PDA

View Full Version : Placing Upgraded Items in Game


beancounter
08-08-2004, 10:26 AM
Does anyone know how to place a fully upgraded item onto a NPC? Either by script or by using a GIFF Editor to edit their UTC file. I am trying to place a light saber on a NPC with the Upari Crystal Upgrade.

Darth333
08-08-2004, 12:44 PM
You can use GFF editor and i think Kotor tool too. Just add it in the Equip_ItemList.

As for scripting it is also very simple: check this thread http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=123554 (it was all in the "Do you want to mod SW-Kotor sticky )

Achilles
08-08-2004, 01:50 PM
Originally posted by beancounter
Does anyone know how to place a fully upgraded item onto a NPC? Either by script or by using a GIFF Editor to edit their UTC file. I am trying to place a light saber on a NPC with the Upari Crystal Upgrade.

I don't know if you'll be able to give the saber already upgraded. What I've done in the past is add the weapon and the upgrade to the NPC's inventory then upgraded the next time I was at a workbench.

Darth333
08-08-2004, 01:55 PM
You're right Achillies, jrc24 already attempted this and was unsuccesful: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=131360

Veldrin
08-08-2004, 02:20 PM
Or use SaveEditor.

beancounter
08-08-2004, 02:45 PM
OK, I must be a little slow this afternoon. I know how to add a base item by script, but I want the saber to have the Upari Crystal Upgrade. When I add the item g_w_sbrcrstl02 to the Equip_ItemList using the same slot as the saber the NPC does not get any of the bonsus from the Crystal Upgrade. Do I have to put the crystal in a different slot?

I looked over the thread you posted and it only mentioned how to add a base item by script, I want to add a upgraded light saber.

Achilles
08-08-2004, 02:49 PM
Originally posted by beancounter
OK, I must be a little slow this afternoon. I know how to add a base item by script, but I want the saber to have the Upari Crystal Upgrade. When I add the item g_w_sbrcrstl02 to the Equip_ItemList using the same slot as the saber the NPC does not get any of the bonsus from the Crystal Upgrade. Do I have to put the crystal in a different slot?

I looked over the thread you posted and it only mentioned how to add a base item by script, I want to add a upgraded light saber.

You will not be able to add an upgraded lightsaber to a character's inventory. You can add the weapon and you can add the upgrade (separately), but you will need go to the workbench to upgrade the weapon. As Veldrin pointed out, you may be able to use KSE, but you'll have to do so for every new game that you play.

I hope this helps.

beancounter
08-08-2004, 02:49 PM
Never mind my post above, I did not see everybody elses reply. That is the problem with starting a reply and walking away from the computer for a while - :(