PDA

View Full Version : Playing Battlegrounds on extra hard - funniest thing you will ever see


DarthMaulUK
07-25-2004, 06:05 AM
I was bored early this morning , so i booted up CC and played it on extra hard. First time ive played extra hard.

However, i think it needs re-naming to extra cheating. I decided to watch the computer and within seconds of the start, it had built:

Troop Centre with 5 troops
Food Proct
3 shelters
Power core

and hit T2 (all this from the standard starting resources)

I couldnt stop laughing. I hadn't even used most of my carbon but I couldnt build all of that from just 200 carbon! lol

Very funny indeed

DMUK

XBebop
07-25-2004, 06:14 AM
That's when you make an army of Simon's =P

DarthMaulUK
07-25-2004, 07:08 AM
hehe yes.

Looking at it all even closer - the computer had no one on carbon collecting! My score was around 400 t1 and he was T3 inside 8 minutes with a score of 1600+! lol

Funny stuff

DMUK

** rememeber - GB.com chat 7pm GMT Sunday*

Admiral Vostok
07-26-2004, 01:27 PM
Yes, extra cheating may be an appropriate name. On extra hard, instead of making super-intelligent AI, the developers just made the computer gets free resources every once in a while. It certainly does make things "extra hard".

Kryllith
07-27-2004, 04:15 PM
Can't remember how I did it... think I let the computer play itself and just watched what happened, but iirc the computer basically gets 1000 (possibly more) extra ore/food/carbon/nova as a bonus at each tech level, starting with the first. As such it accelerates through the tech levels and slams you like crazy. If you can survive through the initial onslaught to get to tech 4 yourself, then killing the computer becomes easy since it's no longer getting any bonus resources.

Kryllith

FroZticles
07-28-2004, 02:51 AM
Yes the hard levels do cheat. It isnt impossible to beat them but it isnt a walk in the park either.

lukeiamyourdad
07-28-2004, 10:55 AM
Hello! 56k vietnamese connection...argh...

Funnniest thing at hardest? Me killing 4000 enemy troopers as they tried to flood me. Beating the comp at hardest isnt at all impossible. After a while you can simply counter their pattern.

The AI uses the same strategy over and over again so you can guess their moves pretty easily.

Mono_Giganto
08-04-2004, 10:45 AM
That's when you make an army of Simon's =P

Heh. ^

Nairb Notneb
08-29-2004, 08:37 AM
I'm glad to hear this, because then maybe I'm not as terrible at this game as I thought I was. I could not figure out how in the world the computer was getting so far so fast in the harder settings. It was driving me crazy. Sometimes I'll set it on extra cheating (I like calling it that) and take on three other civs all by myself. I go for as long as I can, which is not vary long. Then I'll make some Simons and just blast my way through. I do this when I'm in the mood to blow stuff up and have no desire to think and just have a need for destruction. It's fun. After a while when things have calmed down and the scores have all evened out and its a fair game again I euthanise my Simons and we start from there, nice a fair. They pound me, I pound back and then its fair. It's something to do anyway.

Admiral Vostok
08-29-2004, 10:52 AM
I think the main problem with the Hardest setting is that it is such a leap from just the Hard setting. I can beat the computer no problems on Hard, but crank it up to Hardest and I don't stand a chance. It would be nice if there was a bit less of a leap between the two difficulties.

DK_Viceroy
09-01-2004, 03:24 AM
I suppose that's why it's called HARDEST because it's the HARDEST difficulty level.

Kryllith
09-01-2004, 04:29 AM
Heh, the worst thing about hardest is the jump is created by the computer cheating rather the better ai. Ai-speaking, it's the same as the hard computer and thus the challenge is gone once you level the playing field in Tech IV.

Kryllith

DarthMuffin
09-12-2004, 11:57 AM
If you think of it, there's no way for an AI to beat a human (well, if you're not experienced, that is) without cheating.

So I'm actually glad the cpu cheats, because you can still enjoy SP games even if you're a pro.

*Hopes they will have a smart or cheating AI in battlefront*

Admiral Vostok
09-12-2004, 01:15 PM
I was trying to improve my early game, so I recorded a few games against hard computers, and I discovered that even computers on hard get free resources. This doesn't just happen when they advance to the next tech level, they get it about halfway through Tech Level 1 so they can easily send an army against you and advance to TL2.

Stupid cheating computers.

Kryllith
09-12-2004, 06:21 PM
Originally posted by Darth54
If you think of it, there's no way for an AI to beat a human (well, if you're not experienced, that is) without cheating.

Well yeah, that's true. I mean, unless true AI is developed, the computer will alway respond to scripts instead of making its own choices. My main problem was that it was the cheating rather than improved AI that makes "hardest" so hard. Strategy wise, it's not really any different than hard. Think there should be a bigger difference between the two even it it means making "hard" cheat a little more and use less effective AI.

Kryllith

Nairb Notneb
09-15-2004, 02:53 AM
Well, the cheat (I'm mean hard) settings could be worse, they could use the other cheat codes like Simon and all of that. But at least that might be fun to play against. Would it be so bad if the AI could have no more than one Simon at a time? Like the Sith rule of no more than two Sith at a time? That might be interesting.

pbguy1211
09-15-2004, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by Admiral Vostok
I was trying to improve my early game, so I recorded a few games against hard computers, and I discovered that even computers on hard get free resources. This doesn't just happen when they advance to the next tech level, they get it about halfway through Tech Level 1 so they can easily send an army against you and advance to TL2.

Really? I was wondering how they get so many troops up so damn fast...

Though I can still defend myself from their rushes :D

Admiral Vostok
09-15-2004, 03:47 PM
Well I can defend against them too, but I think it's impossible to mount your own rush before they do.

pbguy1211
09-15-2004, 04:43 PM
before them? yes. but a quick counter? very possible. i do it all the time. i try to play a few games of 1v1 on hard vs the comp every few days. most games last between 30-40 minutes in on fast gamespeed. i think that's roughly 20-30 minutes real time.
i usually beat them as they get to t3, and about half of the time before they get there.

recently, i've been playing on hard vs the comp... in a 2v4. me and a teammate vs 4 comps. we win if my teammate doesnt get smoked early. if they all try to attack me, we always win :)
i take one of them out fairly early and the rest in due time. it'd be easier but i have to defend my crappy comp teammate! hehe

Admiral Vostok
09-15-2004, 07:21 PM
Sure, countering their rushes is fine enough.

I play against the computer fairly often. I either play me vs two hard comps, or me and a comp ally vs three comps. I used to play with three comps all FFA (so all four of us were individual) but I got annoyed when all three of them would rush me instead of each other! :mad:

Nairb Notneb
09-16-2004, 02:56 AM
Oh, hey no kidding!! It is so annoying to me when I set up a game to play with teams and as soon as it starts my team members turns against me or my enemy goes neutral with me. I'd rather my team mate go against me than for my enemy to join me because it throws of the balance of the game. Aaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrgggggggh!!

Admiral Vostok
09-16-2004, 07:57 AM
Nairb, you should use the Lock Teams option to stop that happening.

Nairb Notneb
09-16-2004, 08:58 AM
I do that when I don't mind keeping my allies on my side. But I like to keep the option open to turn on my allies (when playing with the computer only of course) whenever I feel like it. That's why I don't like to lock the teams. Some times I like playing with huge stockpiles of resources so that large scale battles can be had, I mean massive, we're talking blood bath (I like to see things explode and all that). What happens then is that my stinking locked alley builds a stupid monument and the game is over. If its not locked I can march over to his monument, switch to neutral then destroy it, then switch back to alley and the stupid AI usually doesn't even care. I like big fights with lots of troops and lots of civs. I often max out my computers RAM until I wipe out a civ or two.

Admiral Vostok
09-16-2004, 09:04 AM
Fair enough... though you do know you can prevent monument building by using a Conquest Victory Condition instead of Standard, don't you?

Nairb Notneb
09-16-2004, 10:26 AM
Yes I do, but I often forget to set that for some reason. I do enjoy playing "defend the monument" as player two set on cheat (hard). That is fun.