PDA

View Full Version : Anyone still play Darkforces


Armydude71490
11-13-2004, 11:29 AM
If any one still plays dark forces I suggest you use this site
It is regurlarly updated and has an active forum:
http://www.df-21.net/

It also has a healthy supply of maps to keep you going for a while!

The map I would suggest to dl if you just like to shoot the crap out of stuff is the map The Danger Room!
http://df-21.net/downloads/missions/dangroom.zip

I love Dark forces!!!

90SK
11-13-2004, 01:39 PM
I would play it, but my PC won't run it properly (Its too old a game:( ). I'm now waiting with baited breath for the DF mod for JA. By the looks of the demo, I think we are in for a HUGE treat.:)

MikeGunther1969
11-13-2004, 10:56 PM
I play it when I can, I have both versions,(DOS and the 95/98 version with 3 level JK demo) but neither play worth a shyt on WinXP. Most of the time it runs OK with VDM(90%) running it with DOSBox just plain doesn't happen. I get an error message unable to open LOCAL.MSG. I guess I will just have to buy an old PC and build it like I need to, because I have a buttload of older games I still wanna play. Anyone know where I can get a nice Win98 PC with a soundblaster16 and a good 32mb 3dfx card?:swear:

-BLaCKouT-
11-14-2004, 05:41 AM
Yup, I still play it. LOVE that game! :D

B.

txa1265
11-15-2004, 02:50 AM
It plays like a dream on my Mac ;) And in double graphics resolution and improved sound as well. (LucasArts put out things as 'Mac Enhanced' back in those days)

(it is amazing that although the MacOS has gone through a major kernel shift, and the processor from CISC to RISC, that it still plays great, while the PC version, despite seeing much more minor OS and CPU changes, doesn't)

I actually played through the first four levels after completing the 3-level DFMod demo.

Mike

Armydude71490
11-16-2004, 03:23 PM
I saw a thread on the site in my first post on how to make it run like a dream on an XP!

I have to swhich to my old comp to play mine though!
I love new maps!

Lt. Nebfer
12-14-2004, 10:41 AM
I played it recenly

Kurgan
01-21-2005, 02:45 PM
You CAN play it on modern computers, there is a sticky explaining how. If not here, check the DF Mod forum and you'll see...

Shadowen
02-13-2005, 08:34 PM
I would if I could find my damn disc.

txa1265
02-15-2005, 02:47 AM
Originally posted by Shadowen
I would if I could find my damn disc. I just found my PC disk, wanted to have it on my 'ultra-portable' PC laptop ... boy the Mac version looks *so* much better ... but it still plays like one of my favorite games ever!

Mike

Kurgan
03-25-2005, 10:31 PM
I realize this is a thread revival, but anyone with the Mac version or access to it want to post some comparison screenshots? I've always wondered just how much better the Mac OS version looked than the DOS/Windows...

Thanks!

txa1265
03-26-2005, 10:44 AM
I will see what I can do ... I just reinstalled my DOS version as well. To compare qualitatively, take JKII and put it as 640 x 480 ... then change to 1280 x 960. See a difference? ;)

Mike

Katarn07
04-18-2005, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by txa1265
I will see what I can do ... I just reinstalled my DOS version as well. To compare qualitatively, take JKII and put it as 640 x 480 ... then change to 1280 x 960. See a difference? ;)

Mike

I played JK on 640 x 480 on my first PC! I had a helluva time even getting it running. It always gave me some error and when I finally got it running, it was in the lowest setting possible. The gameplay screen was so tiny, I couldn't see anything. I eventually found out how to fix it.

Anyhow, back on topic, I've seen the comparison shots somewhere. It was in the DF/ JA Mod forum but that was ages ago. The Mac version is so much cleaner looking. Wonder what it looks like in action.

Kurgan
08-01-2005, 02:59 AM
Any updates on the pic search?

txa1265
08-01-2005, 07:37 AM
I had posted something before the servers got hosed ... I recently cleaned my ccomputer, wonder if I have to do it again or if I saved the screens ...

Mike

Babb
08-01-2005, 07:57 PM
how can i play online, i cant figure it out help!!!!!!!!!

TK-8252
08-01-2005, 07:59 PM
Uh... Dark Forces doesn't have multiplayer.

Kurgan
08-02-2005, 12:41 AM
Unless he was talking about Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight... ;)

Even if he meant the Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy, you can load the maps in Coop mode, but they crash. You can't play them online (yet).

CortoCG
08-08-2005, 05:03 PM
I still have it installed to check some stuff out from time to time, but it runs a lil sluggish. Since I mostly do player models or animation, I don't usually take reference on the original game =P.

txa1265
08-08-2005, 05:16 PM
My DOS version got wiped when my hard disk needed reformatting a while back, and I just got it going again ... thanks to VDMSound ... but I have been unable to get screenshots working - perhaps I'll have to try an older laptop for that ...

But having played some on my Mac yesterday and the PC today ... it really is much different. I just hope to have the screens someday to show it ;)

Mike

mivoci1
11-08-2006, 10:33 PM
I play on xp and I must say best SW game ever better than KOTOR I

darthyorktown
03-19-2007, 05:24 PM
Awesome game. The enemies are kinda dumb and like cardboard figures though. :giggle1:

-BLaCKouT-
03-19-2007, 08:18 PM
The AI's what I like about 'em :xp: I can live with the 2D-ness if it means I'm winning...