PDA

View Full Version : Traffic


Hades_21
09-28-2004, 10:55 AM
Hi,

as there are a lot of server admins around here, maybe you can answer my question: How much traffic does a Battlefront server cause per month?

Also; does increasing the tickrate/fps also increase the traffic?

Asking because I plan to run Battlefront on my dedicated server.

Thx in advance :)

Firemann816
09-28-2004, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by Hades_21
How much traffic does a Battlefront server cause per month?

Also; does increasing the tickrate/fps also increase the traffic?

Thx in advance :)

I think the traffic varies proportionately to the number of players (slots) you allow in, and how mych those players like it, come back , and hang around
(So we cant tell ya - accurately my friend Im sorry)
IMHO
The framerate wont increase traffic b/c it seems to me the graphics are all rendered client side.
The server should just be tracking player locations and statistics, AFAIK

Jetstream
09-28-2004, 11:29 PM
He's not asking about graphics fps but tcp fps.

Hades_21
09-29-2004, 12:28 AM
Yeah - sorry, should have been more precise...

I want to run a ~24 slot server - would 160 GB Traffic a month be sufficient if the server is visited somewhat regularly?

GoodVillain
09-29-2004, 12:42 PM
It should as long as you dont set your bandwidth rate too high on the server tool.

phaethon
09-29-2004, 03:08 PM
According to Server Spec given to me. The following is what Lucas says

128kb per 4 player game

thus

32kb per player


a 24 player server would use 768kb

46 megs per minute

2760 megs per hour -----2.7 gig

66240 megs per day ------66.24 gig

1987200 megs per month ----- 1987 gigs per month

this of course if the server was full of players ALL THE TIME !!

At this point I do not have the RAM specs so I am just using the same standard as I do for the Joint Operations / BFV / BHD servers I host

200 megs RAM per game

I have found that to be a good number

hope this helps answer your question :)

GoodVillain
09-30-2004, 07:43 PM
Actually I am running a 32 player server off my cable with no problems so far at 128kb as my bandwidth limit. It will run just fine like this. But if your getting a little lagged you can set it up more to recieve more data.

Keep it low and youll have way more then enough bandwidth. What LA gave was just there recommended specs for running a server.

Awol
10-06-2004, 05:50 AM
phaethon numbers are in bits! Just want to let you people know. I know most hosting companies give you a month usage in bytes as 160 GigaBytes a month. His numbers look up just divide by 8 for bytes :)

Enjoy

can't believe its only 4 KB per player hmm might have to up my player limit as I'm only using half of my bandwidth now.