PDA

View Full Version : Endor Siege


Pages : 1 [2]

monsoontide
11-06-2005, 04:01 PM
Well I just finished the Bot Routing on the second map thismorning and its all good to go (though I may redo it tonight after work).
Was going to have this ready earlier but decided to totally redo the generaotr part of the map and move the combat in there...
Makes a lot more sense gamplay wise.
All the objectives work and everything seems to be working properly.
So my goal tonight after work is to redo the bot routing, double check I've included ALL the files this time (LOL) and then upload the file....
Hope you will give it a try this time - there should be far fewer problems this time around!!! (Fingers crossed!)

razorace
11-06-2005, 05:13 PM
You mean TABBot routing or just normal bot routing?

monsoontide
11-06-2005, 05:44 PM
Just regular routing at the moment...
You'll have to edificate me on TABBot routing... I haven't really been keeping up with the mods, since I don't use any myself.

monsoontide
11-07-2005, 02:34 AM
OK!!! It's up!
http://www.pcgamemods.com/screenshot/77303.html#focus
http://www.pcgamemods.com/screenshot/77298.html#focus
get it Now!!! LOL
http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/16861.html

razorace
11-07-2005, 06:38 AM
Just regular routing at the moment...
You'll have to edificate me on TABBot routing... I haven't really been keeping up with the mods, since I don't use any myself.

TABBots are the bots I wrote for OJP that are capable of playing Siege. I'm surprised you haven't heard of it as basejka doesn't allow bots in Siege as far as I know.

monsoontide
11-07-2005, 07:05 AM
The bots work fine, they just really can't complete objectives for you... but they will still run around trying to gun you down!

razorace
11-07-2005, 01:05 PM
I thought basejka just wouldn't allow you to add bots while in the Siege gametype?

CerberuS_21
11-07-2005, 01:21 PM
I thought basejka just wouldn't allow you to add bots while in the Siege gametype?
You can add them manually (via /addbot) - cvars like e.g. bot_minplayers don't work though afaik.

razorace
11-07-2005, 03:49 PM
Gotcha. I figured it was something like that.

monsoontide
11-08-2005, 04:46 AM
So uh... anyone apart from me (LOL) managed to play the maps successfully?

Kurgan
11-12-2005, 02:11 PM
I plan to give them another shot tonight or tomorrow. ;)

As for the objectives thing, you could at least have the bots run into each of the areas that would be "activated" by their presence. Bots also (IIRC) automatically are hitting "use" all the time (at least in OJP they are), so you could have them periodically run into "usable" switches in order to simulate those objectives being completed. Just some suggestions anyway...

Razor would have to help you in regards to having the bots actually do the more complex stuff. ;)

Kurgan
11-12-2005, 02:45 PM
Okay I just tried it, and the graphics look fine (great, actually) now that I've got the proper ATST pilot installed, no noticable missing things. However, I add one bot (bot_minplayers 2) and the announcer says "3... 2... 1..." and then the sound repeats itself over and over as the screen freezes (on 1) and I am forced to reboot my computer. ;P

So still no dice...

razorace
11-12-2005, 04:15 PM
I've been told that OJP Basic currently crashes when it tries to load bots onto this map. I suspect that it's doing that due to bots not supporting the way he did the triggers. I'll check it out after I'm done with the holster weapon code.

Kurgan
11-12-2005, 07:46 PM
Ah that must be it then. I'll remove OJP's pk3's from my base folder and try it again (after I get home from the movies).

Kurgan
11-14-2005, 12:47 AM
Okay, I played and beat it, wow, nice. I wish the AI would attack me or do something other than run around like chickens with their heads cut off (I mean the NPC's, not the bots, which seem fine). This really needs OJP compatability!

One thing that was a little odd was how the torches would hurt you as you ran up those narrow walkways. I mean sure, it's realistic, but you feel pretty silly when it happens!

Again, you could probably cut down on the file size by just using the generic "Announcer" objective completed messages... but I'm sure you're proud of the custom ones you created. ;) Maybe you could make it a seperate download, for "enhancement"?

The objectives are interesting. I noticed there's no timer like on the other Siege maps. I assume that was intentional... I have no idea if it's balanced or not, since I was playing it alone of course.

I mean you're "hacking" into a big glowing beam of light, right? Hmm... couldn't you put like a little control panel or something to make it seem a bit more natural? Just a suggestion. ;)

Can't wait to see the other maps! I want to see Ewoks and things... :ewok

monsoontide
11-14-2005, 07:22 PM
Hooray! Glad you finally managed to get it to work Kurgan.
I originally had a little platform thing that you stood on for each objective - but they were kinda hard to find...
Setting the triggers to "use" is the only I can think of to impose a time limit to make you stand within the beam for a set period of time to trigger the objectives.
I'm still working on getting the NPC's to do stuff. Currently you can't even you force powers on them. I had them all set up to use a different script which I tested out in my test map - but when I put them into the actual map, they stopped moving and just stood there. So still sorting that one out.
There's actually a C3PO in one of the huts in the ewok village, but he's invisable until you "use" him... (Not sure why that happens!) Anyway, when used, he spawns some Ewok NPC's to help the Rebels. Still working on getting that to work properly - at least the Ewoks are the right size (though they are armed with blasters!!!)

I've been working on the main "Bunker" map.
All the basic stuff is in place and I have the log traps working - after a fashion LOL (though will probably end up scripting the events) - at least they will destroy AT-ST's if they walk into the traps!
Also added a launch platform for the Ewok Gliders (If I ever get the MD3 models turned into vehicles!)
Started placing the trees last night. Will need a bunch of them to make this map work!
So I have to double the number of trees and then get the Objectives in place.
Will probably have to add fog or something so that there's not quite so much in view at one time.
Also been working on getting the Rebel Commando player model ready for weighting.

monsoontide
11-17-2005, 09:07 PM
Some good news....
While I've been busy working on getting the 3rd map ready for BETA testing, I've had some help from >][V][< over at Hapslash's void and we now have the Rebel Commando player model working and in game!
I just have to finish the skins for it as they're just temp ones for now...
Will post some screenshots when I can... or you can have a look here:
http://s9.invisionfree.com/Hapslashs_Void/index.php?showtopic=977

monsoontide
11-18-2005, 01:43 AM
OK here's the Ewok Glider model
http://img466.imageshack.us/img466/5628/gliderrender9rl.th.jpg (http://img466.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gliderrender9rl.jpg)

Currently it's just an in-map model - but I'm hoping to make it into a playable vehicle!!!
Yep, tall order! LOL

monsoontide
11-21-2005, 09:25 PM
OK.. making progress...
All the objectives are in place... but still need a wee bit more testing.
Nearly all the traps are working (After a crude fashion - which I hope to refine through scripting before the final release)
Having a wee bit of trouble with the fog though - my transparent shaders show up as BLACK through the fog, which looks nasty... Does anyone know a solution for this?
The whole thing really needs more undergrowth but its not really practical as that KILLS the frame rate.
Hope to have this allready for BETA release some time late this weekend.

Pahricida
11-22-2005, 08:41 AM
By now I've managed to test them myself. Impressive work, especially the AT-AT Bay. I had also started that area but I couldn't think of what the big Base Part should look like.

Sadly there are no servers running the maps so I was forced to play them in FFA with crap bots. :D

Kurgan
11-28-2005, 12:30 AM
You can play them offline in Siege mode you know (use the console). You don't have to put it into FFA mode in order to play... just FYI.

I'm back from vacation now. Is there a new version I can mirror on my page and test out? I don't have much time as finals are coming up, but I'll help any way I can, as always!

You can email me the files zipped up at kurganx@comcast.net and make sure you give a good descriptive subject line (or my spam filter might trash it)!

PS: Has the glitch that makes your map crash when using OJP been fixed yet? It really would be nice to use the improved TAB bots with it!

I see I'm not registered for your forum (maybe I will later if I have time), so...

PPS: As to your Endor trooper, I like it a lot, and I agree with people that the gloves should be toned down (too neon like!). As for the team skins, I honestly would go with red and blue camo. Might seem silly, but remember in those CTF maps there are blue and red areas they could "blend into" heh. Having them use different colors would just stand out far too much and lead to more confusion. Having urban and desert camo is still a good idea, but keep the red and blue for CTF and Team FFA I say.

And if you're going for the full effect, it would be awesome to see Han Solo in a "camo trenchcoat" like he has in the movie! ;)

I really like the progress of this mod, and I'm glad you're not just copying Battlefront... I hope you keep the movie-like elements and retain the JKA feel, despite all the cool embelishments. Can't wait to see test the next beta!

razorace
11-28-2005, 03:39 AM
I haven't gotten around to making the TABBots work on the map yet. Too busy so far.

Shao_X
11-28-2005, 09:04 AM
You should consider turning this concept into a Movie Battles II (http://www.moviebattles.com) map.

monsoontide
11-29-2005, 01:21 AM
Map 3 BETA TEST Released!

http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/16861.html

Of the three maps this one is the least polished at the moment.
Needs considerable work - especially scripting and some help working out why my transparent shaders show up as BLACK through the fog.
Also didn't have time to do the bot routes or NPC routes on this one yet.
Let me know what you think and if any of the files are missing!!!

monsoontide
12-01-2005, 03:14 AM
Any feedback?
Any at all....

acdcfanbill
12-01-2005, 04:44 AM
very cool, i didnt have tons of time to test it, but i kept getting an MAX_CVARS error even on a fresh install of JA w/ nothing extra in it and a fresh config. this was only when using the menu to join, so i did a simple /team r to get in game w/o the error. amazing what one can do with the JA engine, the only overly annoying thing i noticed was the inability to move when 'completing' an objective.

Kurgan
12-01-2005, 10:11 AM
You should consider turning this concept into a Movie Battles II (http://www.moviebattles.com) map.

Long as the vanilla Siege version doesn't suffer as a result, I'm all for that.
;)

We need more vanilla Siege maps, this much is certain!

Downloading now... but sadly I won't have any time to test it until after my finals are over. :(

Kurgan
12-07-2005, 08:08 AM
Looks like my last final is next Wed evening, so after that I'm free! (Until I go home for Christmas that is)

monsoontide
12-07-2005, 12:00 PM
Party!

Hope you can at least get time to give it a whirl Kurgan, as of right now - yours is about the only feedback I've had.
So since I've had requests to this with the maps or that with it, I may just end up releasing the MAP files so whoever wants to can bend them to their own purposes...
REally have to struggle for enthusiasm for the project at the moment.

razorace
12-07-2005, 01:26 PM
I honestly haven't looked at it but we can always use more siege maps. I know that me and Kurgan would be prefectly willing to add your siege maps to our server's map cycle if we can get them to work with the TABBots.

Kurgan
12-07-2005, 02:36 PM
Hells yeah! I wish I had more time, but honestly I've been swamped. I want your mod to end up the best it can be 'cause Endor Siege in the classic style would kick major a$$!

Don't give up and release it half finished, trust me I will help, when I get the time... it just can't be before Wed night!

lauser
12-13-2005, 01:05 AM
Any feedback?
Any at all....

The problem is of course, the trees.
To get it to look like a forest you need a **** load of these - otherwise it looks like really sparse and not like endor at all.
Hence, the comping time is just phenominal at the moment.

Really, I have to get the enthusiasm to go back through and rework the positions and sizes of all the trees.

Trying to make stuff look like a forest in the Quake engine is a nightmare.

If I could've had a little word to Id/Raven about the way the maps blend into the skybox!!!

So currently it looks like a forest - but I can't be arsed waiting four days for it to comp. (And there's three separate maps now!)

That's funny and a little ironic. Many moons ago when I posted I had lots of ENDOR files for people to use no one wanted them. I think I gave them away to Lindsey...maybe. I had 80% of a Siege map finished. I had ground with tons of plants and MANY low poly trees. I had it to the point where it looked like the Endor forest while still maintaining good framerates. Again, WITH screenshots, no one was interested. So while I lost my original files I think some mapper here has them. But since no one is interested in how I maintained good frames I'll leave that here to die. :(

razorace
12-13-2005, 02:59 AM
Don't feel bad. Mappers are very, very rare in this community.

Kurgan
12-13-2005, 01:48 PM
Sounds like you guys should compare notes!

Anyway, I'm about to update the downloads page, so that it reflects the current version of Endor Siege AND OJP basic. ;)

PS: Monsoontide, you misspelled a word in the PCgamemods.com description:

SIEGE Batlle Of Endor - Ewok Village, Imperial Bunker & Shield Generator Complex

Oops! Btw, that one on this page (http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/16861.html) is the most current release, right? 'Cause that's the one I'm uploading atm...

razorace
12-14-2005, 03:39 AM
Hmmm, this is going to take some research. The way the siege objectives are triggered/completed is foiling my bots. The problem is that the game stores completed/uncompleted flags for objectives on both the rebel/imperial sides, but doesn't update them properly on maps where objectives are shared between teams. As such, when the TABBots are on a map where the objectives are seperate, it really screws them up.

Kurgan
01-01-2006, 04:47 PM
Been awhile, so I was curious... any progress? Razor? Monsoontide?

I've been having a great holiday but I'm away from my home pc so I haven't kept up...

razorace
01-01-2006, 05:54 PM
Well, I think there's a way to do it but I'm not sure it's worth the hassle since this appears to be the only siege map that has seperate objectives for each team. What do you think, Kurgan?

Kurgan
01-02-2006, 12:09 PM
I think it's worth it. Let's face it, a lot of people will want to try it out, and without working bots, that's much harder to do.

'Sides, it would be useful for any future projects that have objectives for both teams. When Siege first was introduced a lot of folks thought it was "too simplified."

razorace
01-02-2006, 04:48 PM
True, but I've only seen split objectives on this map. I supposed I should get around to fixing it eventually. :)

monsoontide
01-05-2006, 04:55 AM
Each objective is a separate objective and work as per usual BUT when one is activated - a SIEGE_DECOMPLETE is also activated which turns of that objective for the opposing team. Don't know if that helps any.

razorace
01-05-2006, 04:42 PM
Unfortunately, most of the maps, including the basejka ones, the games really care if the objective has been completed for both teams or not. As such, the objectives menu and the bots treat an objective as completed as soon as it's finished for one team.

I beleive I could fix it by making the system by default toggle every objective for both teams at the same time and have a new .siege file attribute that makes an objective be toggled individually. Any suggestions on what to call that attribute?

Kurgan
01-19-2006, 02:02 PM
I don't have any suggestions, but I was checking to see if any progress had been made... ;) Good luck guys!

Kurgan
01-29-2006, 10:13 PM
What are we waiting for? What happened to this project? :(

Buffy
02-13-2006, 04:17 AM
I hope so and I want to play off line with ojp Bot too ... thank you
some shot :giggle1:
also I hope use my screenshot for pro too ..
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3703/siegeendor5db.th.jpg (http://img99.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siegeendor5db.jpg)http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3127/siegeendor39ta.th.jpg (http://img99.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siegeendor39ta.jpg)http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/2923/siegeendor43gy.th.jpg (http://img99.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siegeendor43gy.jpg)

Kurgan
02-21-2006, 01:42 PM
Hmm, maybe he's on vacation. He didn't reply to my PM either...

razorace
02-21-2006, 01:54 PM
The lastest version of OJP might work with this map, but I never added a true solution for this map's unique objective triggering.

Kurgan
03-03-2006, 12:29 AM
Maybe I can give it a try over my (brief) spring break...

dumbledore
03-05-2006, 10:58 PM
:giveup: :drop2: :( this map looks cool too....

Kurgan
03-09-2006, 07:49 PM
Well not tonight I guess, storm knocked out the power (library computer lab closing soon).

Bummer, I guess this guy went on vacation too... hopefully the project isn't dead, it had such promise!

monsoontide
03-17-2006, 04:20 PM
DEAD :(

However, if anyone wants the RADIANT map files to work from... feel free to PM me

Kurgan
03-17-2006, 09:49 PM
Bummer. How come (if you don't mind)... lack of time?

How much work was done but unreleased? My suggestion would be to release everything you have so far in a pack, sort of like a resource for others to use. My suggestion anyway if you don't plan to come back to it...

monsoontide
03-22-2006, 05:16 AM
Yeah, that's what I was planning to do... tried to upload the maps to pcgamemods a couple of times but they haven't gone through yet.
I'm just really busy at work now and I just have lots of other things that have higher priorities now.

Pahricida
03-22-2006, 10:31 AM
Really a shame! ... will you include like *all* the maps you have showcased recently?
And I guess PCG's HDD is still not fully intact.

Kurgan
03-23-2006, 01:27 AM
If you submitted your material to LucasFiles.com I'd make sure it was posted in a timely fashion...

Kurgan
04-03-2007, 03:13 AM
Whatever happened to this project?

Pahricida
04-05-2007, 10:26 AM
http://jediknight2.filefront.com/file/Siege_Endor_Mappack;52320

I think he called it done.

Kurgan
03-22-2009, 06:08 AM
Ah, missed that, I'll have to check it out one of these days! Maybe this summer?

hhunter6
03-31-2009, 10:30 AM
so there is away to still get files from FF eh. lol