khasei
07-01-2004, 04:51 PM
Hey Matt! Glad you are finding the powers useful. I had a ball making them and getting them out to you guys.

Reload, do you have a picture of a robe that shows what you mean?

Hey Mav:cool:

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 05:12 PM
Exactly what are you skinning?

If you're recoloring, the easiest way is to select the area you want to color, and adjust the hue/saturation (Photoshop).

This way you get to keep the shadows.

:)

Mono_Giganto
07-01-2004, 05:16 PM
Actually, I thought of a way. Select airbrush. Next, set the density/transparencey or whatever of the brush strokes to 50%, then brush over the in-need-of-shadows areas with a black-gray color. Hope this helps. :)

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 05:24 PM
I dont know how to do neither of those ways.
Could you guys give a more detailed explanation?
I'm not very good at PhotoShop either :/ (lets face I'm not good at nothing :( )
Both ways sounds good and if possible I wanna learn them.
I never saw that airbrush in my PhotoShop.
I have the PhotoShop CS.

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

Mono_Giganto
07-01-2004, 05:26 PM
Well I'm weird and I have paint shop pro 7, so I can't do much beyond there, sorry.

I'm not good at nothing

So, if you know you're grammar, technically you ARE good at something! Go you! Ya some people just need a little encouragement... Yep...

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 05:32 PM
Hehehe.
Thanks Mono_Giganto :D
Anyone knows whats that "airbrush" in the PhotoShop CS?
Anything similar to it or better in the PS CS?

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 06:44 PM
I have Photoshop CS, so maybe I can help.

To change the hue/saturation, go to Image\Adjustments\Hue/Saturation.

Here you can fiddle with the colors, make sure that "colorize" is checked if you are coloring something grey, white or black.

About the airbrush:
I don't use this method myself, but I think this is how you do it.

First select the brush tool by pressing b or clicking on the icon.
Then click the "Enable airbrush capabilities" icon at the top
(I'm not sure what this does, but click it if you want ;)).
Then just change the opacity to something low like 30%.

Paint away!

/Temp

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 07:04 PM
I tryied... But guess what?! I'm not good enough...
I tryied to make one but it looked like S**T :(
Well thanks for the ones that helped me here.

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 07:11 PM
Hey, don't give up yet! :)

Tell me what kind of skin you want to make and I'll try to do a step-for step for ya.:D

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 07:21 PM
I dont wanna give you the trouble, well what I only really wanna learn to do are those things in the model that create the shadows and stuff.
I'll post here a link to a screen shot showing what I wanna learn.

These!! (http://img31.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img31&image=PMBI01.jpg)

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 07:51 PM
It's no trouble, I like helping people. :angel:

I made a quick picture tutorial for recoloring.

First, select the area you want to color.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v291/TemporaryTomato/SelectArea.jpg

Then, go to Images\Adjustments\Hue/Saturation.
Change the color to your liking.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v291/TemporaryTomato/Colorize.jpg

When you are done with coloring one area, press ctrl+d to deselect.

Now you can either continue recoloring other areas(the pants or boots for example) or save your work.

There, all the shadows are still there, no need to paint them on! :)

I hope this helps.

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 08:01 PM
That I found out how to do.
But I'm not only trying to change colors here mate.
I really wanna know how to make those shadows, so I can make my own textures one day.

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 08:21 PM
Your own textures... Hm.

Actually painting the shadows yourself would be a major pain in the ass, and REALLY hard to get right.

Here's one thing you can do:


First make/find the texture you want on the skin.
Resize it to a good size.
Copy it and paste it into the skin.

This should have made a new layer with only the texture on it.

Here you can paste more copies of the texture or add other ones and align them so that they cover the area you want.

Then change the layer opacity to about 30-50% so that you can see both the skin and the texture.

Use the lasso tool to remove the extra parts from the texture layer so that it fits properly on the skin.
Then fiddle a bit with the opacity again to get the right look.

This is a really quick camo that I made this way, it looks decent to me.
http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v291/TemporaryTomato/Transparent.jpg

Happy now? :p

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 08:32 PM
Nevermind mate, I'll try to do it alone.

TemporaryTomato
07-01-2004, 08:46 PM
Um, okay...

But I don't understand what you're making if those techniques don't work...

:confused:

Lorden Darkblade
07-01-2004, 08:58 PM
Like I said before all I wanna learn is how to make those shadows.
Nothing more nothing less.
So then when I'm making my own textures I create shadows on my own. Thats all.

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

wingzro
07-01-2004, 09:33 PM
basically in order to make those "shadows" in your redrawn robes is to redraw the shadows. best way is if you have any experience with drawing. just look at how clothing wrinkles/folds/bends/etc. and place shadow areas to give depth to it, creating the illusion of a shadow.

everything in kotor is basically flat, it's just that the textures are drawn in a way to look like there is depth to them. example would be some wall with holes, from a distance it looks like it dents into the wall, but up close it's all flat.

just visualize how the robe would look on the character and draw as such. use the airbrush/paintbrush tool with the tool opacity set to around 50% and brush on your details. use different sized brushes accordingly. it's not hard to do, as long as you have some knowledge as to how kotor skins its models with the textures and what it is you want.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v280/wingzro/kotor/before.jpg
http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v280/wingzro/kotor/after.jpg

Darth Khasei
07-02-2004, 06:28 AM
I have always found the clone brush very useful as I am artistically challenged:D

Rivahl
07-02-2004, 11:17 PM
This isn't very complicated, and they've told how to do it like... ten times over. The shadows are black. Either use a black brush and vary the opacity, rig the fill tool to decrease in opacity as it backs up, or use the Hue/Saturation.

-riv.

Mono_Giganto
07-03-2004, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by ReLoaD2K
Like I said before all I wanna learn is how to make those shadows.
Nothing more nothing less.
So then when I'm making my own textures I create shadows on my own. Thats all.

Thanks in advance,
ReLoaD2K

You can still use his idea ReLoaD. First, open up MS Paint or Photoshop or whatever, and make your texture there, fill the canvas, do whatever you want, just create some kind of a texture. Then do what Tomato said about pasting on the texture, 50% opacity and the rest. If you do that you should never need to make shadows.