PDA

View Full Version : PS2 Region format?


jon_hill987
11-22-2004, 06:27 AM
Dont have one and I'm not going to get one but one of my friends would like to know "Does the PS2 have a region format or will American games work on the UK console?"

acdcfanbill
11-22-2004, 08:05 PM
euro games will be PAL and american games will be NTSC. so to the best of my knowledge they arnt interchaingable.

jon_hill987
11-22-2004, 11:34 PM
Thanx, anyone else more sure?

if not I'll just pass that on.

Boba Rhett
11-23-2004, 12:03 AM
Playstations have a security chip which will only allow your unit to read discs that offer the correct country password. So he'd need a mod chip (http://www.modchip.com/ps2/).

Astrotoy7
11-23-2004, 03:53 AM
Originally posted by Boba Rhett
Playstations have a security chip which will only allow your unit to read discs that offer the correct country password. So he'd need a mod chip (http://www.modchip.com/ps2/).

This is true :D There are many different apparatus for playing any region or backed up games, but modchips are by far the easiest...
I recently had a modchip installed and it is by far the coolest thing ever to have happenned to my ps2 :D

mtfbwya