PDA

View Full Version : The Official Doom3 Thread


RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 02:34 AM
Aight...the whole ordeal about will you get, will you not get and blah is finally over...seeing that it IS released to most everyone.


Please make all doom3 related posts here


SO....a lot of people have a lot of questions whether they should buy it or not...so please discuss here what you think of the game, or questions about it.
Two of my dark room screenshots

http://www.jaguarfx.net/hotrod/dark1.jpg
http://www.jaguarfx.net/hotrod/dark2.jpg

and a poor quality movie. It is a bit laggy, and the sound messes up.

http://www.jaguarfx.net/hotrod/doom3.wmv

Samuel Dravis
08-06-2004, 02:48 AM
Interesting vid...what sort of rig you running it on?

RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 02:50 AM
The program I'm recording with slows down gameplay a bit.

ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3200+ 2 gig
1 gig RAM

Samuel Dravis
08-06-2004, 02:58 AM
The textures for the enemy that is on the screen to the right at the end frame of your movie don't seem to be very detailed. Is that true?

RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 03:16 AM
as I said....my recorder makes everything poor quality. It would be a 20 meg file, otherwise.

The textures are fantastic....if your machine can handle it running that high.

RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 03:22 AM
Here's a pumped up quality picture

http://www.doom3.com/images/screenshots/06.jpg

and another

http://www.doom3.com/images/screenshots/02.jpg

Samuel Dravis
08-06-2004, 03:24 AM
Ok, that looks much better. :cool:

RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 03:27 AM
http://www.doom3.com/

click trailer.




also........








http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3a.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3b.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3c.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3d.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3e.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3f.JPG
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Fuku22-doom3g.JPG

Alegis
08-06-2004, 06:17 AM
whats the yellow tex in top left corner?

damn wanna play this but need new parts first...

Darth Groovy
08-06-2004, 06:47 AM
Those is some crazy monsters. I might get it when it comes to XBOX.

RpTheHotrod
08-06-2004, 06:50 AM
It's a program they are using that records video ingame. It's not part of the game, itself.

Crow_Nest
08-06-2004, 06:59 AM
FRAPS is it?

Btw, what kind of graphic card do you have?!

Mex
08-06-2004, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by RpTheHotrod
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro


Thats what graphics card he has.. And wow, those screenshots are amazing!

Astrotoy7
08-06-2004, 10:32 AM
wow, though I wont play doom myself, I must concede those screenies are awesome :D

hmm, maybe one day will there be a sw mod/skins, or better yet a SW game featuring its engine ?

nice screenies !

mtfbwya

legameboy
08-06-2004, 10:52 AM
Damn, I **** my pants and I haven't even gotten the game and played yet.

:(

Crow_Nest
08-07-2004, 12:50 AM
I'm gonna get it soon, probably in a few days time.

Anthony
08-07-2004, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by legameboy
Damn, I **** my pants and I haven't even gotten the game and played yet.

:(


Me too. : (

Alegis
08-07-2004, 06:26 AM
i got the game but the sad thing is i have to let it rest until i get my nev video card :( the interaction with the other players looks much more believable though..dark as rp said...but so far awesome

better card :(

Crow_Nest
08-07-2004, 06:51 AM
Originally posted by Alegis Gensan
i got the game but the sad thing is i have to let it rest until i get my nev video card :( the interaction with the other players looks much more believable though..dark as rp said...but so far awesome

better card :(

uhh what card are you currently having? If its a GeForce 4 MX then is should perform quite well on medium - high settings

RpTheHotrod
08-07-2004, 07:45 AM
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***

Go to your doom directory and find the doomconfig file. Search for


seta image_cacheMegs

and if the number is under 128, change it to 128

it should then look like this

seta image_cacheMegs "128"



The game should run A LOT faster now.

ZBomber
08-07-2004, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by RpTheHotrod
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***
***ATTENTION TO ALL***

Go to your doom directory and find the doomconfig file. Search for


seta image_cacheMegs

and if the number is under 128, change it to 128

it should then look like this

seta image_cacheMegs "128"



The game should run A LOT faster now.

Why would it be something else?

Man, those screenshots are awesome. I'd totally buy it if I had money. :p

Anthony
08-07-2004, 12:15 PM
Yaaay! I get it today!


Copied down what you said, just in case.

By the way, should I set mine to 256 because my Graphics card has 256MB of memory? I dunno. :/

Alegis
08-07-2004, 01:24 PM
thanks rp, it worked. Mine was set to 20.
Still im gonna let it rest again :) all my savegames are called "holy ****ing ****", switching between flashlight etc, its really feking dark

RpTheHotrod
08-07-2004, 01:35 PM
Np.


as for the 256...I'm not sure. The default is 20, so I set mine to 128 and it's as smooth as an elven arse, as an ole innkeeper would say.

KBell
08-07-2004, 01:40 PM
http://www.echonetwork.net/vb/showthread.php?t=2306

This is a sort of tweak to get more fps, by making optimal use of your RAM
Just go to your doom dir. and look for doomconfig.cfg open it with wordpad and edit the numbers of

seta image_cacheMegs "20"
seta image_cacheMinK "200"
to numbers equal to your RAM

for 256 mb RAM:
seta image_cacheMegs "64"
seta image_cacheMinK "640"
or
seta image_cacheMegs "96"
seta image_cacheMinK "960

for 512 mb RAM
seta image_cacheMegs "128"
seta image_cacheMinK "1280"

for 768 mb RAM
seta image_cacheMegs "192"
seta image_cacheMinK "1920"

for 1024 mb RAM
seta image_cacheMegs "256"
seta image_cacheMinK "2560"



Use at your own risk though.

Anthony
08-07-2004, 01:45 PM
I'm setting it to the 512MB of Ram setting, otherwise the game WILL take up 500 MB of RAM. Not good, since my RAM is already overclocked and stuff, and it gets hot.

EDIT: I -might- set it to 192


EDIT2: doesn't that person that posted on those forums have something like Jeds old Av?

Black Knight of Keno
08-07-2004, 04:53 PM
http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/images/comics/20040806.jpg
Sorry, had to do it... :D

Yeah, for what I've played the official and original DooM, and all the things on Ctr+alt+del, I think it would be quite scary, so I'll just stick to GTA-series and Max Payne 2 :D

KBell
08-07-2004, 06:13 PM
My friend was hoping the flashlight would blind him...

http://www.shadowness.com/users/2500/2478/album_1.jpg

Anthony
08-07-2004, 08:44 PM
I..I...I...need...a new....chair and pants...

Lightsaberboy
08-07-2004, 09:57 PM
NOOOO!! i i didnt want to see what the cyber demon looked like before i saw him!! AHHH!!! =(

jokemaster
08-08-2004, 12:56 AM
Heh, I think that when I reach him I'm probably gonna yell "You're one ugly Mother****er/SOB/*insert obsenity here*

Pie™
08-08-2004, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by Anthony
EDIT2: doesn't that person that posted on those forums have something like Jeds old Av? Wacky?
No, they just changed to it at the same time, and Wacky still uses it :/

Oh, and I'm trying to get it, not out here yet though :(

My sucky CPU probably won't handle it anyways :/

BCanr2d2
08-09-2004, 01:25 PM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
uhh what card are you currently having? If its a GeForce 4 MX then is should perform quite well on medium - high settings

Geforce 4 MX will struggle, since it's a Geforce 2 Ultra slightly modded......

Alegis
08-09-2004, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by BCanr2d2
Geforce 4 MX will struggle, since it's a Geforce 2 Ultra slightly modded......
nope works fine

Pie™
08-09-2004, 07:40 PM
Woah, that was mind blowing :eek:

Scariest game ever :eek:

But it was a great kick :D

Oh, and i couldn't find the doomconfig file :s

[edit] nvm, found and tweaked, thanks! :)

Alegis
08-10-2004, 06:44 AM
am i the only one who thinks the sounds drive you insane? Oh well much better now :p still it surprises me sometmes

Treacherous Mercenary
08-10-2004, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by Anthony
EDIT2: doesn't that person that posted on those forums have something like Jeds old Av?

Talking about me? :D

I can't wait to get this game, but it'll have to be a bit of a wait however. Playing it on a Geforce4 Ti.... Upgrading to a Radeon 9800 Pro myself soon though.

Also note that the tweak doesn't work for everyone. While I've heard of no problems after doing it aswell.

Anthony
08-12-2004, 08:43 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Anthony3000/9c9288de.jpg


OH GOD

Pie™
08-12-2004, 09:27 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/doom3.jpg

I played through this part today :eek:

Man, those flying babies are grotesque :barf:

jokemaster
08-12-2004, 10:00 PM
Originally posted by Pie™
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/doom3.jpg

I played through this part today :eek:

Man, those flying babies are grotesque :barf:
'What the hell is that, it looks like a freakin' walrus.

The Truthful Liar
08-12-2004, 10:03 PM
Doom 3 is out? :P

I barely noticed in my considerably long-drawn out anticipation for Half life 2.

Pie™
08-12-2004, 10:48 PM
Originally posted by jokemaster
'What the hell is that, it looks like a freakin' walrus. http://doomworld.com/icarusweb/mz_manc.jpg
From Doom 2

Lightsaberboy
08-12-2004, 11:01 PM
mancubus.

that's actually one of the demons in doom 3 that looked the most like it's old counterpart.

jokemaster
08-13-2004, 12:54 AM
Originally posted by The Truthful Liar
Doom 3 is out? :P

I barely noticed in my considerably long-drawn out anticipation for Half life 2.
I only noticed because my friend kept shoving the DOOM 3 issue of PC GAMER in my face.

Lightsaberboy
08-13-2004, 03:30 AM
just finished and all i have to saw is AWESOME.

The Truthful Liar
08-13-2004, 09:30 AM
Originally posted by Lightsaberboy
just finished and all i have to saw is AWESOME.

What level of difficulty did you play it in? Also, what's the range of difficulty allowed?

Pie™
08-15-2004, 11:03 PM
Uncle Pie is here with some more handy screens :D
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/hellknight7.jpg
Damn those hell-knights :mad:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/headbutt.jpg
Teh sexeh :naughty:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/wallwriting2.jpg
Somebody doesn't want me here :/

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/zombiesex.jpg
Wtf?! o.O

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v42/MMMPIE/magazine.jpg
Anyone recognise this fella? :D

Anthony
08-15-2004, 11:14 PM
Yeah, I played all day today and got to some part where you take a short ride to the delta labs. and god... I'm not sleeping now...

Pie™
08-15-2004, 11:39 PM
Originally posted by Anthony
Yeah, I played all day today and got to some part where you take a short ride to the delta labs. and god... I'm not sleeping now... I got stuck somewhere in hell
If anyone beat the game, please contact me :)

jokemaster
08-15-2004, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by Pie™
I got stuck somewhere in hell
If anyone beat the game, please contact me :)
My cousin beat the game.....now he doesn't turn the lights off and sleeps with a flashlight under his pillow. :eek:

Anthony
08-16-2004, 12:34 AM
Weird double post weirdness. Nevermind. : /

Pie™
08-16-2004, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by Anthony
Yeah, I played all day today and got to some part where you take a short ride to the delta labs. and god... I'm not sleeping now... Why did you post that twice with 1 hour between? :p

Oh, and Joke, it's not that scary, you get used to it ;)

Anthony
08-16-2004, 12:40 AM
Uhm, I didn't. :confused:

Crow_Nest
08-16-2004, 07:31 AM
I just got Doom 3 a few days ago, and im pretty impressed! Great graphics and scary gameplay :D

And i am making quick progress through the game, i took some shots along the way

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/doom3_1.jpg

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/doom3_2.jpg

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/doom3_3.jpg

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/doom3_4.jpg

Settings:

High Detail
1024x768 Resolution
Speular enabled
Bump-mapping
Shadows
Video sync off
2x AF

I'm playing on

AMD Althon XP2000+ 1.66 GHz (1664 MHz)
GeForce FX 5700 Ultra 128MB
512MB SDR RAM

Even at 20+ frames is still quite smooth, and on a mid-range system! I hope i get similar resaults for Half Life 2. :)

legameboy
08-16-2004, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
I'm playing on

AMD Althon XP2000+ 1.66 GHz (1664 MHz)
GeForce FX 5700 Ultra 128MB
512MB SDR RAM

Even at 20+ frames is still quite smooth, and on a mid-range system! I hope i get similar resaults for Half Life 2. :)

Whoa. Do you think that with an Intel Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz Processor, an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB Video Card, and 1024 MB DDR RAM, that I would get the same or better results?

Treacherous Mercenary
08-16-2004, 11:12 AM
I hear you can still get High Quality good at 1024x768 with Radeon 9800 Pro.

Crow_Nest
08-16-2004, 11:49 AM
Originally posted by legameboy
Whoa. Do you think that with an Intel Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz Processor, an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB Video Card, and 1024 MB DDR RAM, that I would get the same or better results?

yeah you should be able to get better performce and faster loading. Maybe similar resaults to Rp's if im not wrong

Mex
08-16-2004, 12:21 PM
This game has disturbed my sleep, I only sleep at like 5:00am in the morning when it's starting to get light.. Someone hold me. :'(

Mex
08-16-2004, 08:59 PM
Sorry to double post, but I wanted more people to reply.

Anyways, I didn't think that zombies would get dirty and invite some of their 'friends' over when I was playing..

http://img45.exs.cx/img45/95/zombie_gangbng.jpg

If you can't tell it's around 15-20 zombies all on top of each other.

Treacherous Mercenary
08-16-2004, 11:50 PM
Just out of coriousity, who has tried the tweak? Just want to know if anyone has had any problems.

Pie™
08-16-2004, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by The Silent One
Just out of coriousity, who has tried the tweak? Just want to know if anyone has had any problems. I already told you I have :)

Anthony
08-17-2004, 01:41 AM
I set mine to 256 and it works fiiine.

Crow_Nest
08-17-2004, 06:01 AM
Originally posted by The Silent One
Just out of coriousity, who has tried the tweak? Just want to know if anyone has had any problems.

Took only 10 - 20 secs to load one level on a 1.6 GHz machine :D

But doesnt improve my FPS darn it!

This game has disturbed my sleep, I only sleep at like 5:00am in the morning when it's starting to get light.. Someone hold me. :'(

The trick to this is to only play during the day time, never play it during late nights or in the late evening.

The Truthful Liar
08-17-2004, 08:19 AM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
never play it during late nights or in the late evening.

Why?

Pie™
08-17-2004, 10:43 AM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
The trick to this is to only play during the day time, never play it during late nights or in the late evening. I play it in the night and evening, and I don't get scared or paranoid, it's just a game :p

Crow_Nest
08-17-2004, 11:11 AM
Originally posted by The Truthful Liar
Why?

Cause when you sleep, all you can think about are the horrible experiences from Doom 3.

Btw, just completed the game this afternoon! The end boss was cool, but im not gonna tell you what is it. :D

Hint: Its an enemy from Doom II

jokemaster
08-17-2004, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
Cause when you sleep, all you can think about are the horrible experiences from Doom 3.

Btw, just completed the game this afternoon! The end boss was cool, but im not gonna tell you what is it. :D

Hint: Its an enemy from Doom II
THere's already been a pic posted of it...

Gabrobot
08-17-2004, 06:38 PM
If you want to improve Doom 3's graphics, Junkguy just released a mod that adds parallax mapping to Doom 3! To those that don't know, parallax mapping is also known as virtual displacement mapping, and is the same thing that is in UnrealEngine 3. If you have at least a Radeon 9500 or Geforce FX card, then check out the mod linked to in Junkguy's post here (http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3939)

Mex
08-17-2004, 08:15 PM
I like that mod but the pistol seems a bit wierd, the end of the pistol is plain black for some reason, and it's one of my favorite weapons. [I increased the rate of fire to make it a bit better XD]

Lightsaberboy
08-17-2004, 09:00 PM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
Cause when you sleep, all you can think about are the horrible experiences from Doom 3.

Btw, just completed the game this afternoon! The end boss was cool, but im not gonna tell you what is it. :D

Hint: Its an enemy from Doom II

and the first one too.

GonkH8er
08-18-2004, 12:44 PM
I still think one of the best bits in the game is in the last alpha lab, i think...

anyway, youre walking down a wall, then some stairs, and theres a thumping noise that gets louder, and with every thump, your screen goes red for a second, and the further you go along, the redder it gets. til you get to the door

where the head thing comes through the door suddenly and tries to kill you by scaring the crap out of you :) and when your character instincively moves backwards to avoid it, it growls at you for not letting it kill you. yeah, like youre just gonna STAND there and let it get you :P silly silly demons


All in all, i very much liked doom 3, despite having to run on a lower setting than i'd like to :)

id have to say though, that i used the shotgun a good 60-70% of the time...

Crow_Nest
08-19-2004, 07:16 AM
Originally posted by GonkH8er

id have to say though, that i used the shotgun a good 60-70% of the time...

Im not surprised, Doom 3 is mainly an in-door game so the shotgun rocks. :cool:

Originally posted by Pal™
I like that mod but the pistol seems a bit wierd, the end of the pistol is plain black for some reason, and it's one of my favorite weapons. [I increased the rate of fire to make it a bit better XD]

Open the file and delete away the pistole skin and it should be back to normal!

Mex
08-20-2004, 12:51 PM
Originally posted by GonkH8er
anyway, youre walking down a wall, then some stairs, and theres a thumping noise that gets louder, and with every thump, your screen goes red for a second, and the further you go along, the redder it gets. til you get to the door

Great, I was just going to play it but now I'm too scared to! Thanks.

Crow_Nest
08-23-2004, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
Great, I was just going to play it but now I'm too scared to! Thanks.

If you dont wanna frighten urself too much. Play on low detail (Cheap graphics) cause they look so crappy that the demon looks like an art drawing and not scary. :D

Astrotoy7
08-23-2004, 11:23 AM
I played Doom 3 the other day for about 3 minutes and had to lie down afterwards....nothing to do with the scariness, poor ole Astro has epilepsy and FPS games fu*k my head up big time.....quite dizzy afterwards, huge headache :(

lucky for me I prefer RPGs ......

*gets back to NWN* :D

mtfbwya

Darth Groovy
04-02-2005, 08:30 PM
I reserved a copy for the XBOX, and picking it up Tuesday. Anybody else around here getting the XBOX version? I need some gamertags man.

Anthony
04-02-2005, 10:06 PM
I just might for the Co-op.


Really not sure yet.

Tokarev
04-02-2005, 10:22 PM
I'll keep to the PC version. :)

KBell
04-02-2005, 11:03 PM
Meh, no thankyou.

Boba Rhett
04-02-2005, 11:08 PM
It's already being sold at quite a few Kmarts. I just saw a stack at mine.

Darth Groovy
04-03-2005, 05:51 AM
Originally posted by Anthony
I just might for the Co-op.


Really not sure yet.

Let me know, I'll coop with ya.

toms
04-04-2005, 09:42 AM
I just got the pc version a week or so ago. (couldn't get it at the time because my graphics card wasn't up to it, and i'd been waiting for the price to drop)

I have to say i'm not that impressed so far. The graphics were pretty amazing for the first 20 miutes or so, but its amazing how quickly the amazment wears off.
I played it for a few evenings, then forgot about it and went back to playing invisible war on the xbox.

Usually I get obsessed with games and play them through to the finish (even the rubbish anoying ones) so the fact that i just kind of forgot about it isnt a great sign. Maybe i'll try playing it again tonight... and maybe it'll get better as it goes. But I suspect the level design and setting is going to remain the same throughout, so there won't be much variation there.

Darth Groovy
04-07-2005, 02:17 PM
I played it the night I got it, and it was scary. In fact the game had me so wound up, I couldn't get to sleep. I been forcing myself not to play it, just so I can get to sleep at night. Not too difficult of a game to learn, and it doesn't take very long until all hell breaks loose.....literally. The graphics are impressive, but if you own Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay, like I do, you have seen these graphics before.

I have yet to play Co-op on live yet, but I am sure it will be butter.

The original versions of Doom are there, but there is no jump on the original Dooms. Also, the repetitous music on those games is extremely annoying.

jon_hill987
04-07-2005, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
The original versions of Doom are there, but there is no jump on the original Dooms.

If you want to play the original doom you can download jDoom, it has 3d models for all the mosters etc, detal textures, dynamic lights, mouselook and jump. you just need the origonal .wad

Gabrobot
04-08-2005, 03:36 AM
Originally posted by toms
I just got the pc version a week or so ago. (couldn't get it at the time because my graphics card wasn't up to it, and i'd been waiting for the price to drop)

I have to say i'm not that impressed so far. The graphics were pretty amazing for the first 20 miutes or so, but its amazing how quickly the amazment wears off.
I played it for a few evenings, then forgot about it and went back to playing invisible war on the xbox.

Usually I get obsessed with games and play them through to the finish (even the rubbish anoying ones) so the fact that i just kind of forgot about it isnt a great sign. Maybe i'll try playing it again tonight... and maybe it'll get better as it goes. But I suspect the level design and setting is going to remain the same throughout, so there won't be much variation there.

It gets much better around the Communications levels...the first few levels are somewhat bland compared to the rest of the game. The expansion pack is much better about staying interesting throughout the game...in fact, I'd say it's better than Doom 3. It keeps adding new and interesting things one right after the other, whereas Doom 3 is a bit more drawn out.

Here's shot of a large bit of Hell from Resurrection of Evil:
http://home.earthlink.net/~elkgarden/Shot00001.jpg

jon_hill987
04-08-2005, 06:39 AM
nice, that looks much more like some of the original levels, you know the episode 3 ones.

toms
04-08-2005, 10:00 AM
Still haven't gotten around to going back to doom 3. Finished Invisible War last night so maybe i'll get around to it sometime.

I don't have a clue what level i'm at as so far they have all looked the same and all had names like "alpha" and whatever. Nothing to differentiate them at all.

I've met the Pink "dog" demons, but nothing badder than that.

The problem I have with it is that it doesn't seem to involve much skill (either in terms of twitch gameplay, tactics, planning, weapon choice or anything).

Things pop out so randomly from previously empty areas that it stops being scary and starts being annoying. Plus they tend to appear so close to you that you just end up backtracking and shooting with whatever gun you ave to hand. Reminds me of the annoying bit in the ST elite force demo where borg kept teleporting in right infront of you. That was cheap and annoying too...