PDA

View Full Version : strafe jumping in seige?


stubert
08-01-2004, 01:59 PM
do you guys have any idea why you can't strafe jump under any class is siege andhow this might be undone?

razorace
08-01-2004, 03:57 PM
Define strafe jumping.

stubert
08-01-2004, 05:10 PM
the technique in quake 3 based games that allows a player to move very fast.

for instance, i can grab the flag on mp/ctf4 in 13 seconds and score a point be 20 seconds into a game. it's an integral part of the hardcore gaming scene and is purposefully disabled in seige mode on jk3


if you'd like a demonstration, send me an aim (stubert311)

Tinny
08-01-2004, 08:32 PM
what buttons do you use to strafe jump? just left and right plus jump?

stubert
08-01-2004, 08:38 PM
http://www.trickingq3.com/Tutorials/Strafing_Tutorial.html


that tutorial should answer all your questions, it's much the same for jk2/3

razorace
08-02-2004, 12:59 AM
Ok, well since Jump Strafing (at least I heard) is suppose to be an exploit of the Quake movement code, I honestly can't say how it doesn't work in Seige. Does it work in the other gametypes?

stubert
08-02-2004, 02:01 AM
well.. it's not an exploit.. it was a bug in quake 2 but since it added so much dimention to the game they kept it in the game.. it works in every gametype but siege in jk3 and i remember reading the purposefully disabled it

razorace
08-02-2004, 04:05 PM
Well, I meant exploit as in it was originally not intended.

Anyway, this means that there has to be an exception set up in the bg_pmove.c and/or or possibly the g_active.c. Look for g_gametype checks in those files and you should be able to backtrack it.

stubert
08-02-2004, 04:50 PM
yep found it

static void PM_Accelerate(


must have missed it