PDA

View Full Version : My ping is too high! Help me!!!


Darth_ToMeR
09-22-2004, 12:15 PM
I got the game, played some Single Player and then played multiplayer and ping was like 200! i can't play. Is there something i can do so the ping will be normal?

Iceman_IX
09-22-2004, 12:21 PM
What color was the ping meter? May just be the server. Provide some other info... connection speed/type? Running anything in background (BT, Kazaa, mIRC)? Change the Online settings. Perhaps "Ticks per second" could help you if you lowered it. Increasing I believe would improve performance but take a toll on your system/connection.

Darth_ToMeR
09-22-2004, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by Iceman_IX
What color was the ping meter? May just be the server. Provide some other info... connection speed/type? Running anything in background (BT, Kazaa, mIRC)? Change the Online settings. Perhaps "Ticks per second" could help you if you lowered it. Increasing I believe would improve performance but take a toll on your system/connection.
It was yellow, and other server was the yellow-green. i didn't run anything in the background. I have Cable 750KB. and what is ticks per second?
By the way thanks for the reply

Stylz-TPF-
09-22-2004, 12:41 PM
Are you trying to connect to a specific server? I put up a server and can't even connect to it with SWBF. The server has 24 other players playing on it and I can't even see it in the browse list. The connection has to go through GameSpy, I believe THAT is where the problem lies... Could be a game killer if they don't fix it. Not much fun running a server if you can't even connect to it...

Stylz

Alegis
09-22-2004, 12:41 PM
tar Wars Battlefront
Discuss the combat title, Star Wars Battlefront. Please, only Battlefront related topics here.

Technical Help
Having problems running the game? Search through this board and feel free to ask away if you can't find your solution.


One is for help, other is for discussion.

Iceman_IX
09-22-2004, 12:45 PM
Try joining an all-green server. Their concept of "green" ping definitely varies from what we're all used to. I joined all all-green server and my ping was 80-100. So yellow/yellow-green may be in the 200 range. It's a crappy server browser/network connectivity what can I say.

200 ping is not that bad... it's like good dialup. Probably just the server's fault. I have a T1 connection (university network) and my pings are in the 100 range. Your cable should cut it just gotta find the right server... which is overly hard to do right now.

I'm honestly not sure what Ticks Per Second is. Sounds like "command rate" from a few games I've played in the past but not sure. Probably adjusts overall performance. I'd play around with it. Haven't had the time to do so myself.

ReturnFire
09-22-2004, 01:09 PM
I would assume that the TPS settings in the client are only relevant when you are hosting. Same with the connection speed options.

Darth_ToMeR
09-22-2004, 01:22 PM
Sorry Alegis and thanks for the replies.
I'll try tomorrow join all green server, now i can't find any.
And what this gamespy does?
I know that more servers will be up in a few days, but do you think they'll be lag-free or at least playable?
I live in Israel so europe servers not the best on my PC, but in UT2004 i can play in european servers.

Darth_ToMeR
09-23-2004, 03:38 AM
someone?

Frenchy
09-24-2004, 06:06 PM
There must be a way to improve ping. I even tried a LAN game and i was pinging like 50!!! Any other game i play is like 0-15 on LAN. When i go online, we also get slow ping. Net coding maybe?

Darth_ToMeR
09-25-2004, 05:10 AM
Maybe. They must fix this. Also, the MP browser doesn't show the right ping, i mean, one minute the server is all-green and then red. I'll be waiting for ASE update until i'll play MP.

S31 Apoc
09-25-2004, 07:04 AM
pings are messed up. .I have a colo at www.theplanet.com ingame browser says pings are about 150 to 200.. GSA & x-fire say 40 to 60.. WTF

Its not box because my BFV servers are pinging around 40 to 50 also.. the ingame browser is ****ed up