PDA

View Full Version : The Chronicles of Groovy's Internet Connections


Darth Groovy
07-04-2004, 05:51 AM
Yesterday around 3am my high speed internet crapped out. Nothing strange, happens about 2-3 times a week in this house. The problem usually gets resolved, by unplugging the router and modem for a while, then plugging them back in. Today that didn't solve the problem. After a lengthy tech support call, my dad discovered it was our router. So I went an got a new one, ran through the instillation disc....nothing. Then my sister informed me, that we don't use a router, we use a switch.....thanks for the info....

I don't have another switch, don't know where to get one, so i'm using dial up for now...and that sucks...

Anyways, I won't be quite as active until I get this problem solved, and in this house it could take years....seriously.

I won't be posting in here much, because LF is one of those things that loads WAAAAAAAAY too slow on a 56k connection, and I just don't have the time to spare.

Hopefully I won't be gone long, but if I am, Jed, Obi, or one of the other supermods/admin will have to take care of your needs and concerns.

Until then, take care. Don't miss me too much. ;)

El Sitherino
07-04-2004, 05:59 AM
awwww, cya. :(

Astrotoy7
07-04-2004, 06:34 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
....I won't be posting in here much, because LF is one of those things that loads WAAAAAAAAY too slow on a 56k connection, and I just don't have the time to spare.

Until then, take care. Don't miss me too much. ;)

oh, excuse us paupers who have to live with dialup. I dont find any probs, unless youre trying to get huge images up(like when ppl post their desktops), and IGs extravagant sigs(like he has done for mike and bremen).... apart from that I dont see what the big deal is....

ass for the miss you part..... he he he ...

*wipes crocodile tears from eyes* :p

mtfbwya

Black Knight of Keno
07-04-2004, 06:43 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
...Jed, Obi, or one of the other supermods/admin will have to take care of your needs...

Now thats just nasty...

Well, hope ye' get the problem fixed. We know you will miss us. We wont' miss you thought...

El Sitherino
07-04-2004, 07:03 AM
I know what groovy means, broadband is like crack, you get it and it's good, you lose it and you start to get the shakes and you foam from the mouth. And you start to touch yourself, and not in the fun way.

Tyrion
07-04-2004, 07:36 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
Hopefully I won't be gone long, but if I am, Jed, Obi, or one of the other supermods/admin will have to take care of your needs and concerns.

You are a saddistic bastard.

Hope you can get a new router soon. I'm getting kinda the same problem, my internet craps out every few weeks for a week(lucky me, this was the week...) and so it's uber slow, I can't play ANY games at all(it's not light ~150 ping, that I can handle ok. It's jumping between 100 and 500..:(). And I have a switich too...o.O

Sabretooth
07-04-2004, 07:55 AM
Good, so no thread-closing for a while!

*reads last sentence*

Aw, darn!

Anyways, when you return, be sure to post a grand I'm BACK thread with tons of strippers!

MennoniteHobbit
07-04-2004, 03:12 PM
I won't be posting in here much, because LF is one of those things that loads WAAAAAAAAY too slow on a 56k connection, and I just don't have the time to spare.

I've pretty much ALWAYS posted and viewed LF with a dial up connection, except when I happen to have free time at the computer in school. If you disable sigs, then it saves page loading time.

So stop yer whining! :xp: I've always had dial up...

IG-64
07-04-2004, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by InsaneSith
I know what groovy means, broadband is like crack, you get it and it's good, you lose it and you start to get the shakes and you foam from the mouth. And you start to touch yourself, and not in the fun way.

:lol:

exactly

Jed
07-04-2004, 06:33 PM
See ya 'round, Grooves.

*gets out whip and lashes several forumers*

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

El Sitherino
07-04-2004, 10:38 PM
Originally posted by Jed
See ya 'round, Grooves.

*gets out whip and lashes several forumers*

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! Thank you sir, may I have another?

Jed
07-05-2004, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by InsaneSith
Thank you sir, may I have another?

But of course!

*beats Sith like a redheaded stepchild*

El Sitherino
07-05-2004, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by Jed
But of course!

*beats Sith like a redheaded stepchild* :eek: MY FANTASY HAS BEEN COMEDED TRUE!!!

Treacherous Mercenary
07-05-2004, 12:44 AM
:o Damnit, we need you back for some CoD soon! Hopefully you can find a new router/switch soon?

Darth Groovy
07-07-2004, 01:15 AM
Ok, did some extensive trouble shooting today, even went so far as to investigate other connection options. Such as dsl, but the upload is a downfall, that would effect my web design education. Also called Comcast and found out that they only home network with wireless connections, which we do not need or want, plust that costs about $200 which we just can't and do NOT want to spend.

Here is a break down. Our wiring is fine. The cable modem is fine. The computers are talking to each other...fine. The computers would talk to the router, but the router does not recognize the internet. The switch is toast. Even though all the lights are green, nothing works.

So after failure to get the router to work, I took it back to Circuit City. I did some investigating on newegg.com, and found a 5 port switch for 34.99. Not QUITE sure if this is what I need, or even if this will make it work. Bestbuy.com had the same switch for 26.99: clickie here (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1051384141038&skuId=3697306&type=product)

So I don't know if this will fix the problem. Have any of you worked with a switch vs a router? Do I need to do anything special other than just plug it iin? Will this fix my problem? Best Buy has a crappy return policy, and I don't want to be up all damn night yelling at the thing if it doesn't work. Any help here would be great.

I miss my CoD buddies in clan [echo], UT2K4, and I can't play XBOX Live. I just got NHL 2K3 today, and was all exited, but forgot I have no broadband connection. This is just terrible.... :cry7:

Troopr-Undr-Fir
07-07-2004, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
Best Buy has a crappy return policy, and I don't want to be up all damn night yelling at the thing if it doesn't work. Any help here would be great.

Yes, yes we do :(

As for your question, does your ISP make house calls?

I'd try that before I buy the router, specily if it was from us >_>

BUt hey, don't listen to me, I'm still stuck in the stone age. NOt by choice mind you...

Mike Windu
07-07-2004, 02:05 AM
Bye groovy... hope you come back soon... the insults to your clothing will ring hollow without you :xp:

Darth Groovy
07-07-2004, 02:07 AM
They DO make house calls but they cost plenty, and there is no guarantee that they will resolve the problem. The salesman on the phone told me that all they will do is install everything wireless and charge me $200. Niether my dad, nor myself are going to go for that. Ever.

Troopr-Undr-Fir
07-07-2004, 02:21 AM
Well that sucks you gotta pay, you are the customer, they should try to do everything in their power to keep you with them.

Poor conglomorate bastards. Well maybe that's an oxymoron

Hmm I wish I knew how to help you, but if I knew I would also be very happy, because I would have one too :emodanc:

Mike Windu
07-07-2004, 02:27 AM
Maybe you should try getting a new isp... they might be able to fix it on the install process.

Darth Groovy
07-07-2004, 04:05 AM
If getting a new ISP was an option I would have done it years ago. Unfortunately at the time of install, AT&T was our ISP, then Comcast bought them out, and it's been pure monopoly style hell ever since. If I want broadband, they are the ONLY provider in the area.

CapNColostomy
07-07-2004, 04:36 AM
Well, I hope you get it all sorted out, and make your return (have you actually left? :D ) soon. Some of the staff here are...Some are alright. Some are just pretty cool. Not trying to brown-nose, but you fall into the cool part. You Al Jourgensen fan, you. So get yer ass back with the quickness.

Darth Groovy
07-07-2004, 05:27 AM
Well for me to post only 4 or 5 a day, is like not being here at all. I miss my gaming, and my web clicking. I miss my overall geekdom.

Kain
07-07-2004, 05:27 AM
Your leave of absense hasn't made you...oh whats the word..?...absent, now has it?

:p


Expand your Imagi-Nation

Crow_Nest
07-07-2004, 05:54 AM
Dial up isnt so bad once you get used to it you know? :)

Darth Groovy
07-07-2004, 07:40 AM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
Dial up isnt so bad once you get used to it you know? :)

:rolleyes:

http://www.themanipulation.com/images/bsflag.gif

Hell if it isn't.

Sure I started up on dial up. But then I had broadband. Pages that loaded for me in seconds, now take several minutes. WTH are you smokin'? Had I never HAD broadband I probably wouldn't miss it so much, but now that I had it for a fewl years, and now it's gone....screw dial up man... Jeezum Crow! :eek:

Ray Jones
07-07-2004, 05:10 PM
it's kind of easy to get used to it if you have dial up at home and dsl at work. . .. or like that..

:)

Mike Windu
07-07-2004, 05:16 PM
hahaha... I have the worst dial up ever... wally world internet :xp:


It's cheap though, so I don't mind too much...

ET Warrior
07-07-2004, 06:09 PM
Well, I have a switch that I use to connect Xbox's for LAN games, and it works well, but I dont know how it would compare to a router for networking your computers to the internet, so I'm no help.


Dial-up is evil. Pure evil.

Ray Jones
07-07-2004, 06:37 PM
muhaha. haha. mu. ha.

i remember the old bbs times with 9600 conntections and more then 14400 wasnt allowed.


*sigh*

:D

ET Warrior
07-07-2004, 07:14 PM
Originally posted by RayJones
i remember the old bbs times with 9600 conntections and more then 14400 wasnt allowed.

Quiet down old man!

Mike Windu
07-07-2004, 09:42 PM
Mighty shame that is *nods head*

But you'll get used to the 56k soon Groovy... you'll come to accept it as your only source of internet.

Kain
07-07-2004, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by RayJones
muhaha. haha. mu. ha.

i remember the old bbs times with 9600 conntections and more then 14400 wasnt allowed.:D

The horror...THE HORROR!! NEVER SPEAK OF THAT AGAIN!!


Expand your Imagi-Nation

Darth Groovy
07-08-2004, 01:22 AM
Well as of now I am using broadband again. However the problem is only partially solved.

My computer will work, but not my dad's computer. Now could it be where I have it connected? Does it matter what port I have the computers connected too? Or do I have to do something in Windows to get it working again?

Any help again is appreciated.


PS, curse all of you in this thread that expect me to "get used to dial-up". That is just plain mean! :xp:

obi
07-08-2004, 09:07 AM
But dial-up isn't so bad when you have Juno Speedband.

It rocks. (most of the time, anyway)

Astrotoy7
07-08-2004, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
Well as of now I am using broadband again.

great, does that mean you're gonna be back full time now...... bugger :(

:p

mtfbwya

Captain Wilson
07-09-2004, 05:47 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
Yesterday around 3am my high speed internet crapped out. Nothing strange, happens about 2-3 times a week in this house. The problem usually gets resolved, by unplugging the router and modem for a while, then plugging them back in.

I to have this problem. Most odd. Neway gd to hear you got the probby fixed

Darth Groovy
07-09-2004, 06:20 AM
Right now I have no broadband, because there is an outage in my area. I am supposed to call them if the probem is not resolved withing 24 hours. The problem with this is that my dad and I both work screwy hours, and connot solve our problem when service is not even available. As of now I am posting this on dial up, which I have decided to keep as a contingency, because frankly, comcast is the worst company ever. I will update you all, when updates happen. Don't care what any of you say, dial up is crap once you have got used to broadband. :(

Mike Windu
07-09-2004, 02:43 PM
Hahaha, I'll be just like you in a couple years, foaming at the mouth when I have to leave my college high speed internet and go back home to wal mart connect :xp:

Till then, ahh... the luxury of not tasting broadband and being dissappointed at 56k :)

Kain
07-09-2004, 04:18 PM
I thought you were going to be absent! Right now I'm seeing more Groovy then I usually do, and you're not supposed to be here! BUGGER OFF!!

Just kiddin man...or am I?*DUN DUN DUUUUUUUUUUUUN*


Expand your Imagi-Nation

Darth Groovy
07-10-2004, 07:58 PM
Well:

Yesterday, the broadband came back up, but only my Dad's PC was working, and not mine.

Today my pc works, but not my dad's.

Why does this thread feel like a "dear diary" type thing?!:eek:

KBell
07-10-2004, 08:00 PM
so.........is CoD working? :D

Darth Groovy
07-10-2004, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by KBell
so.........is CoD working? :D

I have two birthdays to celebrate today, then we are going out for chinese food, and going to see spider-man 2, as soon as I'm home...sure! :D

Tyrion
07-10-2004, 09:48 PM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
I have two birthdays to celebrate today, then we are going out for chinese food, and going to see spider-man 2, as soon as I'm home...sure! :D

Pm me when you guys are about too, ready to have another CoD match(missed my clan's match today, haven't been able to play in one for two weeks due to crappy internet. :()

Darth Groovy
07-12-2004, 04:17 AM
Originally posted by Tyrion
Pm me when you guys are about too, ready to have another CoD match(missed my clan's match today, haven't been able to play in one for two weeks due to crappy internet. :()

I'm thinking maybe Tuesday because I don't work, and Monday if i'm not too tired.

KBell
07-12-2004, 04:39 AM
Both sound great to me :D

Treacherous Mercenary
07-12-2004, 06:47 AM
*Makes a note to be around Monday and/or Tuesday possibly.*

Errmm... I don't like to make gurantees, so don't make anything I say official ever! :o

Darth Groovy
07-12-2004, 08:54 AM
Originally posted by The Silent One
*Makes a note to be around Monday and/or Tuesday possibly.*

Errmm... I don't like to make gurantees, so don't make anything I say official ever! :o

I never did. :p

I'm only messing with you, and yes, I owe you a few rounds of CoD. ;)