PDA

View Full Version : Read this before posting your problem!! **Updated 5/15/08**


stingerhs
03-12-2005, 10:22 PM
First things first: Bug Reporting
If your problem even remotely sounds like a bug that doesn't have a major effect on the game itself, then please post about it in the Padawan's Lounge Forum (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=523).

If your problem is related to a mod, it belongs in the appropriate mod release thread in the Taris Upper City Emporium (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=645). If you don't know which mod is causing the problem, post it in Holowan Laboratories. (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)

The kind of bugs that classify as Workbench type bugs will either cause random graphics problems, crash the game and/or your computer, random problems with the controls, etc. Otherwise, use the link provided above to post your problems there. Quite frankly, you'll probably get better help there since that forum is frequented much more often than this one.

Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
Click on "Configure".
Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
Click "Yes" to continue.
Click "Details" to view your system specs.
Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.

If you get a message that your computer does not meet the required specifications, then don't bother posting unless you know for a fact that the game should run. I'm sorry, but we can't help you if your computer doesn't meet the requirements.

Basic tests to try yourself before you post
Just follow these simple steps to try to solve the problem yourself:
1. Restart your computer. If you start running into problems after a long period of time on the game, then simply restarting your computer will usually fix it. If not, then post.
2. Download the latest video drivers. You would be surprise on how easily this solves most problems with starting up the game. If you can't run the game past the main menu, chances are this is all you need to do. Links for nVidia users here. (http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp) Links for ATI users can be found here. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=144109)
3. Lower your graphics settings. Things like Antistropic Filtering and Antialiasing can sometimes have an adverse effect not only on performance, but also in how the game runs. If you have an older card (Geforce 4 or older; Radeon 9200 and below), I recommend that you disable Soft Shadows, Antistropic Filtering, Antialiasing, and Frame Buffer Effects. I also recommend that you run the game at either 800x600 or 1074x728 resolution. If you still have problems, then post.

If you recieve an error message when installing the game:
1. First, write down the error code that is listed in the message.
2. Go to www.google.com and enter the error code followed by "install error" in the box.
3. In the search results, one of the first hits should be the Installshield website. They should have documentation on not only what the error code means, but also on how to fix it. Just follow their directions on how to fix it, and you should be fine.

If you have Vista:
Check the sticky called Problems running Kotor or TSL in Vista (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=176499).

If you have an Intel Graphics Controller
Check the first post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=148276) to make the game work properly.

Lastly, but not least:
Check out this handy Tweak Guide (http://www.tweakguides.com/KOTOR2_1.html) for some detailed information on exactly what you can do to both get the game going and to make it run the best it possibly can on your computer. Special thanks to Jae Onasi for the link. ;)

If you have any questions or comments, then post them below. :)

SITHSLAYER133
08-07-2006, 08:27 AM
if i could recomend something if you do get a cd transfer error during install dont panic there are somethings you can do
1 get two cloths 1 wet and one dry wipe the disk
2 see if you can copy to desktop or some other place
3 try a friends comp who has a burner if it can work on his copy all the contents on to one dvd and then past them to your computer the run the install from your HDD

Merejen
11-18-2007, 02:03 PM
Tried all suggestions in this thread, no go, game ran at one time on this computer eventhough config says it does not meet mins. Have had to run in Medium resolution mode, but it did run. I really believe the missing data cab is my only problem and don't have a clue how to get that cab file, tried copying on another computer but the disk just won't copy or load, there isn't any scratches on the disk, but used a disk refurbisher anyway and still no luck. My previous post was moved so I'll include it here: Have a problem running SWKotor2 on my new laptop. My old laptop crashed and destroyed my install and when I tried to re-install on new laptop Disk 3 will not read. I am missing data4.cab. Tried to copy cabs to hard drive with partial success, now it seems I hava a missing or corrupt swpc_tex_tpa.erf file. Searched the net without any success in finding a replacement and tried using kotor tool to fix problem with no success. I'm living in the Philippines now, so sending off for a replacement disk is impossible, also there is no place to get a new copy of the program here. Any help would be appreciated. I have an AnalysisLog.sr0 file to send but don't see a way to send it at the moment.

tk102
05-15-2008, 11:39 AM
Mod related questions go in the Editing forums. Ideally, if you know which mod is causing your problem, you should find its mod release thread in the Taris Upper City Emporium and post it there. The mod author will be your best resource for troubleshooting and your bug may help improve future versions.

If you don't know which mod is causing the problem, you should post your question in Holowan Laboratories.

decalibron
12-11-2010, 06:36 AM
hi, i have kotor running on windows 7. it runs like a charm, and i've already finished the game once as a ls male pc. i then played through as a ls female pc. I've gotten to the leviathan, and after i dueled and beat malak once, i wen around the back, went in, and fought him again. After i handily dispatched him a second time, it went to the scene where myself, bastila, and carth were discussing who would go to rescue us from the holding cells. Carth and Bastila were still in the hangar bay, as was i (ie we hadn't moved) but we were discussing that...anyway, after that pointless dialog is repeated, malak and i are just sitting in that little room where one duels him a second time. none of the doors open, and i cant talk to him, so i walk around and try to open the doors, but they don't work. so im stuck in that room, and i cant get past it!!!

Q
12-11-2010, 02:22 PM
First off, I strongly recommend that you keep your saves and reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=194324). Then try going back to an earlier save from before you entered that final Leviathan module.

And it's perfectly okay to start your own thread when posting a problem. :)