PDA

View Full Version : Need help with new computer


Clemme w/Stick
11-22-2004, 06:54 AM
Well, thing is, I bought a new motherboard + cpu + ram the other day.

Its an ASUS P4P800 Deluxe Motherboard (Ask for specifications).
2x PC3200, 256 DDR Ram blocks.
With an Intel Pentium 4 Prescott processor.

I have a ASUS Nvidia GForce 4 Ti4400 128 MB Ram graphics card.

Now heres the deal. The computer runs fine and all, I only have 2 problems with it. 1: It crashes games more often than my old computer did, and it says that theres no sound card in the damn thing. :mad: It crashes the games with about 2 flicks on the screen, and then freezes up, totally, nothing else to do other than reboot, and it does that fast (Crashes). I have the newest graphics drivers for my card, so that shouldnt be the problem. I even tried installing some older drivers to try and compensate for it, and see if that fixed the problems, but no. Now I really dont know what to do, and it upsets me, because I'll be getting World of Warcraft this friday, and I want it to run without problems. What should I do here? Anyone know?

2nd problem is the sound card. When I DL'ed the drivers and tried installing them I got this error: Driver not found! Reboot your system and run this setup again. So I did, and guess what, I got the same error....again. Now I went to control panel to see if I could find the sound card, and the computer tells me that theres no sound card to be found. Sounds really strange if you ask me. How can I fix that porblem?

Any help here would be really appriciated. Thx for your time, and I know you swampies wont let me down.

-Clemme

Sivy
11-22-2004, 07:08 AM
has the motherboard got on-board video? if so then you need to disable it in the bios otherwise there will be a confict.

run dxdiag by clicking on start, then run, then type in dxdiag.

this will tell you if there are any driver problems.

as for the soundcard, is that on-board? if so then it might be disabled in the BIOS.

Clemme w/Stick
11-22-2004, 11:56 AM
Thx Siv.
I ran dxdiag, and checked for problems. It said that there was no problems with the graphics drivers or anything of that sort. As for the Sound card, it said that there wasnt any sound card on the computer. Yes, its an onboard sound card. I will check the bios to see if its been disabled. As for the graphics card, what should I do?

-Clemme

Treacherous Mercenary
11-22-2004, 01:45 PM
How hot does the Prescott run? Those processors are known to run HOT!

acdcfanbill
11-22-2004, 09:14 PM
for onboard stuff, goto your mobo mfg's site and make sure all drivers are up to date.

Clemme w/Stick
11-23-2004, 08:15 AM
Originally posted by Treacherous Mercenary
How hot does the Prescott run? Those processors are known to run HOT!

I know, right now it runs at a steady 36-40 degrees centigrate.

-Clemme

Sabretooth
11-24-2004, 02:38 AM
Maybe you don't have a sound card... :indif:

OK, bad joke, but to compensate, here's something...

For the games, try reinstalling DirectX 9.0c. If there is no change, go back one step to Direct X 9.0b.

Clemme w/Stick
11-24-2004, 06:10 AM
I'm going back to directx 9.0b. I think that 9.0c might have been the problem, since my computer doesnt crash counter-strike. However it crashed both Battlefront and Need for Speed Underground 2. Well, they're both .bins and .cue files, but I doubt that its a factor. I decided to go back to 9.0b since that was the directx on my old computer.

Anyway, I got the sound working. A trip to the bios and that did the trick. Stupid me.

-Clemme

edlib
11-24-2004, 07:38 AM
See if there's a new flash for your BIOS on the web. It's amazing how many of these types of problems are often related to an early BIOS revision.

Clemme w/Stick
11-25-2004, 07:28 AM
I think I may have located the problem.
As I was playing NFSU2, Asus Probe suddenly started to act wierd, and I got out of the game to see what the problem was. Guess what? It showed that my 3,3 volt cord, only got about 2,8-2,9 volt when I was playing. Well, if this is the case, then it can be solved by getting a new PSU. I really hope that this will be the end of it, especially since I get WoW Europe Beta tomorrow. But if thats not the problem, then what the hell should I do? Anyway, a friend of mine is kind enough to let me borrow his PSU, since he gets some sort of shuttle thingy tomorrow anyway.

-Clemme

Treacherous Mercenary
11-25-2004, 08:38 AM
I'd highly recommend Antec Truepower supplies! I got a 430 Watt PSU and it made a difference from the Turbolink generic 420 Watt PSU. Only 10 extra wattage yes, but it has 12, 3.3, 5 rails seperate for power, etc. :) Couldn't be happier.

Clemme w/Stick
12-03-2004, 10:05 AM
Nice... and how much was that 430 watt psu?

-Clemme