PDA

View Full Version : Using a controller


Darth Mathius
08-06-2004, 10:09 AM
I recently brought Jedi Academy and i prefer to play computer games with a controller. But im struggling with getting the controller to configure with the game.

If any one has any answers then it wud be greatly appreciated.

Prime
08-06-2004, 01:19 PM
I think there is an option to use a joystick in the setup somewhere. I'm not quite sure though...

Darth Mathius
08-06-2004, 01:58 PM
I have found that part but it still doesn't allow me to use the controller.

shukrallah
08-06-2004, 10:17 PM
Maybe your game pad isnt supported? Mine works fine, but... well.. JA just.. isnt right with a control, its too slow, and hard to aim. I might just be too used to a mouse and keyboard :-\ so, I disabled my game pad in JA.

Prime
08-07-2004, 11:20 AM
I know I would struggle without a mouse and keyboard. I remember trying to play JA on my friend's XBox and it was a disaster. I'm so used to having my fingers on the majority of the keys, which wasn't the case with the controller.

Anyway, I'm sure you all care about my adventures on the XBox...

shukrallah
08-07-2004, 04:14 PM
Yeah, I tried the Xbox demo at walmart... I couldnt figure out how to push the big rock out of the way... im so used to pressing F1 for force push... and the xbox loaded slower than my computer :rolleyes: but the loading screen was nicer than the PC version! I WANT THE XBOX LOADING SCREEN!!!!

Samuel Dravis
08-07-2004, 04:32 PM
Originally posted by lukeskywalker1
Yeah, I tried the Xbox demo at walmart... I couldnt figure out how to push the big rock out of the way... im so used to pressing F1 for force push... and the xbox loaded slower than my computer :rolleyes: but the loading screen was nicer than the PC version! I WANT THE XBOX LOADING SCREEN!!!! What's it look like?

shukrallah
08-10-2004, 01:48 PM
I only played it once, but if I remember correctly, it loads going up the middle of the screen, instead of at the bottom going to the right. It looked completly different. Ill see if I can find a pic.

Obi_Kwiet
08-10-2004, 02:20 PM
What!? Don't play on-line then.

Lindsey
08-10-2004, 11:26 PM
I use a PSX converter from Radioshack (about 10 bucks) and have a PS2 Dualshock plugged into the converter, I use the controller for my jump, move and force selection, the mouse for aiming and attacking, and the keyboard for chat and binds. This setup makes me the powerhouse player that I am!! :D


JA does support gamepads, give Radioshack a call and see if they stock the PSX to USB converter, only 9.95!

Kurgan
08-11-2004, 08:10 AM
Talk to Vagabond or Lathain Valtiel, they use controllers to play JA/JK2.


In fact, if you do a search, there is a thread topic very similar to this one posted within a month ago, that you might find interesting...