PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Home edition help!


CaptainRAVE
01-30-2005, 06:33 AM
Heres the problem:

I installed windows Xp Home edition onto my new pc (not the one im posting this from). I activated it with the product code, and it said windows had been activated.

Everytime I went into windows it said that it needed to be activated, however, when i did go to activate it, a box came up confirming windows had already been activated.

So, this was getting a bit annoying, so I used a crack to stop this box comming up (silly I know).

So now, 30 days on windows is saying it needs to be activated (again), however, when I click either yes or no nothing happens. I go to log in and it just keeps comming up saying it needs to be activated. Help! im in a bit of a loop here!!


If needs be I could re-install windows. But im not sure how to do this anyway!

ZBomber
01-30-2005, 08:49 AM
Assuming this is a legal verison, you could call Microsoft Support for.... support. ;)

MTV2
01-30-2005, 09:05 AM
is the computer custom?(you buy your own parts:case, HDD, etc.) or did you buy it from someone(Future Shop, Best Buy, Circuit City, direct from the place(Dell, ALienware))? usually if you buy itfrom a store, windows comes preinstalled.



if your using a windows serial number that is already in use, it won't work on another computer.


as far as that, I duon't know.

CaptainRAVE
01-30-2005, 09:48 AM
Its a custom pc. The version on windows is one that i bought, and it is a proper serial number!

ZBomber
01-30-2005, 09:52 AM
Yeh, I'd try getting in touch with Microsoft Support. I dunno how helpful they are, I never actually tried.....

CaptainRAVE
01-30-2005, 10:03 AM
How would I go about re-installing windows?

ZBomber
01-30-2005, 10:07 AM
I dunno how far you got, but I think when your compuer is first loading, if you press one of the F keys like F1, you get to a bunch of options, and installing and OS is one of them..... I think..... might wanna wait for someone who actualyl knows what they are talking about. :)

jon_hill987
01-30-2005, 10:20 AM
to reinstall windows, put the CD in the drive and reboot, then follow the instructions. pick clean install rather than repair or anything though, that will make sure any problem is fixed

Joetheeskimo
01-30-2005, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by ZBomber
I dunno how far you got, but I think when your compuer is first loading, if you press one of the F keys like F1, you get to a bunch of options, and installing and OS is one of them..... I think..... might wanna wait for someone who actualyl knows what they are talking about. :)

Something tells me you haven't had to reinstall Windows for a while :p

lucky little bastard...

Anyway, if you hit F8, it does give you a ton of options, but they're only boot options (that's what you would hit to access Safe Mode). You have to hit F8 in the boot sequence almost immediately after hitting the Power button, directly after the Caps, Num, and Scroll lock flash.

jon, don't you have to format first? I mean, wouldn't installing Windows ontop of the old one cause problems?

jon_hill987
01-30-2005, 11:56 AM
The clean Install does format the partition first, so it shouldn't cause any problems.

Astrotoy7
01-31-2005, 01:47 AM
hmmm...custom pcs and XP..... a treacherous mix ! There are any number of things that are causing that ! Contact MS.... you seem really keen to try a reinstall, if you dont have any data to lose, go for it. If not, contact MS....also, check their online knowledge base, there are often the answers for what you need there :D

mtfbwya

Mike Windu
01-31-2005, 02:02 AM
I personally would try Microsoft Support online before actually calling them, as your bill ends up 30+ somehow.

>_>

CaptainRAVE
01-31-2005, 06:44 AM
[i]you seem really keen to try a reinstall [/B]

Well if I can repair windows, and remove that stupid crack I've used then I'll b able to use the proper activation key!



By the way.thanks very much guys!!!!! Excellent as always!

acdcfanbill
02-01-2005, 08:44 PM
i have to say, i've had far less trouble with windows xp and custom pc's than i have with windows xp and pre-built pc's... of course, i dont use home, cause that sucks :s

Astrotoy7
02-02-2005, 05:39 AM
Originally posted by acdcfanbill
i have to say, i've had far less trouble with windows xp and custom pc's than i have with windows xp and pre-built pc's...

all depends on what you have Bill, especially since MS decided to complicate things with their OCL lists for XP. My Toshiba Laptop has a dorky but shiny 'designed for XP' sticker on it, luckily I havent had probs on it, but theres no way im installing sp2, i cant see that I need that extra junk that I dont use :(

mtfbwya

acdcfanbill
02-02-2005, 04:26 PM
yea, SP2 is more trouble than its worth from every source i've seen...

Samuel Dravis
02-02-2005, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by acdcfanbill
yea, SP2 is more trouble than its worth from every source i've seen... No kidding. I just got XPpro/sp2 with my new computer, and it has not been a good experience. I like 2Kpro better. At least things actually work on it...

MTV2
02-04-2005, 02:10 PM
Ok , here's what you do listen closely now











You install Linux! and for gaming use windows.