PDA

View Full Version : Shader problems


TK-425
11-02-2004, 08:26 AM
Hi I want to make the force protection/absorb to have no blue or green effect. So I am working with the effects.shader and close to the bottom of the shader file there is a link to a picture. It was called protect or somthing like that so I put null in place of it but now when I use force protect/absorb it makes the places whare the color changes in the char selection screen turn green or blue when I use either foce power.
Can you help me?

razorace
11-02-2004, 10:09 AM
what's the exact name of the shader you changed?

TK-425
11-02-2004, 02:35 PM
effects.shader

gfx/misc/forceprotect
{
qer_editorimage gfx/effects/p_shield
deformvertexes wave 100 sin 1 1 0 1
{
map gfx/effects/whiteglow
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_COLOR
rgbGen entity
tcGen environment
tcMod rotate 10
tcMod turb 0.6 0.3 0 0.6
tcMod stretch sin 1.5 0.5 0 1
}
{
map gfx/effects/caustic1
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_COLOR
rgbGen entity
tcMod rotate -600
tcMod scale 2 3
}
}

I changed gfx/misc/forceprotect to 'null'

TK-425
11-06-2004, 05:35 AM
Hello?

razorace
11-06-2004, 12:00 PM
Hmmm, interesting. My guess is that it does that even when the shader is normally in place.

I just don't see any other references to that shader in the code.

TK-425
11-06-2004, 02:41 PM
Um I dont think so but whatever:(
But if you find a way to fix this on your way through modding please let me know!

TK-425
11-06-2004, 07:12 PM
What about the shader itself?
Could you change the color in the shader?

razorace
11-06-2004, 08:46 PM
I imagine.

http://www.qeradiant.com/manual/Q3AShader_Manual/

TK-425
11-07-2004, 04:12 AM
Could I change the color to 'null'

Fracman
11-07-2004, 09:38 AM
TK, what do you mean with color "null"?
This one simply doesnt exist...

TK-425
11-07-2004, 02:56 PM
Sorry!
Forgive me I know nothing about shaders.

lassev
11-08-2004, 01:51 AM
You see, you cannot really delete or remove anything that's in the assets#.pk3s. So, if you want to get rid of this effect, you need to replace it with something. But you can't replace something with nothing, as that would be removing in all but name. That's why you need to modify that shader entry in such a way that it's very simple, and doesn't actually look like anything in game - in practice: Null it.

What those modifications really are in code, that's for you to decide and make. One obvious solution might be to have only one totally transparent shader layer (change the texture appropriately).

And you can't do things like this unless you learn something about shaders.

TK-425
11-10-2004, 06:34 AM
Ok, I may have fixed it.
But now I would like to know what shader contains the effect for force rage:confused:

TK-425
11-10-2004, 02:53 PM
Well I didnt fix it I changed the protect image to an invisible pic and it didnt fix it.
Does anyone know of any way to get rid of the color used for this effect?