PDA

View Full Version : online play question


jo mama
07-27-2004, 10:39 PM
I am going to get this game but wanted to know ho much lag you get when playing online with a dial up connection.

p.s. what the heck is this:evanpiel: ?

TK-8252
07-28-2004, 12:08 AM
Dial-up? Literally unplayable.

acdcfanbill
07-28-2004, 01:09 AM
1v1 dueling is fairly playable on 56k

Nalukai
07-28-2004, 01:29 AM
youre probably looking at somewhere in between 150-300 ping and most ppl with cable or DSL run around 60-90 average so your gonna ghost hit them and they are gonna rock you.....get cable if its available in your area it only costs 5 bucks more to add basic cable to your internet i pay 50 bucks a month with all channels and cable internet ^^ comcast is where its at...

p.s. the 5 bucks internet is basic service which is suppose to only give you 13 channels... but something about cable internet hookup gives up all non pay channels for same amount... muhahha

Rumor
07-28-2004, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by TK-8252
Dial-up? Literally unplayable.

Wrong. It is very playable, you just need to lower your rate. I suggest using 3000 for 56k.

I was an active duel, ctf, and tdm player throughout both jk2 and jk3.

Prime
07-28-2004, 11:30 AM
Originally posted by Rumor
Wrong. It is very playable Are you limited much with which servers you can effectively play on? I don't think I've ever played over the internet with 56k. Just curious. :)

_PerfectAgent_
07-28-2004, 11:57 AM
My character was going all over the place super quickly, on its own. I also got tons of "Connection Interrupted" messages. When I used Dark Side, lightning activated on its own, draining my force pool. Whenever I respawn, my character flies through the entire map first, while scratching up everything in sight, then spawns in the right spot. And when pinging a server, I got a ping of about 3000.

acdcfanbill
07-28-2004, 02:22 PM
you obviously have stuff setup incorrectly. i can play fine via 56k, so does rumor, and many other players. its not as nice as broadband, but its doable

Amidala from Chop Shop
07-28-2004, 03:40 PM
My server status screens show the data rate of all players on the server: 25000 for broadband, 4000 for dialup. At any given time 20-40% of the players on my servers are using a data rate of 4000. Some of them are broadband players who have their data rate incorrectly set to 4000, but the vast majority are true dialup players. If they live in the central US they often have a ping <100.

And, many of the top scorers are on dialup.

If you are using dialup, always sort the server list by ping and play only on servers where you have a decent ping.