PDA

View Full Version : What do you Have?


jon_hill987
11-26-2004, 03:00 PM
I have a laptop, not so good for gaming I know but for Uni its brilliant, mainly because it's so portable. It also means you never have to stoop to this...

http://www.reichnation.com/uploads/lucasforums.jpg (Rhett's Pic from the funny pic thread) you just stick the laptop on your bed.

Anyway what sort of computer does everyone have? mine is getting a bit old now:
AMD Athlon XP-M 2400+
64Mb Ati Radion M graphics
512Mb RAM (minus what the graphics card uses)

This thread has probably been done before but I ain't seen one recently so here is you chance to gloat about your megafasthyper computer or moan about your Pentium 100MHz.

Evil Dark Jedi
11-26-2004, 03:22 PM
A new laptop and a old computer. Which is the one I am on now.

Anthony
11-26-2004, 03:22 PM
Pentium 4 2.8GHZ
ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128MB
1024MB of RAM
SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x80GB 7,200RPM hard drives

Leper Messiah
11-26-2004, 03:29 PM
Athlon 1.3 ghz
128mb 3d whatsit i think, i forget exactly what the brand is
256 RAM
1x40 GB hard disk (plus my MP3 player which can hold 10GB of data)

Dath Maximus
11-26-2004, 04:11 PM
*holds up a picture of the Hal 9000*

need i say more

BongoBob
11-26-2004, 04:13 PM
X )

Get ready for my uber 1337 c0mput0r

AMD Athlon XP+ 2000
S3 Graphics Prosavage DDR 32MB
256 MB
60GB HD

And that's my parents comp, which is better than mine. I'll try to dig up my comps specs :D

Rogue Nine
11-26-2004, 04:50 PM
Desktop

Intel Pentium 4 /w Hyper-Threading @ 3.0 GHz Northwood CPU
1GB Corsair XMS PC3200 DDR RAM
ASUS "P5GD2" 915P Intel Mobo (dunno the specs, but a crapload of USB 2.0 and Firewire ports)
250GB Maxtor SATA HD @ 7200 RPM (still haven't used it all, got about 120 GB free)
8x8 Pioneer DVD +/- RW drive
52x32x52 Samsung CD-RW drive
PNY Technologies nVIDIA Quadro4 750XGL AGP /w 128MB RAM video card
Logitech Optical Cordless USB Mouse
Logitech iTouch Internet Keyboard
Compaq 21" CRT monitor @ 1280x1024
Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 Speaker system
Turtle Beach "Santa Cruz" 6-channel PCI sound card
Windows XP Professional SP2

Laptop (really my mum's but she rarely ever uses it, so by default is mine, typing on it as we speak, since I'm home at the moment)

Intel Pentium M @ 1.7 GHz Banias CPU
512MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM
Not to sure on the mobo, laptop mobos are still kinda new to me
40GB Hitachi HD @ 5400 RPM (not sure on this one, could be 7200 RPM, didn't really check)
DVD-RW drive (dunno the make and model)
128MB ATi Mobility Radeon 7500 video card
Intel PRO Wireless 802.11b/g card
Kensington PocketMouse Pro optical USB mouse (That little red thing in the middle of the keyboard is ghastly and I refuse to use it)
Standard IBM laptop keyboard
14.1" TFT LCD @ 1024x768
Windows XP Professional SP2

RoxStar
11-26-2004, 04:56 PM
*Points you to RCN (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=133909)*

StormHammer
11-26-2004, 04:57 PM
Athlon 850mhz
256Mb PC100 SDRAM
Geforce FX5900 with 256Mb DDR
Asus MoBo
Soundblaster Live card
1 x 40 and 1 x 80 GB IDE HDD (both 7200 rpm)
A crap CD Writer and a bog-standard generic DVD-rom drive
19" NF Iiyaama Vision Master Pro 450 monitor (best monitor I've ever had on a comp)
Logitech keyboard and MX500 mouse


The computer was bought 4.5 years ago, and the only thing I've upgraded is the graphics card and a second hard disk.

I badly need an upgrade.

RoxStar
11-26-2004, 05:10 PM
Bah, just a new processor. Everything else is fine.

Darth333
11-26-2004, 05:20 PM
5 computers (I keep my old crappy comps) but my latest acquisition is:

Athlon64 3400+
1 Gb DDR-RAM
MoBo: MSI K8T Neo 2 FIS2R
2 hdd: 120G W.D. SATA and 120G IDE
ATI radeon 9800 pro

Leper Messiah
11-26-2004, 06:12 PM
Originally posted by Dave Grohl
*Points you to RCN (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=133909)*

why exactly? shock horror a similar thread on another area of lucasforums :p

Agen
11-26-2004, 06:19 PM
Name: Astonishing Tortoise :P
AMD Athlon ThunderBird 1.4 GHZ
Radeon 9200
512mb Ram
120GB HD

Boo to that.

swphreak
11-26-2004, 07:09 PM
Laptop:
Pentium IV 3.4 GHz
1gig RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 PRO
60gig HD (6gigs free <.<)

ET Warrior
11-26-2004, 08:04 PM
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
60gig HD (6gigs free <.<)

Delete that pr0n and you'll have like, 50 gigs free :p

Astrotoy7
11-26-2004, 09:59 PM
I have 2 compys. The older one is the "chicks compy" and only used by my gf and her daughter. Its about 4 years old now..
IBM P3 800
256 RAM
16 Mb grafix :(
20 GB HDD
DVDRW 8x
SD card slot

My pride and joy and fave toy is actually not owned by me. Its a Toshiba satellite 5200(nicknamed TOSHI). The lease is paid for by my work :D at the end of the lease(next year) I get to upgrade. Lordy knows how I convinced work to get me a $5999 RRP notebook which I only use minimally for work purposes !

anyways - ive just copy and pasted what dxdiag says...

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/27/2004, 18:38:29
Machine name: TOSHI
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 1 (2600.xpsp2_gdr.040517-1325)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
System Model: Satellite 5200
BIOS: v1.30
Processor: Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 - M CPU 2.40GHz, ~2.4GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 225MB used, 1023MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
60 gig HDD - 30 gig free atm
harman/kardon speakers ! BOOM !

grafix - nVidia Ge ForceFX5600 Go 64 mb(I dont use it superly for gaming, mainly just NWN atm, waiting for KOTOR2
it also has firewire which is very important for me as I edit a lot of digital audio/video :D plus is wireless enabled to sync with pda and mobile phone :D

heres a pic of it when I was young and silly and still playin JO
http://www.myimgs.com/data/astrotoy7/AstrosToshi.jpg

mtfbwya

Darth Groovy
11-26-2004, 10:08 PM
Well, this is my rig:

http://www.themanipulation.com/images/casperspeak.jpg

And this is my connection:

http://www.themanipulation.com/images/connections.jpg

UT2K4 anyone? :p

Thrawn42689
11-26-2004, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by jon_hill987
http://www.reichnation.com/uploads/lucasforums.jpg

Genius. Why did I not think of this?

BawBag™
11-27-2004, 12:55 AM
Athlon 3Ghz Processor
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb
160Gb Hard Drive

Thats all I can remember. :o

jon_hill987
11-27-2004, 01:42 AM
Originally posted by Thrawn42689
Genius. Why did I not think of this?

When I was writing I was actually on my bed with my laptop.

Just as I thought, most peoples PCs (with the notable exception of Groovy's Rig) are better than mine, gonna build myself a new one with whats left of my student lone at the end of the year. Or maybe I will wait till after my "year in industry", I'll have even more money then.

--ZeeMan--
11-27-2004, 06:30 AM
umm......

amd 1700+
geforce fx 5200 256mb
256 mb ram
150 gig hd (120, 30)

Leper Messiah
11-27-2004, 06:54 AM
Originally posted by Darth Groovy
Well, this is my rig:

http://www.themanipulation.com/images/casperspeak.jpg

And this is my connection:

http://www.themanipulation.com/images/connections.jpg

UT2K4 anyone? :p

awesome :D better than having a system with Millenium Edition at any rate

jon_hill987
11-27-2004, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by Leper Messiah
awesome :D better than having a system with Millenium Edition at any rate

Yes, well anything is better than an ME system isn't it. well anything with better than 30% uptime anyway.

I cant believe you got to "Wookiee" before me, do you have nothing to do?:p

Leper Messiah
11-27-2004, 07:08 AM
Originally posted by jon_hill987
Yes, well anything is better than an ME system isn't it. well anything with better than 30% uptime anyway.

I cant believe you got to "Wookiee" before me, do you have nothing to do?:p

tsk im just more dedicated than you is all :p

and just think, i got there first despite ME trying to sabotage me by crashing at least once every two seconds :D

EDIT: Would you like a Wookie Cookie to cheer you up?

swphreak
11-27-2004, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by ET Warrior
Delete that pr0n and you'll have like, 50 gigs free :p

I'll have you know my porn is not stored on my HD. I just have a lot lot of games installed...

Agen
11-27-2004, 01:49 PM
Japanese Porno games.

jon_hill987
11-27-2004, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
I'll have you know my porn is not stored on my HD.

Yep, thats what CD burners can do...

Anthony
11-27-2004, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by Astrotoy7

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/27/2004, 18:38:29
Machine name: TOSHI
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 1 (2600.xpsp2_gdr.040517-1325)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
System Model: Satellite 5200
BIOS: v1.30
Processor: Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 - M CPU 2.40GHz, ~2.4GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 225MB used, 1023MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
60 gig HDD - 30 gig free atm
harman/kardon speakers ! BOOM !

grafix - nVidia Ge ForceFX5600 Go 64 mb(I dont use it superly for gaming, mainly just NWN atm, waiting for KOTOR2
it also has firewire which is very important for me as I edit a lot of digital audio/video :D plus is wireless enabled to sync with pda and mobile phone :D

heres a pic of it when I was young and silly and still playin JO
http://www.myimgs.com/data/astrotoy7/AstrosToshi.jpg

mtfbwya

That sound AWFULLY a lot like my/my dads laptop.

Got the same one. :p

As for my Uber heavily upgraded 80 dollar computer...

1.6GHZ AMD Duron
1024MB of RAM PC266 (lots but suck)
ATI Radeon 9600 pro
20 GB HD
160GB HD


Thats my backup/storage/game server computer. fun.

Captain Wilson
11-27-2004, 04:06 PM
pet 4ht 3066 mhz
ati radon 9800 pro
RAM 1024
HDD 180 gb
HDD 2 120 gb

Thats all i rember

Treacherous Mercenary
11-27-2004, 07:17 PM
AMD Athlon XP 2100+ 1.7Ghz
MSI K7N2 nForce2 Mother board (w/ Vantec Northbridge cooler)
512MB DDR333 Ram (w/ Vantec Ram heatspreader)
ATi Radeon 9700 Pro (w/ VGA Silencer and OCZ BGA ram sinks)
WD 60GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value (On the way Monday/Tuesday)
Creative Inspire 5.1 Speakers
Logitech MX500 mouse
Logitech keyboard standard
Chenming Full Tower Case
19" Gateway Monitor
MSI 52x CD Drive
Lite On 24x10x40x CD Burner
Antec 430 Watt PSU

Upgrades:
AMD Athlon 2500+ Mobile
Abit NF7-S (Rev 2)
OCZ 512MB Dual Channel memory (PC3200)
Lite-On 16X DVD Dual layer (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=27-106-961&depa=0)
Thermalright Copper Chipset Cooler
Thermalright SI-97
Thermaltake Thunderblade multi-LED flash function (x4)
WD 80GB HDD with 8MB Cache
D-Link 10/100Mbps PCI Ethernet Adapter

I shall have images later, but they may be quite a bit if I do take some. :p

El Sitherino
11-27-2004, 10:25 PM
AMD Athlon XP 2000+
1.66 GHz
512 MB RAM
GeForce2 + GeForce4 mx440
2 HDs:120 Gig Western Digital and 80 Gig Maxtor, 1 free 20 gig Western Digital.
Creative Labs Audigy 2
creative labs 5.1 surround sound speakers

Sabretooth
11-28-2004, 01:50 AM
OK...


Pentium III 1.0 GHz
512 MB RAM
nVidia Riva TNT2 Model 64
Creative Vibra 128
Windows 98 SE
Samsung 40X RW
Creative iNFRA 52X CD-ROM Drive
Samsung 80 GB Hard-Drive+Seagate 10GB Hard-Drive
Sony Floppy Drive (Sucky)
Mercury Speakers
Microphone
Microtek Low Radiation Monitor
BenQ 110 Key Keyboard
Logitech Black Optical Mouse


okay, Start Laughing.

Nalukai
11-28-2004, 06:15 AM
compaq deskpro

1.8 gig celeron
512 DDR ram
24x dvd +/- RW
48x CD/RW
ATI TV wonder remote edition
NVidia GeForce 4000 mx 64 mb
20 gb 7200 rpm hard drive

still cant play crap...:(

jon_hill987
11-28-2004, 07:20 AM
Originally posted by Nalukai
still cant play crap...:(

I find that aswell. Though my computer is at or just above the minimum spec for new games such as doom there is no way I can play them. The minimum spec for doom are well off, It barely runs on my brothers computer and that is much better than mine.

jon_hill987
11-28-2004, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by jon_hill987
gonna build myself a new one with whats left of my student lone at the end of the year.

Or maybe not, I just looked at the prices. I'm gonna need a lot of money left over to pay for what I want to build:

The best AMD 64 at the time of construction
2Gig of RAM
A good Ati Graphics Card (still undecided)
+All the trimmings

I have an old monitor, mouse and keyboard that would do so that can wait.

That is still going to = one hellava lot more than I can afford.

Nalukai
11-28-2004, 12:23 PM
there is a gforce cyclone at best buy that is specifically made to handle dOOm 3..

downside is that its $449 but you should see it in action.. whoa nelly!@

Treacherous Mercenary
11-28-2004, 01:12 PM
Originally posted by Nalukai
there is a gforce cyclone at best buy that is specifically made to handle dOOm 3..

downside is that its $449 but you should see it in action.. whoa nelly!@

Sounds like the Geforce 6800 GT there. :)

TiE23
11-29-2004, 08:15 PM
Hmmm

Down Stairs Computer
3.2 ghz Pentium 4
1 gig of RAM
FX5700LE OC 256mb (Ant, getting 9800 soon, wasn't on sale >_<)
2x120gb HDs
DVD/CD/CD Burner Drive
Half-Life 2 Stress Test Results: 34.97 fps

Upstairs Computer
1.8 ghz Pentium 4
512 MB RAM
FX5200 Ultra 128mb
One 20gb and one 80gb HDs
One CD Drive
One CD Drive/Burner

TiE

narfblat
11-29-2004, 09:40 PM
Compy 386
Hard Drive: not hard enough. I broke it.
floppy disk drive: this disk drive doesn't flop. I don't get it.
ram: I don't want a sheep in my computer.
Virus count: 423,827
[/strong bad]

1.833 GH cpu
ATI 9800 pro
512 meg ram
60 gig hard drive
Viruses found: 1 (known as "Windows)