PDA

View Full Version : Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads


Achilles
08-18-2004, 05:32 AM
With only one vote in the poll, this one was pretty easy to tabulate :D

The winnier is: Datapads

According to sources on the Obsidian forums the datapads in TSL will open automatically when you pick one up.

I personally think this is pretty cool, because half the time I got so discouraged by the mass of them in my inventory, that I never got around to reading them. Plus Bioware named 80% of the datapads the same :mad:

If I can't find something new tomorrow night, I'll use tonight's other choice for that topic.

FiEND_138
08-18-2004, 05:41 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
According to sources on the Obsidian forums the datapads in TSL will open automatically when you pick one up

Yeah, I got pretty happy when I read about that too. I was in the same boat & just about never looked through them. More laziness on Bio's part, the least they could have done was used different names for them. I'm glad OE's fixing that problem.

Achilles
08-18-2004, 05:47 AM
Originally posted by FiEND_138
Yeah, I got pretty happy when I read about that too. I was in the same boat & just about never looked through them. More laziness on Bio's part, the least they could have done was used different names for them. I'm glad OE's fixing that problem.

Did you notice that sometimes you'd find 2 of the same datapad (ala mandalorians on Kashyyyk, or Scientist's Memo on Manaan)? You'd think they could have avoided that somehow.

Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.

RedHawke
08-18-2004, 06:28 AM
I would like instead of constantly picking up Datapads that we would have a new tab on your PC's GUI for your personal Datapad, when you find a Datapad the pertinent information on it is simply added to your own eliminating them as items all together.

Just my 2 cents! :D

RedHawke
08-18-2004, 06:30 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Did you notice that sometimes you'd find 2 of the same datapad (ala mandalorians on Kashyyyk, or Scientist's Memo on Manaan)? You'd think they could have avoided that somehow.

Yup... they could have with an InvDesturbed script on the each of the opposing Footlockers or Creatures containing the Datapads no less! :D

Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.

They are???

How... Inquiring minds want to know! :D

FiEND_138
08-18-2004, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.

Agreed. It was such a crap implementation, can't wait to see what OE do with it.

@ Red.... I'll try & dig ya up a link when I get off work if someone hasn't already :)

Prime
08-18-2004, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by FiEND_138
More laziness on Bio's part I highly doubt they made such decisions because they were "lazy." I suspect time, money, and resources had more to do with it. :)

FiEND_138
08-18-2004, 11:36 AM
Here ya go (http://forums.obsidianent.com/index.php?showtopic=1366). This mostly just deals with the datapads & a new filter. I'll look for the rest of the info later *coughstillyesterdaymorningformecough* if no one has linked more info yet.

IIRC, it's mostly a bunch of new filters for the selection screen IE; blasters, rifles, melee, etc. Atleast, thats how I think it was stated. Could be wrong.............

nacho35
08-18-2004, 11:37 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.

I just wish that when you are selling items, you would get an option for "sell all". That alone would make the game more enjoyable for me.

Achilles
08-18-2004, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
They are???

How... Inquiring minds want to know! :D

Well if they were nice enough to provide more specifics, I could tell you :D

One of the first video clips they had (or maybe it was articles) mentioned an extensive redesign of the inventory system. The one thing they did let slip was the weapon quick change button.

Achilles
08-18-2004, 11:54 AM
Originally posted by nacho35
I just wish that when you are selling items, you would get an option for "sell all". That alone would make the game more enjoyable for me.

I was kinda shocked to see that v1.03 would allow you to Shift+Left click to put all of an item stack into a placeable, but wouldn't let you sell all of that item to a merchant. Probably too much work, but you have to admit that selling those swoop racing bonds was almost more trouble than it was worth :)

nacho35
08-18-2004, 12:58 PM
LMAO!

Achilles
08-18-2004, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by RedHawke
I would like instead of constantly picking up Datapads that we would have a new tab on your PC's GUI for your personal Datapad, when you find a Datapad the pertinent information on it is simply added to your own eliminating them as items all together.

Just my 2 cents! :D

Red,

Just saw this. Good idea! Were you thinking, read and delete or more along the lines of list of entries that you could click on for more details?

RubADucky
08-18-2004, 03:51 PM
Just make it like Doom 3's PDAs.

RedHawke
08-19-2004, 04:48 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Red,

Just saw this. Good idea! Were you thinking, read and delete or more along the lines of list of entries that you could click on for more details?

The selectable list of entries was along the lines of what I was talking about, one that would clear the data out after completing the quest or whatever, and non quest ones could be deleted by the player once read.

Far better than hauling around 100K Datapads, and give the player control over their management as well! :D

And an FYI: Swoop Racing Bonds sell really well on Yavin Station to little ol' Suvam Tan! :D

Achilles
08-19-2004, 06:22 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
And an FYI: Swoop Racing Bonds sell really well on Yavin Station to little ol' Suvam Tan! :D

Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.

RedHawke
08-19-2004, 06:39 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.

Yup... and it is still annoying us today. :eyeraise:

I also wish that selling in KOTOR could have been drag and drop, put your sale list on one side and the vendor list on the other and then pick up the item or stack of items and drop them on the merchants side and then a confirm sale box pops up giving you your one last chance, click yes and boom you complete the sale... and do just the opposite to buy items... Oh well.

Achilles
08-19-2004, 06:42 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
Yup... and it is still annoying us today. :eyeraise:

I also wish that selling in KOTOR could have been drag and drop, put your sale list on one side and the vendor list on the other and then pick up the item or stack of items and drop them on the merchants side and then a confirm sale box pops up giving you your one last chance, click yes and boom you complete the sale... and do just the opposite to buy items... Oh well.

Like dungeon siege, but better :D

RedHawke
08-19-2004, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by Achilles
Like dungeon siege, but better :D

I have never played dungeon siege... but if that is how merchants are done in that game, then yeah... like that! :D

*Note to self... look at Dungeon Siege the next time in store*

Achilles
08-19-2004, 07:17 AM
Originally posted by RedHawke
I have never played dungeon siege... but if that is how merchants are done in that game, then yeah... like that! :D

*Note to self... look at Dungeon Siege the next time in store*

They're getting ready to release II soon, so it may pay to wait a little while.

Prime
08-19-2004, 10:44 AM
Originally posted by FiEND_138
Here ya go (http://forums.obsidianent.com/index.php?showtopic=1366). This mostly just deals with the datapads & a new filter. The more I read about this game, the more kick ass it sounds...

jedi_5002
08-26-2004, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.

Use the enter key.

:fett:

Achilles
08-27-2004, 02:06 AM
Originally posted by jedi_5002
Use the enter key.

:fett:
And that does....???

FiEND_138
08-27-2004, 02:12 AM
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins... :)

Achilles
08-27-2004, 02:40 AM
Originally posted by FiEND_138
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins... :)
But my finger still falls off right?

Hey, thanks 5002! Wow... :)

RedHawke
08-27-2004, 03:12 AM
Originally posted by FiEND_138
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins... :)

I din't know about the Enter key either... Thanks Jedi & FiEND! :D

kome566
08-27-2004, 11:46 PM
It would be neat if you could have your own datapad...so you could write in it...like...release anger...love for another....and so on :D :D :D

jedi_5002
08-29-2004, 01:49 AM
^^^Yes it would. Maybe in KotOR:TSL.

Originally posted by Achilles
But my finger still falls off right?

Hey, thanks 5002! Wow... :)

It is a little better than hitting the mouse button for 30 minutes. You can rotate between using your finger, and using you wrist (and, if your chair has arms, it feels much better, than mouse button punching).


Also, you have called me Jedi, you have called me Jedi_5002, now you are calling me 5002.... Make up your damn mind! :rolleyes: :D
I'm just messin' with ya. Please don't take offense.

:fett:

Toa Tahu
09-01-2004, 05:45 AM
They(Bioware) should also allow us to drop items.
Or did they,and I missed it?
Please correct me if I'm wrong,ok?
Just my 2 cents'.:D

Prime
09-01-2004, 07:26 AM
Originally posted by Toa Tahu
They(Bioware) should also allow us to drop items. Or did they,and I missed it? You did miss it. You are able to drop items you don't want into containers...

RedHawke
09-01-2004, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by Prime
You did miss it. You are able to drop items you don't want into containers...

Or sell them to the merchants in the game... at least get some credits for that stuff...