PDA

View Full Version : Animations


Mana Dragon
07-23-2004, 10:26 PM
I want to edit a specific part of the humanoid.gla where the animation's frames show a character "running." I want to change just these frames so it looks like my character glides (Like he does in the actual game he's in =O

Is there a program for making these? (For JO)

razorace
07-26-2004, 12:05 AM
You mean as in actually physically creating a new animation or simply swapping it out for a new one?

Mana Dragon
07-26-2004, 05:14 PM
To be honest, I don't know what I'm asking. Just for my model, I want to change the animation where he "runs," he will "glide" instead, but all of JO's models will still "run."

I guess I'm aiming for a New animation, but I don't know how to configure my model, so his "new" animation will work. I'm a bit aware I have to move a few bones to create frames, but I don't even know how to make new frames either :(

razorace
07-28-2004, 09:14 PM
ok, well, unfortunately you can't do that without creating a special code mod just for your model

Mana Dragon
07-29-2004, 03:46 PM
Would you know a few spots to look up making codes? You mean, like scripts right?

razorace
07-29-2004, 06:45 PM
No, I'm talking about .dll code. The stuff that you get in the JKA SDK.

Mana Dragon
07-31-2004, 02:30 AM
I have the Toolkit, but I don't see that .dll you're talking about. :confused:

I think I can make an animation in 3DS Max and export in xsi again, (I have yet to make an animation) so I'm just confused on how the animation will be recognized.

razorace
07-31-2004, 04:19 PM
.dll = gameplay code. It's in the second SDK release.

Mana Dragon
07-31-2004, 10:02 PM
I over looked them :rolleyes:

Okay, I see a few .dll, one is jk2gamex86.dll, am I suppoed to open it up and change it? ?

razorace
08-01-2004, 12:44 AM
Well, it's not that simple. You'd have to have a code compiler that can compile .dlls and know C/C++.

Mana Dragon
08-06-2004, 09:29 PM
I think I'll just use their animations instead =/

Can you run some of their frames, backward?

BOTH_FORCEJUMP1 6767 17 -1 20

I'm wondering if I can start the frame at a point, then type -17 so it goes backwards in-game. Would it work?

razorace
08-06-2004, 10:27 PM
Just look thru the animation.cfg for animations with negative frame rates. That will show you how to do it.

Mana Dragon
08-06-2004, 10:50 PM
New Question: How can I make an animation for my model ALONE? I've made a pk3 with a new animation (Thx) and so my model glides, but since it's a _humanoid folder, every other model glides as well, I'd rather just have it for my one model. Know how to do it?

keshire
08-07-2004, 01:56 AM
You'd need to compile the model to a different gla.

Mana Dragon
08-07-2004, 04:21 AM
Can I just use the _humanoid.gla and make a minor change to it? Opening a gla with wordpad isn't helping :rolleyes:

Or can I rename _humanoid.gla to dragon.gla? Probably won't work there.

razorace
08-07-2004, 04:43 AM
Unfortunately, no.

keshire
08-07-2004, 09:28 AM
Unfortunately the chang eyou want can't be done easily.

You either need a custom compiled model (using 3ds max or softimage xsi), or be able to code your own changes in the source code (requiring programming knowledge).

And being that this is so specific and not very useful to the modding community your not going to have an easy time finding someone to do it for you.

Mana Dragon
08-07-2004, 06:20 PM
Guess I'm just better off making a pk3 then.