PDA

View Full Version : And PCGamer's senses shattering exclusive is...


Gabrobot
09-08-2004, 10:55 PM
Quake IV!!!!! :)

http://ve3dmedia.ign.com/ve3d/image/pcgamer_nov04cover_1094692403.gif (http://ve3d.ign.com/?fromint=1#545859)

CapNColostomy
09-08-2004, 11:09 PM
Hmmm...Is this one of those "you had to be there" things? I don't get it.

The Truthful Liar
09-08-2004, 11:34 PM
Anything interesting? Will Q4 MP suck as long and hard as D3 did? :p

El Sitherino
09-09-2004, 12:12 AM
I wanna know too.

txa1265
09-09-2004, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by CapNColostomy
Hmmm...Is this one of those "you had to be there" things? I don't get it. What do you mean ... November 2004 PC Gamer will have a 10 pager on Quake IV. Raven developing using Doom III technology. Perhaps it should be stated that the article is not out - just a sneak peak at the cover.
Originally posted by The Truthful Liar
Will Q4 MP suck as long and hard as D3 did? :p Given that Doom III (which I have not played yet, BTW) has been scoring in the high 80's, I'd say that 'sucking' like that wouldn't be a bad goal ...

Mike

CapNColostomy
09-09-2004, 01:11 AM
Originally posted by txa1265
What do you mean ... November 2004 PC Gamer will have a 10 pager on Quake IV. Raven developing using Doom III technology. Perhaps it should be stated that the article is not out - just a sneak peak at the cover.
Given that Doom III (which I have not played yet, BTW) has been scoring in the high 80's, I'd say that 'sucking' like that wouldn't be a bad goal ...

Mike

I guess I mean that you almost do have to be there. Or at least care. Because I hate Quake, UT, etc...so I've not been keeping up on this stuff. And yes, I am a serious gamer. I'm just not into those. Regarding what you said about D3 and it's scores, and Q4's ambitions, I agree. I've not played it either. But this thread has the first complaint I've seen about it.

txa1265
09-09-2004, 02:31 AM
Originally posted by CapNColostomy
I guess I mean that you almost do have to be there. Or at least care. Oh, care ... that makes sense - I thought you didn't understand the post.
Originally posted by CapNColostomy
Because I hate Quake, UT, etc...so I've not been keeping up on this stuff. And yes, I am a serious gamer. I'm just not into those. Similarly, I don't care at all about UT2k3 or 2k4 ... I own UT and Q3, but I'm just not a MP gamer. However, what I loved about Quake and Q2 was the SP action - something I also loved in Painkiller, which reminds me of those titles. Thin story, cool graphics and weapons, balls-to-the-walls furious action.

So what I'm looking forward to is the SP story and action that Raven bring to the table for Q4.

Mike

Anthony
09-09-2004, 03:25 AM
I must be getting my PC Gamer soon. 8D

Sam Fisher
09-09-2004, 03:47 AM
Yeh, I must get it soon :)

Astrotoy7
09-09-2004, 06:51 AM
meh..... when the use the D3 engine for a JK sequel then I might get a bit interested .... ;)

mtfbwya

Mex
09-09-2004, 06:59 AM
Originally posted by Astrotoy7
meh..... when the use the D3 engine for a JK sequel then I might get a bit interested .... ;)

mtfbwya

I wish people would stop being so stupid about a new JK using a Doom 3 engine, it wouldn't happen, and it won't happen. Jeez.

Oh, and I hope that Q4 doesen't turn out to be a flop and trys to focus more on gameplay than graphics (doom 3)

Sam Fisher
09-09-2004, 07:02 AM
Yep, no matter how pretty, you need a good story to uphold the game.

Gabrobot
09-09-2004, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
I wish people would stop being so stupid about a new JK using a Doom 3 engine, it wouldn't happen, and it won't happen. Jeez.

Why not?

Astrotoy7
09-09-2004, 07:40 AM
Originally posted by Gabrobot
Why not?

I know why, coz Pal sells hotdogs down at Lucasarts and he eavesdrops to them saying "No way man, lets spend gazillions and come up with our own engine, it'll be way betterer !" and thats how he knows :D

seriously tho Pal, why not ?


mtfbwya

Mex
09-09-2004, 07:49 AM
The engines netcode is crap, period. Even if you have 2 players on the internet it's as laggy as hell. LA wouldn't put ANY effort into the netcode, because they are too lazy to do that. They'll do the smart thing and wait for a better engine. And the graphics would be over the top and you'd get 2 per frames second everywhere unless you had a x800 or something similar.

txa1265
09-09-2004, 08:24 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
The engines netcode is crap, period. That would imply MP. I say - f*** MP, and give us a great SP game ... let Battlefront be the MP basis ...

Mike

Gabrobot
09-09-2004, 10:30 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
The engines netcode is crap, period. Even if you have 2 players on the internet it's as laggy as hell. LA wouldn't put ANY effort into the netcode, because they are too lazy to do that. They'll do the smart thing and wait for a better engine. And the graphics would be over the top and you'd get 2 per frames second everywhere unless you had a x800 or something similar.

Personally I agree with txa, but you're wrong about the netcode. You must have been playing on a crappy server or something...try some other servers and get the latest patch. Of course Doom 3 engine requires that you have broadband, but that is inevitable for games anyway...if you want the physics you need the bandwidth for them.

In any case, the Dark Forces/Jedi Knight series has always been single player oriented so it would make sense to use the engine best suited for that.

Kain
09-09-2004, 10:53 AM
O MYG0T QUAKE IS S0 1337!!11!!11 I CAN PWN S0 MANY 1AMER N00BS IN QUAKE!!!111 I GOT MADZ R0XX0R 1337 SKILLZ!!!111

...I ****ing hate Quake.

Anthony
09-09-2004, 11:37 AM
I guessed that when I read the first 3 words :p

manoman81
09-09-2004, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
you'd get 2 per frames second everywhere unless you had a x800 or something similar.

Since you put it that way, I would have to agree. I can't imagine playing a game like that on MP without an Alienware cpu that was brand spanking new. The SP would be nice but MP would probably suck because of the lag. Lets see what happens.

Alegis
09-09-2004, 12:18 PM
since raven is busy on Q4 dont think jk will happen for now. but if they release it its definitely on D3 engine. remember, engine is mostly about code, doesnt mean it will have D3 graphics.


Anyways, dustismyfavoritemap i'mgonnapwnsomanynoobs
onitandmaybei canraisemy
rankintheserver
from3to1hewhewhew
not really interested in the game yet

Mex
09-09-2004, 12:21 PM
Originally posted by Gabrobot
Personally I agree with txa, but you're wrong about the netcode. You must have been playing on a crappy server or something...try some other servers and get the latest patch. Of course Doom 3 engine requires that you have broadband, but that is inevitable for games anyway...if you want the physics you need the bandwidth for them.

Theres a patch?! EGADS!

Astrotoy7
09-09-2004, 07:04 PM
Originally posted by manoman81
Since you put it that way, I would have to agree. I can't imagine playing a game like that on MP without an Alienware cpu that was brand spanking new. The SP would be nice but MP would probably suck because of the lag. Lets see what happens.

whatever happens, most of us are prolly gonna need new systems/vid cards :( what happenned to the good ole days when running at 800x600 was considered 'high performance' :p

*sigh* feel so old :p

mtfbwya

Samuel Dravis
09-09-2004, 07:11 PM
Originally posted by Astrotoy7
whatever happens, most of us are prolly gonna need new systems/vid cards :( what happenned to the good ole days when running at 800x600 was considered 'high performance' :p

*sigh* feel so old :p

mtfbwya That wasn't exactly that long ago... One of my top favorite games came out in 2000 in 640x480. No option to change it either. You guessed it, TLJ! :p

toms
09-10-2004, 06:13 AM
hey, another "what engine should the next JK game use" thread... :D

I loved doom, quake, quake 2 etc... but i was always more of a singleplayer than a multiplayer. By Quake 3 i had kind of lost interest... the demo didn't really grab me... and i moved over more to Unreal Tournament (also more of a MP game, but better imho).

I haven't played doom3 yet, but i'm looking forward to it... however i'm gonna be interested to see how flexible the engine is. It doesn't look to me like it would be much use for fast action games, wide open spaces, vehicular combat or large multiplayer.... all of which are currently popular. maybe it is more flexible than it looks though.

At te moment i'd think the ever improving Unreal engine would be a better bet for any JK games... as it is much better at the huge spaces that JK games need.
(i thought JO missed most of the open, vertigo inducing feel of the JK games.)
If i had a choice, i'd like them to use the Prince of Persia engine as i feel its style, spaces and feel would fit a jedi game perfectly.... but of course there wouldn't be much in the way of multiplayer.

Quake 4: meh.... not that bothered.

Prime
09-10-2004, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
LA wouldn't put ANY effort into the netcode, because they are too lazy to do that. I can assure that Lucasarts or any other decently reputable company does not decide not to certain things because they are "lazy". There are many other reasons they don't do things, and many of them stupid. But laziness is not one of them.

They do not have the same motivating factors as a slack-assed 13 year old. :)

Mex
09-10-2004, 09:38 AM
Well to be honest, it seems like they do. Look at JA. It was like a draft peice of work which they didn't care about. They just got half of it done and pushed it out the door.

Spider AL
09-10-2004, 09:41 AM
Well to be honest, it seems like they do. Look at JA. It was like a draft peice of work which they didn't care about. They just got half of it done and pushed it out the door.Care to elaborate on that? IMO It's very slick, is JA.

They do not have the same motivating factors as a slack-assed 13 year old. Quite. Otherwise, the easter-eggs in JA would have been very anime, and very obscene.

txa1265
09-10-2004, 09:54 AM
Originally posted by Pal™
Well to be honest, it seems like they do. Look at JA. It was like a draft peice of work which they didn't care about. They just got half of it done and pushed it out the door. I'm sorry, but I don't think you could be more wrong. I see JA as a labor of love. They had a good game engine and battle system in place with JKII, and now they wanted to add so much of what people liked from JK - the RPG-lite system. They also wanted to visit more classic places, and use a more mission oriented base. I greatly applaud them for that - I like JA better than *any* other non-KotOR game released in 2003, including CoD, etc. It just hit perfectly for me ...

Originally posted by Spider AL
Otherwise, the easter-eggs in JA would have been very anime, and very obscene. No - otherwise the SP game would look like some of the much lamented FFA sessions ... reborn would be making human towers, running around the corner and killing a stormie before they got a shot off would get you called a 'l4m3rz' ... and so on ...

Mike

Prime
09-10-2004, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by txa1265
No - otherwise the SP game would look like some of the much lamented FFA sessions ... reborn would be making human towers, running around the corner and killing a stormie before they got a shot off would get you called a 'l4m3rz' ... and so on ... Actually, the game would just kick you to the desktop, because you would been banned for playing.

Spider AL
09-10-2004, 10:03 AM
I liked the obscene anime idea.

I MEAN... I... Err...

:sweat:

txa1265
09-10-2004, 10:08 AM
Originally posted by Prime
Actually, the game would just kick you to the desktop, because you would been banned for playing. Hey - I've played some games that do that ... maybe they were designed by lazy 13 year old LucasArts spies who infiltrated other companies :eek:

Mike

Gabrobot
09-10-2004, 06:35 PM
Originally posted by toms
I haven't played doom3 yet, but i'm looking forward to it... however i'm gonna be interested to see how flexible the engine is. It doesn't look to me like it would be much use for fast action games, wide open spaces, vehicular combat or large multiplayer.... all of which are currently popular. maybe it is more flexible than it looks though.

Game speed isn't engine dependant (just has to do with how the gameplay was designed), Doom 3 can do vehicles (the SDK will have a level with a six wheel buggy to show off the physics and stuff...Quake IV will have vehicles as well), and multiplayer is only limited if you have a crappy server that can't handle the physics...if they really had to free up bandwidth, they could just do like Source and handle most of the physics client-side, but then those physics objects are useless since shooting an object on one computer will only change that object for that computer and won't effect other people. As for outside stuff, I threw together a 0.6 mi by 0.6 mi terrain test and it ran great...with the proper command or lots of ram I could make an even larger one. Theoretically if you have the ram to compile it, you don't have a size limit. (Note that the ram limit is only for compiling...once compiled you don't need a s*** load of ram to actually run the level) Anyway here's a screenshot of the test I threw together real quick...

http://home.earthlink.net/~elkgarden/shot00002.jpg


Originally posted by toms
Quake 4: meh.... not that bothered.

Quake IV is going to pretend Quake III didn't happen and start as a sequel to Quake II...it's main focus will be on singleplayer (I'd hazard a guess that the dude on the PCGamer cover is a new Strogg grunt)...

acdcfanbill
09-11-2004, 03:59 PM
put in some building and do a com_showfps i wanna see what kind of framerate ur gettting :D

Gabrobot
09-12-2004, 11:29 AM
Good thing I was already called on this in another forum a few weeks ago...I've got a couple screenshots all ready for ya. :D

Same terrain with a few hundred blocks thrown in... (http://home.earthlink.net/~elkgarden/lotsablocks.jpg)

...and with about twenty Hellknights thrown in. (http://home.earthlink.net/~elkgarden/lotsaknights.jpg)

(I've got a Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB card running the game on High settings by the way...screenshots were taken with the Print Screen keyboard butten to preserve the framerate number)

In any case I've heard rumors that the upcoming PCGamer Quake IV preview will have screenshots of some pretty large enviroments...that would fit right in with the leaked concept art and models showing many air and ground vehicles...