PDA

View Full Version : Pack your bags! 10th planet discovered in solar system !

Astrotoy7
07-30-2005, 08:55 AM
Heh. I've never done a news report post before :) but I thought thi swas sufficiently intriguing...

In 2003, astronomers identified an object beyond pluto. After having a good look at it, its composition and orbit type, it has been announced as the 10th planet in the solar system...which is pretty big news in my book. I mean Pluto was discovered in 1930, so its not something that happens often :)

linkage (http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&u=/nm/20050730/sc_nm/space_planet_dc_3)

right now it has a very dull name - "2003UB313" I wonder what it'll end up being called. Seeing the rest are named after Roman gods, I hope they stick to that tradition. Either that or Bill Gates will buy it and call it "Planet Vista" to help launch MS new OS :(

mtfbwya

Datheus
07-30-2005, 09:01 AM
The discovery of some new body isn't all that big of deal to me...

Lemme know when I can put my feet on it. I want off this rock.

Tyrion
07-30-2005, 09:17 AM
The discovery of some new body isn't all that big of deal to me...

Lemme know when I can put my feet on it. I want off this rock.

You realize that every other planet is just a rock too, right? Or gas giants waiting to devour you to hold for eons long, not to mention the hellish plasma sphere some would like to call the Sun.

There's always the Moon, though, if you like cheese.

But I'm not too happy of this discovery. Why? Because now I'm going to have to take Planetary 101 all over again to memorize the name of this freakin' planet.

Another semister of my life lost to the ages, f*** you science.

Mex
07-30-2005, 09:26 AM
How am I going to remember that for science class? Wasn't there a song you could sing that would remind you of the planets? How are you going to fit 2003UB313 in there?

IG-64
07-30-2005, 11:45 AM