PDA

View Full Version : mdlops2-0 help


bneezy
08-11-2004, 12:35 PM
I've gotten another model to work correctly, but when I use a certain model for Jango Fett's Pistols (all are Jedi Academy models) I get a "Model has a face with overlapping vertices." error. What am I doing wrong and what can I do to fix it. I follow the process of using Milkshape to open .MD3's and export them as .3DS. Follow the tutorial word for word. When I go to convert the ascii.mdl back into .MDX and .MDL, I get that error. Any thoughts?

cchargin
08-11-2004, 01:30 PM
Hello,

"Model has a face with overlapping vertices."
This means that you have a triangle somewhere in the model where 2 of the 3 points are exactly the same. This is an error for 2 reasons: 1) the game has to calculate this triangle even though you will never be able to see it. 2) the triangle will cause math errors with face normals and vertex normals in mdlops.

Download mdlops from my site:
http://cchargin.home.comcast.net/kotor/

Even though you already have mdlops 0.2, download it again. I put in some code that will tell you which triangle is messing you up. When you run mdlops you will notice that along with the mdlops window, there is also a command line window.

-use mdlops to try to convert your ascii mdl to binary.
-when you get the error open the command line window and it will tell you the coordinates of the problem triangle.
-Now, open up the ascii mdl and look for the coordinates shown in the command line window. change one of the 2 identical coordinates a little.

Once you change the coordinate you can then compile the model, or load it back into your modeller and look for the triangle you changed, and fix it.

bneezy
08-12-2004, 04:57 AM
Thank you very much. I'll give it a try.

bneezy
08-12-2004, 05:07 AM
Where is the /perl/libs directory for windows? Do I have to create it?

bneezy
08-12-2004, 05:21 AM
Nervermind, downloaded ActivePerl. Thanks.

bneezy
08-12-2004, 05:24 AM
Now how would I go about changing the vertices?

cchargin
08-12-2004, 01:21 PM
hello,

Now how would I go about changing the vertices?
Just open up your ascii mdl with notepad and do a search for the vertex coordinates listed in the command line window.

Nervermind, downloaded ActivePerl. Thanks.
Mdlops includes a compiled version. When you run the compiled version it still opens a command line window, it is just minimized.

bneezy
08-13-2004, 07:23 AM
When I search for the coordinates in the exported model, I can only find two of the three given by mdlops. mdlops gives me the two duplicate and then another. When I look in the file, I only have one set of the duplicates and the other different coordinates. Shouldn't there be both of the duplicates in there instead of just one? When I change it and save, I run mdlops again and it gives me the same coordinates I just changed. For example:

The problem coordinates mdlops gives me is:
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00873125
X: 0.0 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00555625
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00873125

When I look in the file with notepad, all I find is:

XYZ (other coordinates)
XYZ (other coordinates)
X: 0.0 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00555625
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00873125
XYZ (other coordinates)
XYZ (other coordinates)

I don't see the second set of duplicates. What am I missing?

Even if I change it to:

XYZ (other coordinates)
XYZ (other coordinates)
X: 0.0 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00555625
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.99999999
XYZ (other coordinates)
XYZ (other coordinates)

I'll get this as an error:
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.99999999
X: 0.0 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.00555625
X: 0.0047625 Y: 0.0 Z: -0.99999999

Even though I only change the one coordiante with notepad.

Again, what am I doing wrong? And if I had more than one, would mdlops give me all of them or the first one it found? Please help.

bneezy
08-13-2004, 07:41 AM
By the way, is there any way to detect and fix these in gmax before exporting it?

bneezy
08-13-2004, 08:59 AM
This thing has so many overlapping vertices It will take me forever to fix. Is there a scipt or function in gmax to weld these damn things together in mass?

TheMunchkinLord
08-15-2004, 04:23 AM
test..

cchargin
08-15-2004, 05:37 PM
Hello,

I am looking at making mdlops ignore overlapping vertices. I do not know how it will affect the final model though.