PDA

View Full Version : Component Values?


repeater123
01-04-2005, 07:32 AM
In the Prima strategy guide it lists "breakdown component values" for all weapons, armor, etc. in the game. Some give hundreds, even thousands, of components for breaking them down. Problem is, in the game everything has a "component breakdown value" of 1. I've tried different characters like Bao-Dur and Goto (my Jedi Guardian has pitiful skills) and there is no change. If Obsidian left this out it's a disgrace. It's an absolute waste of time to create upgrades (good ones at least) when you have no componets to use.
Does anyone have any more information on this? Is there something obvious that I'm missing or did this feature never make into the final (ahem...rushed) release?

Darth333
01-04-2005, 07:36 AM
Works fine for me. But cheap items = very few components. Some items give me more than 1000 components later in the game. Raise your skills.

repeater123
01-04-2005, 07:42 AM
I wonder if this is all based on the skills of your player character. I've basically put all my points into Persuade. I've made it to Onderon so I've acquired some decent stuff (the twi'lek spinning blades, rodian death blade, etc.) but I still can't get anything with a higer component value than 1

repeater123
01-04-2005, 08:02 AM
It is based entirely on your Player Characters skills. I have a mighty 2 in computer and a big fat zero in repair. I outfitted him with some gloves and a belt and wouldn't you know it, actual component values! Not maximum value but it's at least it's a crooked number. I'm off to create some upgrades

Darth333
01-04-2005, 08:26 AM
Twiliek spinning blades give me 500 components each :D. The type of items you can create also changes with skills. Get computer/repair close to 30 and you get excellent lightsaber upgrades.

RedHawke
01-04-2005, 09:37 PM
Originally posted by repeater123
It is based entirely on your Player Characters skills.
Actually it is based on the skills of the character you are controlling when you activate the bench.

Like have Bao-Dur, who has killer skill levels, as the party leader, then select the workbench you will be working from his skills not your PC's. :D

repeater123
01-05-2005, 07:19 AM
True... You can utilize any NPC's skills to create upgrades but not to break them down. The components you get for breaking them down seem to be the seem no matter who I control. And with my Jedi Guardian and his zero in repair everything had a component value of 1

RedHawke
01-05-2005, 08:08 PM
Originally posted by repeater123
True... You can utilize any NPC's skills to create upgrades but not to break them down. The components you get for breaking them down seem to be the seem no matter who I control. And with my Jedi Guardian and his zero in repair everything had a component value of 1
That's wierd :confused: It doesn't do that with me... I break almost everything I don't need down with Bao-Dur and I get a lot of components... especially later on in the game... My PC doesn't even come into play... :eek:

I typically use a Workbench outside the Ebon Hawk though... the one in the Hawk you can only use yourself.

repeater123
01-06-2005, 07:54 AM
That's wierd It doesn't do that with me... I break almost everything I don't need down with Bao-Dur and I get a lot of components... especially later on in the game... My PC doesn't even come into play...

What type of skills does your PC have? If you have decent repair skills you may be attributing this added component value to Bao Dur by mistake. Are you playing as a Guardian? or Sentinel? Sentinels have better skills

RedHawke
01-06-2005, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by repeater123
What type of skills does your PC have? If you have decent repair skills you may be attributing this added component value to Bao Dur by mistake. Are you playing as a Guardian? or Sentinel? Sentinels have better skills
Playing as a Conselar/Sith Lord and Conselar/Jedi Master... with pitiful skills, other than Awareness and Persuade...

I have also read on the OE boards that the workbench skills thing is buggy, due to a miscommunication during its creation, that is why it works for some and not for others, could be the culprit here...

Darth333
01-07-2005, 05:37 AM
I think component value during breakdown follows your main pc skills. Your other NCPS can do it but it's based on your PC skills. However, when you create an item, you may use the other npc skills when you are missing a few skill points.

dumac
01-07-2005, 12:02 PM
Originally posted by repeater123
In the Prima strategy guide it lists "breakdown component values" for all weapons, armor, etc. in the game. Some give hundreds, even thousands, of components for breaking them down. Problem is, in the game everything has a "component breakdown value" of 1. I've tried different characters like Bao-Dur and Goto (my Jedi Guardian has pitiful skills) and there is no change. If Obsidian left this out it's a disgrace. It's an absolute waste of time to create upgrades (good ones at least) when you have no componets to use.
Does anyone have any more information on this? Is there something obvious that I'm missing or did this feature never make into the final (ahem...rushed) release?

most items i get only have one even with the most skilled people breaking down. now chemicals thats a different story you can get plenty from mines and grenades i just break down a bunch and if your skill is high enough make thermal detonators and sell for a profit