PDA

View Full Version : My new mod page is up & mask question


Darth Omegacron
12-09-2004, 08:12 AM
Well, my mod page is up with two whole mods on it. Wow. Feels good.

Anyway, my "Jedi Whiskers" and "CT Black" mods are available for download now via the page. They're both pretty simple, but hey - I'm still new at this.

Here's the URL:

http://www.omegacron.com/games/kotor/index.htm

And, just so this stays on topic here - Does anyone know if it's possible to make a cloth-looking mask that covers the entire head?

I'd like to change my CT mod so that it's a mask any head can wear instead of a head replacement.

Can a mask/helmet force a head model change when worn or removed?

Thanks

Doom_Dealer
12-09-2004, 08:30 AM
hey mate, very nice site

I like that 'jedi whiskers' skin alot, i think i might just use that :)

Darth333
12-09-2004, 08:38 AM
Nice site :) It's good to see new modders :)

Welcome to the forums

...and I agree with Doom_Dealer, the new PC portrait looks pretty good!

ChAiNz.2da
12-09-2004, 08:54 AM
VERY nice site! Glad to see you got the model exported and everything is working out...

Can a mask/helmet force a head model change when worn or removed?


I believe so. I believe that's what the MECK Project guys (Prime, bneezy, Xavier2 & [STGN]Locutus) did with their Clonetrooper Mod.

May wanna check out some of their WIPs and see if you can 'dig up' some clues ;)

Darth Omegacron
12-09-2004, 10:07 AM
Wow. I'm glad ya'll like the site. I just slapped something together yesterday cuz I didn't want to spend too much time on it instead of the mods.

I guess sometimes less really is more...

Thanks!

Mono_Giganto
12-09-2004, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by ChAiNz

I believe so. I believe that's what the MECK Project guys (Prime, bneezy, Xavier2 & [STGN]Locutus) did with their Clonetrooper Mod.


Actually, I think the helmet was just very cleverly sized and just barely fit all the heads, if even all of them.

I get what you're saying, and yes it would be possible to make it as a head replacement, like Prime did in his Sith -> Stormy mod, first way you can tell is the absence of head movement.

My suggestion to you: Rather than make it a model, make it a unique head, and then create a mask that gives you a disguise property to that head. This way, anyone who equips it will switch to that head.

Darth Omegacron
12-09-2004, 10:56 AM
So basically you're saying that when you equip the mask, it will automatically change the player's head model to the new head model?

If so, is there a way to make it choose one of six heads according to race and gender? I mean, if not I can live with it, but it'd be funny to see an African-American female body with an Asian male head.

Of course, if you can force the head switch, I would think it would allow for slimmer helmets, since then they wouldn't have to be sized large enough to fit the larger head models. In fact, you could even use a female head no matter what, which would allow the helmet to be even slimmer. On a male body, it should look okay, since you would only see the helmet anyway.

Hmm... this has definitely given me some paths to explore. I guess it's time to start experimenting...

'course, first I gotta figure out how to use Gmax :rolleyes:

Mono_Giganto
12-09-2004, 11:18 AM
Yes that's basically what I'm saying.

And actually, due to the workings of disguises, if a female equipped the hood thing, their head AND body would change to a male's, and I agree with you about the head switch, but it would be very difficult to do, if there's even a way.

Prime
12-09-2004, 01:00 PM
The stormtrooper and clone trooper helmets are actually different depending on where they are used. In the case of the ones worn by the player, they are a model like any other mask in the game. When they are equiped, it simply covers the head. It was resized so that it will cover all the player heads included with the game. If the helmet is too small, parts of the head will poke through. In the case of the trooper replacement, the helmet is actually built as a unique head (which is specified in the heads.2da file). Then in the appearance.2da file the head is changed from the default to the newly created number.

svösh
12-09-2004, 01:33 PM
Actually I don’t believe a disguise can be used for this As T7 created the stormy Head/ helm as one to reduce overall poly count, and an ingenious work around . For one a disguise Never shows masks of any kind. I tried a few things with tomer’s Wip Vader helm and believe me when I say I spent 2 hours and well over 18 to 20 different compiles and micro resizes to fit the helm reasonably well.
1: To not make it stupid big aka [ :vadar: dark helmet :p]
2: positioned right so a least most* of the heads work with it.

Even my own ¾ evil Sith skull mask had / has to be revamped.
However there are a few good reasons the devs did not make one single full helm and that is due to the hair and head size and head tails .. I tell you Vader sure looks funny with a pony tail sticking out of the back or Carth’s bangs sticking out of the front and no this can’t be avoided not to mention how nice would it be for female players to just be exempt from this mod ? sure the guys could be fitted reasonably well but what about the ladies out there don’t they count ?? I personally try to make all my mods work on all sexes and a full hem will not .. even if you make a female version only their hair styles are so varied you would need one version with a hole placed for the pony tail to stick out .. or it will look a little strange. A helmet with a tail :p
But for the short cropped females a hole on the back would be unnecessary, then you have Bastila’s little pig tails ..and missions head tails … the various head shapes and sizes, to pull this off you would have to make a mask specifically for each head. Or make a static mask / head

If you do as T7 then the Head model will be static mask no eye, mouth, movement as mono and prime mentioned.

I also made motion about full helm's in my 3d tips and tuts thread

svösh

Darth Omegacron
12-09-2004, 01:37 PM
so in the trooper mod, the Sithtrooper head is permanently hard-coded to the new model in the heads.2da, right?

however, what I'm wondering is if it's possible to equip a mask and have the head of the player changed only while wearing the mask -- when the player removes the mask, the head then changes back to whatever head the player selected.

for example, let's say I'm using PHMC01 on my character. When I equip my mask, my head is changed to a custom head that's linked to the mask somehow (maybe via the disguise value). Then when I remove the mask, it reverts back to PHMC01.

This may all be terribly more complicated than it's worth, but it does make for a nifty technical discussion. :D

And, besides, if it can be made to work right, then a helmet model can be made without having to consider the sizes of the various heads.

The goal I'm shooting for here is an equippable version of my CT Black mod. That way, anyone can wear the mask without having to pick that head at the beginning and then look that way through the whole game.