PDA

View Full Version : noob needs help


demo-boy
07-07-2004, 08:54 PM
i just got mod view dono what to do my friend bael said post but i want to reskin a model how do i do it and modview don't work work??????:confused:

CortoCG
07-07-2004, 11:42 PM
Oh God. Let me see I understand you. You wanna reskin a model and use ModView to preview your progress from time to time, right?

Do you have Jedi Academy yet? Then create a c:\base\models\players folder. Drop there the /models/players/_humanoid folder and all it's contents (you'll find it @ the assets1.pk3 file), also drop there any model you wanna reskin. Open the .glm file with ModView and the textures with a proper image editing program.

demo-boy
07-08-2004, 12:09 PM
um the first one? texture how do you get thoose?
:confused:

CortoCG
07-08-2004, 12:37 PM
Do you know what reskin is?

demo-boy
07-08-2004, 02:26 PM
no

CortoCG
07-08-2004, 03:55 PM
Then where exactly do you wanna get? Reskin is to paint again a textured model, change how the model looks, not the shape of it.

90SK
07-29-2004, 07:09 PM
Glad to see someone is having success with modview. Every time I try to use it something is wrong! First it was the "exceeds MAX_QPATH" bug. I managed to find a way to deal with it. Next It says "Missing animations in models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid" And as a bonus, it often comes up with "Filesystem call made without authorization". WHAT THE F*** IS WRONG??????? Can someone help me?:confused: :mad: :confused:

HapSlash
07-30-2004, 05:23 PM
Have you tried looking through any tutorials,...

You can also try looking through other people's 'help' threads to see if your answer is there.

PR-0927
07-30-2004, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by CaptainSkye
Glad to see someone is having success with modview. Every time I try to use it something is wrong! First it was the "exceeds MAX_QPATH" bug. I managed to find a way to deal with it. Next It says "Missing animations in models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid" And as a bonus, it often comes up with "Filesystem call made without authorization". WHAT THE F*** IS WRONG??????? Can someone help me?:confused: :mad: :confused:


The MAX_QPATH thing happened to me too. You must be opening files from a folder, like C:/Base/models/players/(player model folder)/model.glm. Or, you could have those files in your base folder of JA.

:fett:

demo
08-09-2004, 10:05 PM
well i got my reskin done but now i wana make it to be able to be a bot too do i need program or sumthing? (note i lost my old account)

bael1
08-12-2004, 04:26 AM
dunno if this is allowed lol, but this is wat i do demo, just rename a bot file u already have to ur skins name, then open the botfile an find anywhere it says the old bot file name an put ur skins name there, u can also edit the things they say in game at the bottom, the save it, good luck mate:)

90SK
08-15-2004, 01:58 AM
lol thats what I do;)

Seifer402
08-21-2004, 11:34 AM
what program would you sugest for editing textures?:confused:

90SK
08-21-2004, 03:04 PM
Most people use photoshop, but I use The Gimp. Its free, and it works just as good (I think). You can download gimp at gimp.com

Seifer402
08-21-2004, 05:00 PM
ok thanks, can you say any good tutorials too plz? im totally new to skinning/ moddeling so any help is appreciated, tnx:D (:jawa jawa power)

90SK
08-24-2004, 12:32 AM
for gimp, its pretty easy to learn (at least for me it was). Just explore and test. For photoshop, I have no idea. Good luck!

Seifer402
08-24-2004, 07:51 AM
ok then, thanks man

bael1
08-25-2004, 09:20 PM
check out my video skinning tutorial

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=134411

Seifer402
08-26-2004, 08:56 AM
ok thanks man ill go check it out now