PDA

View Full Version : override vs module


seawolfe
08-06-2004, 11:58 AM
okay .. I want to add a merchant to Manaan .. do I need to extract the module and everything in it , add the merchant and his script and dialogue and then wrap this up as a module or can I just add it as an override by putting the new files in the override directory with a modified .git ?

jrc24
08-06-2004, 12:03 PM
you can just add it as an override by putting the new files in the override directory with a modified .git

Darth333
08-06-2004, 12:03 PM
You could use a script to "spawn" your merchant in the module. It should work. I did that with doors and other placeables instead of modifying the original .git file (I added computers and an elevator on Taris). Simply attach the script to a .dlg file.

Mav
08-06-2004, 04:09 PM
Darth333's suggestion would probably be the best solution.

Darth333
08-06-2004, 04:19 PM
I find that dropping the .git file in the override folder is useful to make quick tests but it may cause some bugs such as triggers that don't trigger at the right moment, doors that do not open, etc... (even with a module which is accessed for the first time :confused: )

seawolfe
08-06-2004, 07:03 PM
Thanks for the info everyone.
I will drop it in for testing and then put it into a seperate module when I'm done.

Mav
08-06-2004, 08:31 PM
^^^^
I'm telling you, putting the merchant in-game with a script would be much better

Darth333
08-06-2004, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by maverick187
^^^^
I'm telling you, putting the merchant in-game with a script would be much better
indeed. a new module for a merchant is kind of overkill