PDA

View Full Version : What can we expect, from OJP, in the near future?


Antizac
03-18-2005, 08:51 PM
I'm curious, as to what enhancements there are planned in the near-furure.

So far, I love everything, that's been implemented (especially the SP functionability, in MP) - so much, that I want to use it in Chapters 2 & 3 of my SP Level Series - The Rising Empire.
Chapter 1, Is basically fine the way it is - (though I would have liked to have implemented stealth animations)

I want to know if you're planning to have Full SP functionality, (fixing the cutscene cameras, ect) plus any graphical enhancements.

Is it possible to implement Bump-mapping and Sun flares?
(I realise bump-mapping will require additonal Shader code)

A Link to The Rising Empire Showcase thread. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=131581)

(why doesn't Raven just hand over the JA SP code, already? You're so close to re-creating it anyway.)

razorace
03-19-2005, 03:49 AM
I'm currently working on implimenting SP style navigation code for the NPCs. This is going to take a while, but once I got it figured out, we'll have total control over the NPC AI code.

I want to know if you're planning to have Full SP functionality, (fixing the cutscene cameras, ect) plus any graphical enhancements.

yes, I'm shooting for full SP functionality. The cutscene cameras work for the most part with what I've already done. However, you have to make some minor changes to the camera scripting to get it to work.

Is it possible to implement Bump-mapping and Sun flares?
(I realise bump-mapping will require additonal Shader code)

I don't think the engine supports bump-mapping or sun flares so I can't add them.

Good luck with your project. If you're still interested in implimenting it for CoOp, let me know. I could work with you to help set it up.

Antizac
03-19-2005, 04:36 PM
Really No Bump-mapping?
I thought, ID was basically putting it in Quake 3, but left it out after, they found out that few video cards, supported it, back then.

razorace
03-19-2005, 05:47 PM
Don't know. Try checking the shader command catalogs (http://www.qeradiant.com/manual/Q3AShader_Manual/).

keshire
03-22-2005, 05:01 AM
No it doesn't. You'd have to code the support in yourself. And I don't think Razor has access to that part of the engine. :)

Antizac
03-22-2005, 06:49 AM
Ok, anyone, got a schitt-load of spy-gear?

I'm thinking , if we can somehow get on the roof of ID Headquarters, sneak in through the air-ducts, and rappel down from the ceiling, and hack into their mainframe, we might finally be able to create the patches and enhancements to the Quake 3 engine, that we've always wanted...

Bump-mapping per-pixel lighting....

...All because I'm too lazy to switch to a newer, harder to edit, engine. =)

Fracman
04-09-2005, 07:55 AM
Real bump mapping is not possible in Q3 engine,
but there are a few tricks with Q3Map2 and shaders to get a bump map like effect.
But its a bit tricky, and you need adequate textures anyway.