PDA

View Full Version : Crash After Start


Phelan Loe
02-19-2005, 10:38 AM
Forgive me if this has been addressed already, but KOTOR II crashes out after I create my character. I don't have an ATI card on my computer so I assume there is something else. I have been trying to figure it out for a week to no avil. Any help with this infernal problem would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

stingerhs
02-19-2005, 07:50 PM
well, umm, its kinda hard to understand your problem if we don't have stats on your computer. ;)

Phelan Loe
02-20-2005, 04:35 AM
I don't know too much about this computer, it's my mothers. However I'll offer you what I can.

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 1
Service Pack=Service Pack 1
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=756

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2532
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=2
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=504
Status=Warning

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=90.34GB
D: (FAT32), UNICODE=708MB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\,F:\
Drives=JLMS DVD-ROM LTD-166S,LITE-ON LTR-48246S

[Video]
Video Card Name=Intel(R) 82845G Graphics Controller
Video Memory=64
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.3.0 - Build 4.13.01.3264
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel Brookdale-G
Vid Card Status=Fail
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Fail
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Avance AC'97 Audio
Status=Pass

mosey
02-21-2005, 03:29 AM
i got the same damn problem, GAH!!!

spensai
02-21-2005, 08:16 PM
me too!!! its driving me nuts!

stingerhs
02-21-2005, 09:10 PM
if you will notice, the diagnostic tool that comes with kotor2 tells you that you can't run the game. the answer is simple: you have an integrated video chip. the game requires that you have a video card installed in either a PCI, AGP, or PCI-X slot in order to work.

the game also doesn't work because the graphics chip itself is not supported by the game.

sorry if that wasn't the answer you were expecting. :(

spensai
02-21-2005, 09:21 PM
thats focking gay.

stingerhs
02-21-2005, 09:31 PM
well, don't blame the devs (or me, for that matter). to begin with, you can't run most current games on integrated graphics in the first place. the reason is simple: integrated graphics chips are designed to display graphics on web pages at the most. high-end 3D stuff (which most of today's games use) runs quite slow at best.

quite frankly, most integrated graphics don't even have the same potential as the now ancient geforce 256. that, and with companies like intel leading the market in integrated graphics, don't look too hard for continuous updates for the drivers.

overall, your better off spending 40 USD for a geforce 2, and it will run the game.

sadeek
02-23-2005, 04:42 AM
Problem is that I ve got laptop, otherwise I would buy new graph. card many days ago. It is just weird that kotor 2 is based on kotor1 engine which was runnig smoothly on my computer. And in Kotor2 my card is not working anymore. I hope next patch will solve our problem.