PDA

View Full Version : Question, not request!


Darth Dex
07-08-2004, 12:34 PM
Is it possible to add more planets to KotOr like some of the Core Worlds, or something?

Colma Adawin
07-08-2004, 12:49 PM
you mean Corasant? its possible but you would have to have tonns of area modders to complete the task, then the scripts so you could talk to ppl, it would take too long, i think, but it could be done, someone has made the planets but you cant visit them

MattCole

PrtyLizardJedi
07-08-2004, 01:08 PM
Coruscant

And all of the B.M.P* teams are making new planets.

*B.M.P=Big Mod Project

Darth333
07-08-2004, 01:27 PM
It is doable. It all depends what you mean by new planets: for now we can only use existing areas an edit them within certains limits.
About adding planets to the Galaxy map in the Ebon Hawk, see this old thread http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=127001 (:rolleyes: that was the good time at the forum: when people were investigating and trying to find new things about the game *sigh*)

Doom_Dealer
07-08-2004, 01:43 PM
If you remember the Holowan MMP which we kind of created as a little team to look into it (included people like T7, svosh, tk102, darth333, myself bla bla bla) didnt bother going any further,

it is perfectly possible as tk102 had found how to add some entries to the star map but unfortunatly due to model constrictions we would have to use lots of exhisting models, with the same textures that the area used in the first place. Some of the MMP were experimenting with changing the textures but from what i heard the game didnt except the changes, so we decided a near identical 'new' planet would not be worth doing.

Creating the actual planet would not be to difficult as it would only include differant intelinct modules, which are easy to do, and i suppose that you could mix and match some exhisting modules frm differant planets to create a slightly differant feel with atleast some original feeling but at the end of the day it would just be more of the old.

The main time would be taken up creating all the characters and dialogues. If you really look into the amount of scripts and dialogues in each seperate module (let alone an entire planet of them) its not surprising games take years to make. As mattcoljek said, you would need a considerable team to do so, each very experianced with modules/scripting/dialogue, and the only 2 people around that are are Darth333 and TK102,

anyway, sorry for the dissapointment, but really, its too much work for apparantly so little outcome, unfortunatly alot of none modders (i.e. people that download but dont make mods (im not saying thats a bad thing btw!!!) wouldn't understand the work that goes into these things and it wouldnt get the appreciation it deserves. Besides, by the time it may be finsihed KOTOR2 would probably be out, (hopefully obsidian providing some modding tools,f ingers crossed X) so the mod would look abit pointless,

anyway, im bored of rambling,
Doom!

Darth Dex
07-08-2004, 01:56 PM
Darth333 in the theard you gave me a link to the download link is broken do, you or anybody else have that mod?

Darth333
07-08-2004, 02:06 PM
It's not a new area, Tk102 tweaked a script to make it possible to travel to other planets. I may have it somewhere but i'm not sure (can't check before the weekend)

Darth Dex
07-08-2004, 02:40 PM
I know, but with that scipt I can take modules and put it at that planet and thanks for looking.

edit- Lizard can you give me and ex. of a B. M. P. team, havn't saw any for KotOr. Never mind stuipd question.

tk102
07-08-2004, 04:10 PM
Darth Dex: Check the thread again -- I updated it so you can make .ncs files yourself.

Doom_Dealer: you would need a considerable team to do so, each very experianced with modules/scripting/dialogue, and the only 2 people around that are are Darth333 and TK102, Thanks for that, but I think you better count yourself in there too since you wrote a module/dialog tutorial. :)

Darth333: I hear a lament in your words that sounds sadly familiar. :(