PDA

View Full Version : Does this bug happen to you? It's hard to move


ajessup
08-04-2004, 03:23 AM
HI,

Sometimes when I am walking around (especially if it's in a cantina or something) and i walk forward, I walk froward a huge huge amount and I cannot bloody control my character. I fixed this problem once the first time I played the game through, but now it's happening again.

how the hell can I move around with my damn guy running into walls and looking like an idiot?

Please help,
thanks a lot,
-Alex

RedHawke
08-04-2004, 03:53 AM
Ajessup you should have probably posted this in the Work Bench (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=554) forum as it is for helping with KOTOR bugs and things of the nature you are talking about.

You will have a better chance of getting an answer there! :D

FiEND_138
08-04-2004, 03:59 AM
I had the same problem, especially in the cantina in Anchorhead. I usually just turn my settings down & that clears it right up.

Hope it helps.

Mono_Giganto
08-04-2004, 12:41 PM
This happens to me after almost every conversation. Just hold down your right mouse button to make the cursor appear, then left click, you'll stop.

Darth Dex
08-04-2004, 02:20 PM
hmm...I think we are talking about the same thing some times my mouse dispear and my guys impossible hard to control;, so I just hit Control and the problems fixed.

CoUnTrYbOy
08-06-2004, 05:18 PM
i had this problem throughout most of the game and i just updated my game version and that fixed that problem.

Achilles
08-09-2004, 06:06 AM
Originally posted by Darth Dex
hmm...I think we are talking about the same thing some times my mouse dispear and my guys impossible hard to control;, so I just hit Control and the problems fixed.

That generally only happens to me if I have a bunch of resource-intensive apps running with a game on. For instance if I'm working on a mod, I might have KotORT running in the backgroudn with Adobe Photoshop, KT, GFF Editor, and a couple web pages up. Other than that, it always plays smoothly for me.

Darth Dex
08-09-2004, 05:28 PM
Wow, then my computer must not be as good as I though :crybaby:

Achilles
08-10-2004, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by Darth Dex
Wow, then my computer must not be as good as I though :crybaby:

Don't tell me that you've got a P2 with 128mb of SDRAM under the hood :laugh:

RedHawke
08-10-2004, 07:47 AM
Originally posted by Achillies
Don't tell me that you've got a P2 with 128mb of SDRAM under the hood :laugh:

LOL!!! Actually I still have a working i486/66 with 32 Megs of RAM, it was a speedster in it's day, and I still play Doom and Doom II, Shadow Warrior, Heretic, and Duke Nukem on it occasionally. :D

Achilles
08-10-2004, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
LOL!!! Actually I still have a working i486/66 with 32 Megs of RAM, it was a speedster in it's day, and I still play Doom and Doom II, Shadow Warrior, Heretic, and Duke Nukem on it occasionally. :D

*shudders* 486? More power to you....or less as the case may be :)

RedHawke
08-11-2004, 03:13 AM
Originally posted by Achillies
*shudders* 486? More power to you....or less as the case may be :)

It is also quite informative, side-by-side with my newer PC, as to how far PC's have come in a relatively short amount of time! :)

Achilles
08-11-2004, 03:23 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
It is also quite informative, side-by-side with my newer PC, as to how far PC's have come in a relatively short amount of time! :)

Yeah, just thinking according to John Titor, we'll have time travel in less than 40 years =)

Ok...back to reality....

nacho35
08-11-2004, 12:05 PM
Originally posted by RedHawke
LOL!!! Actually I still have a working i486/66 with 32 Megs of RAM, it was a speedster in it's day, and I still play Doom and Doom II, Shadow Warrior, Heretic, and Duke Nukem on it occasionally. :D

Ah, a fellow Doom and Nukem alumni!

RedHawke
08-12-2004, 03:03 AM
Originally posted by nacho35
Ah, a fellow Doom and Nukem alumni!

Yup! :D Doom I and II classic, Duke Nukem another classic... "Shake it baby."

But my all time favorite has to be Shadow Warrior... and it's hero Lo Wang... "Who wants some Wang?", "Pain is for the weak!" and the Tactical Nuclear Rocket! :D Some of the stuff in that game still cracks me up! :D I wish they would remake that one with one of the newer game engines.

jedi_5002
08-12-2004, 10:34 AM
This is just about the two quotes below. Feel free to skip it if you don't care to read about:
[Wizard of Oz]NOSTALGIA[/Wizard of Oz]


Originally posted by RedHawke
LOL!!! Actually I still have a working i486/66 with 32 Megs of RAM, it was a speedster in it's day, and I still play Doom and Doom II, Shadow Warrior, Heretic, and Duke Nukem on it occasionally. :D Originally posted by RedHawke
It is also quite informative, side-by-side with my newer PC, as to how far PC's have come in a relatively short amount of time! :)

Are you sure it isn't a 486DX2/66? :D I'm just messin' wiith ya.


I have an AMD 386SX 25MHz, with 4MB of RAM (upgraded from 2), two hard disk drives (a 120MB and a 500-ish MB) totaling in at around 600-650 MB of drive space, NO SOUND, a 5 1/4" 1.2MB floppy disk drive, and a 3 1/2" 1.44MB floppy disk drive, NO CD-ROM drive, and a 1MB SVGA adapter with matching 15" SVGA Relysis(sp?) (not any more as the green channel is toast) monitor.

It sits next to my AMD Athlon XP 1800+, with sound, a 'legacy' 3 1/2" 1.44MB floppy disk drive, CD-ROM drive, 512MB RAM, 80GB hard drive (where GB now stands for billion bytes (1000 not 1024)) 128MB (better than XGA) video card and 17" Viewsonic monitor. My monitor rests on top of the 386SX case, because it is an AT Desktop.

In my basement, there is also a WORKING 20+ year-old Epson Z-80 ((4.77?)5 MHz or 6 MHz (not sure (I think the latter though))) with C/PM (precursor to DOS if you didn't know (Hell, DOS is essentially a rip of C/PM)), two 5 1/4" 380K C/PM format floppy disk drives, NO SOUND, NO HARD DISK DRIVE, and a 13(?)" monochrome (green/black) monitor that can do graphics (lines and such, not just ASCII (Oooooooo, Aaaaahhhhh)). The disks that there are for it (3 boxes worth) reside in the desk that the aforementioned two computers reside are on.
The reason my Dad got it was because the disks could hold 20K more data (and that was a lot back then) than the IBM machine of the day, the Z-80 could do more than the Intel CPU (8088 or 8086) in the IBMs and it was $1000 cheaper than a comparably equipped IBM.

One of the disks has Zork I, the text-based adventure. Great fun, still, to this day. If you don't know about it than it is your loss (Zork I through III are freeware (pretty sure) and you can also get the basis for Zork, Dungeon (just chopped up the game and made it into three, and fleshed them out a bit)). It also has Galaxian(?) on the disk. Aliens at the top of the screen shoot at you, and go across to the edge of the screen, and the go down one line, then go the opposite direction, repeat, all the while getting faster and faster. You are protected by some blocks, that they can shoot away or take away when they touch them. It's a classic. Great fun as well.

Ahhh.. The good old days. Back when computers were computers (albeit slow), computer geeks were computer geeks, computer games were computer games (where you had to use your imagination, because the graphics sucked (compared to today), or did not exist at all)... you get the idea.

[Wizard of Oz]NOSTALGIA[/Wizard of Oz]

:fett:

kome566
08-12-2004, 03:25 PM
.....:confused: Stupid Degraded English please?? :D :D