PDA

View Full Version : CPU Usage 100% all the time


STTCT
01-24-2005, 09:16 PM
My computer sucks right now -

(home one)

The CPU usage is running at a 100% with the main CPU sucker
"svphost.exe".

I've reformatted the hard drive and then reinstalled all of the windows updates and it seemed fine - then it started to run badly badly again - so I bought the latest Mcafee Virus Scan 9.0 Professional. Installed that and it did not find any thing. I have the Microsoft Anti Spyware and it has not found anything either.

What can I do to fix my CPU usuage and bring it to normal??

Hellllpp - Sivy your good at this stuff!!!

El Sitherino
01-24-2005, 09:23 PM
Ewww @ microsoft anti-spyware. (you know that the MAS is spyware itself right?)

Anyway, try just ctrl+alt+dlt and end the process, the system will restart one, and should have it running at a lower priority. If not, I'm not sure what the hell is up with that.

*edit* you mean svdhost right?

Boba Rhett
01-24-2005, 09:32 PM
Try the following,

1A: Download Hijack This (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html)

1B. Download Killbox: KillBox (http://www.downloads.subratam.org/KillBox.zip)
Extract it from the zip file then double-click on Killbox.exe to run it.

2. Select the Delete on reboot option.

3 In the 'Full Path of File to Delete' box, copy and paste the following, clicking the 'Delete File' button (red circle with a white X) after pasting:

C:\WINDOWS\System32\SVPHOST.EXE

4. It will prompt you to reboot, do so.

5. After restarting, with only HijackThis running, scan and when complete, remove the following entry by checking the box to the left and clicking 'fixed checked':

O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [svphost.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\svphost.exe

6. Reboot.


Hope it works for you. :)

wassup
01-24-2005, 09:36 PM
I recommend AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition (http://free.grisoft.com/freeweb.php/doc/2/) for anti-virus protection/removal.

If you haven't already, you should also try Spybot: Search & Destroy (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html).

Hope your computer booboo is fixed.

Astrotoy7
01-25-2005, 03:51 AM
things like svphost etc will funk your pc up. it even did it to my almighty laptop....

the best thing to do to make your compy run superly is this.... those fixes above will get you through but this will rejuvenate your pc :D

nb, I just did this 5 days ago !

*UNINSTALL anything you dont damn use
*BACKUP all your valuable files onto discs or ext HDD
*Most PCs come with a product recovery disc, it will restore your system to 'out of box' specs.
*if you dont have one, you will need the XP disk, and REINSTALL windows from scratch, including a full reformat and re-partition from boot mode
*thein reinstall only the crap you need for work, gaming etc. so many ppl have 10 or more games sittin their HDD, and they only ever frequently play 1 or 2 :(
*make sure you reinstall your antivirus software, update its definitions etc.
*use firefox coz IE is a minefield(eys, I'm a convert :()
*Turn off windows update. its a load of crap ! I wouldnt even bother with SP2. If your just an average gamer/surfer type user, alot of that junk is just *not* necessary. All you need is some decent and up to date AV software, spy ware and and adware progs, and a different browser than IE :(

since I have done this, my compy works amazingly at everything, even complex video editing/encoding stuff I do is 80% quicker now :D

mtfbwya

Sivy
01-25-2005, 04:22 AM
svchost.exe is a process that controls services. it appears one of the services is having some trouble, maybe because its trying to do something it can't or it's looking for something it can't find.

firstly i would try doing a 'clean boot'

go to start then run and type msconfig and got to selective start-up and untick all boxes, click ok and then reboot the machine. once back into windows go back into msconfig and select normal start-up and then reboot again.

if the problem is still there then it's possible you have a virus or ad/spyware that is using a service.
start up windows in safe mode and run a virus checker.

Astrotoy7
01-25-2005, 05:34 AM
Originally posted by Sivy
....go to start then run and type msconfig and got to selective start-up and untick all boxes, click ok and then reboot the machine. once back into windows go back into msconfig and select normal start-up and then reboot again.
...

hmm. you *must* work in IT support :D
I had been arguing with MS support for the last 2 weeks, trying to convice them that certain updates and sp2 severely comprimised my ability to do digital video editing etc.... these are theh freakin answers I got..

*update your drivers : ahem. the piece of hardware I was referring to (a firewire card/slot) uses the xp drivers as standard. manufacturers do NOT supply or update drivers.....
*do the ms config biz.... yeah. no help
*install sp2 - made it worse

so, astro gets angry, tells MS support guy to shove it, and implements above remedy, which works like a treat..... IT guys are like mechanics.... half of them have no idea, and the other half charge too much !

*but we all love Sivski of course*

mtfbwya

swphreak
01-25-2005, 06:27 AM
I'd do what Sivy said with the selective startup, then I'd get Ad-Aware and/or Spybot and have it scan your computer to make sure it gets rid of any spyware.

MTV2
01-25-2005, 01:03 PM
if ya don't know what a progrma is thats running(eg. cpserver.exe) google it, it might help

Alegis
01-25-2005, 01:16 PM
For spyware I recommend Neowin's guide

http://www.neowin.net/articles.php?action=more&id=81

STTCT
01-25-2005, 03:49 PM
Thanks for the advice guys - the problem now is also that IE is not working either -

Since I reformatted etc I had started from scratch so I'm stuck with IE. The DSL is connected etc, but IE is not getting through to the web. I can't download anything.

I will try msconfig. Good to know about the beta version of the Microsoft adaware - I do kinda like it though - it found things that adaware did not find.

El Sitherino
01-25-2005, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by STTCT
Good to know about the beta version of the Microsoft adaware - I do kinda like it though - it found things that adaware did not find. It installs dummy ad-ware that it can find, but others can't, it's a rather interesting (but creepy) marketting device.

Astrotoy7
01-25-2005, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by STTCT
....it found things that adaware did not find.

unless you have an adaware subscription, you can get to a stage where it doesnt pick 'new' things up. either that or wait for the newer version to come out :)

so are you saying your compy did not come with a system recovery disc..... ?

anyway...if you are using XP, try and reinstall IE, this may get it working ....

Go to
Control Panel > Add Remove Programs
>Add Remove Windows Components...
*Check/uncheck Internet Explorer, you may need to uninstall it before you reinstall it...

since my re-vamp my CPU usage is between 3-10% (as opposedto over 80%)

mtfbwya

shukrallah
01-29-2005, 05:17 PM
Take a look at this for me:

http://img79.exs.cx/img79/2113/tskmng7ot.jpg


Why is loaded 5 times!?! Its not really slowing my PC down, but it makes you wonder if something is up. Either way its wasting resources being loaded 5 times...

svchost.exe is a process that controls services.

Ah, I see, so it stands for Service Control Host. Makes sence.

Samuel Dravis
01-29-2005, 05:43 PM
svchost.exe for XP (http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=314056). :)

shukrallah
01-29-2005, 06:24 PM
Ah, that clears things up. Now its all starting to make sense.

Hermie
01-30-2005, 08:42 AM
Get a Mac.










*runs away from angry mob*

acdcfanbill
02-01-2005, 09:54 PM
get linux?